We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the price its a good, clean short stay hotel”
Review of Hotel Sentral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sentral
Ranked #103 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For the price its a good, clean short stay hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We needed a place to crash for one night, decided to stay at Sentral as it was close to the fast train from the airport. If traveling with luggage and kids you will need to catch a taxi from the station to the hotel ( should not cost anymore then 10MYR ) When you get there the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms a clean and a good size for the the price. Breakfast is nice and plenty on offer for vegetarians. The location is ok, short walk to the mono rail and or a short taxi ride to most attractions. Anyone expecting much more for £20/night with breakfast should try Quality hotel KL, at twice the price we walked out after looking at 3 rooms and being told by the manager we could take our business elsewhere.

Room Tip: The fast train is faster then a taxi but will cost you more if traveling with more then 3 and a taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    627
    427
    123
    64
See reviews for
223
401
249
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

i booked this hotel through Booking.com. it was very cheap. my expectation was not so high, as i just wanted to stay there for a short time because my flight was next day, early morning.
the room has no window. no problem.
very cheap.
very clean. amenities were fine.
bathroom was okay and clean.
just nice...

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fMY13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Rooms are too small and corridors are carpeted thus a strong smell of cigarette is persistent. Location is advantage, very near to KL central metro, Bus station, ample taxi available. Indian restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manishgmaheshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The aircon is spoil at night during my stay there. Luckily i stay for 1 day else i would change my room. The transportation is confusing as the location we heading to has a split in between (Miharja). the hotel never help us to do taxi booking -.-'

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was nice, the lift was always pretty busy so we ended up walking up and down the stairs a lot. The wifi signal was pretty weak but ok if you moved to the communal areas. It was a bit of a walk out of the main city centre (but very close to the train station) but Im sure it would be easy to get a cab or jump on the sky rail. Overall we we're happy with our stay given the price was so reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradeep, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Overall stay was good. I stayed in 'Deluxe Twin' with my colleague.

Positives:
Near to KL sentral metro, lot of food options nearby, bathroom shower & hot water is a major plus, peaceful stay

Negatives:
Difficult to Check-in before 2 pm, Average breakfast buffet, no latches to bathroom door, reception is busy & rigid on rules, average hospitality & not-so customer friendly, no swimming pool

Final call: A good stay at a normal budget.

Room Tip: Prefer to choose the Superior/Deluxe rooms. Guest rooms are not that comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChemiCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The rooms were small and clean, I guess as it is usually fully occupied by different tour groups specially from India as it is located in little India. So don't expect any service for the front desk or other staff. As I spend my 1st half of vacation in Bali, I found Kuala Lumpur more like a business place than a vacation spot. Adding to this I found the staff little harsh( maybe because they were busy or might be the way people speak there). They had a good breakfast which was the only plus point I found. There are much better and cheaper hotels, I would not prefer unless am going with family, kids as it has a good restaurant and I would not have to hunt/risk the street food. Overall am not happy, would not prefer again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarathksarath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#92 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Summer View
Hotel Summer View
#64 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
My Hotel at KL Sentral
My Hotel at KL Sentral
#114 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sent...
#108 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Macktz
Hotel Macktz
#192 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#15 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral

Property: Hotel Sentral
Address: 30 Jalan Thambypillai | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sentral, a hotel owned by the Hotel Sentral (KL) Sdn. Bhd, aims to make a difference in ensuring comfortable, refreshing and value for money accommodation for travellers. The hotel enjoys a unique location on Jalan Thambypillai with the monorail station right on its doorstep providing quick access to various part of the major tourist spots such as Bukit Bintang, Time Square and Chinatown.Hotel Sentral houses 192 contemporary styled and designed rooms, of which 12 Executive Rooms occupies the Executive Floor on level 15. All the rooms are furnished with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, minibar, in room safe, IDD telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, Astro and local TV channels to ensure a relaxing and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing