We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean hotel with all you need”
Review of Hotel Sentral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sentral
Ranked #106 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Gasteren, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“clean hotel with all you need”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights before travelling to Cambodia. Its the perfect place to overkom your jetlag if this is your first country, coming from europe.
It is a big hotel, so it is a little anonym. In the room the wifi was not working very wel.
There is a big shoppingcenter nearby: times square, they have everything you need and much more.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mieke-g15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral. However I would like to extend my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experiences as a result of our service shortfalls.
Your feedback is very important to us and steps to address our shortcomings have been discussed at length with the team.
I hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    633
    432
    128
    66
See reviews for
225
406
255
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is close to the KL Sentral LRT as well as monorail station, which will take you everywhere. From the KL sentral LRT station, you should find the exit which is the same direction as the monorail, not the one heading toward 1 Sentral tower. If you messed this up like I did, you'd end up walking a lot to find the hotel. If you try to locate the hotel on Google map, you'd better enter the exact address rather than enter the name only, it will lead you to 1 Sentral tower instead.

I like the room overall, it's very clean and modern, much higher than a 3 star standard I'd say. They also have complimentary water and minifridge in the room. There're some convenient stores around so you can easily buy other stuff. The bathroom was bright and quite fine. However, the bed probably has some bedbugs. It was not something too bad to me, but you can feel a bit itchy. Wifi was not very stable, it got on and off quite often.

The surrounding area is not nice though. I would not recommend to walk there alone. It's a bit dark and dirty. If you have kids with you,maybe try some other hotels for safety reasons.

For me overall, it's quite a good value. We booked the hotel for 1 night at a rate of $35 as we have an early flight at LCCT the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral. However I would like to extend my sincere apology in regards of the insect bite issue you had experienced during your stay.

The hotel’s rooms and premises carry out pest control treatment on periodic basic but unfortunately this issue yet come into existence. We will look into this issue seriously to prevent it from happening again.

We do hope that you would return on your next trip to evaluate us once more.
We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Hotel Sentral and were quite satisfied. The room was slightly but okay. The breakfast was simple but okay. The location was ideal as it is connected well by public transport. Taxis are also available easily. The staff were cordial and considerate. The neighborhood is noisy and a bit crowded. For travelers looking for decent place to stay but not much concerned about by the looks, this hotel could be a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennisPRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral. It is also a great pleasure to receive such a wonderful compliments and I will definitely share to all my colleague and staff.

We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good for 1-2 transit nights because of its location - close to KL Sentral (about 8 minutes by walk) and just 2 minutes from Monorail station. Staff is helpful and friendly. Free wi-fi in the rooms is available, but signal is not strong.
I was with my son of 6-years old and our room was very small for two. Be careful: there are rooms without windows in the hotel also. Breakfast was various, but not tasty.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhannick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral. It is also a great pleasure to receive such a wonderful compliments and I will definitely share to all my colleague and staff.

We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Room. Small but looks clean; BUT the problem are bedbugs. One of my friend has suffered lots of insect bites in few minutes. They were given new room anyway but the damage has been there. I personally don't like the bathroom glass door. It either closes the whole bathroom area or just the shower area. Privacy in the bathroom is very important for me.

Area. I don't recommend the hotel if you are with kids. The street is so crowded. No convenience store nearby, I think 3 to 4 blocks away. A taxi driver told us it's like a red light district but I am not sure if it really is.

Staffs. They are all nice and very friendly.

Activities. There is a guy near reception who can help arrange activities with you like city tours and going to other places like Genting. Price is reasonable.

If you are looking for just a room to sleep, this will do. Just don't let the bedbugs bite. =)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanArcher21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

We are deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. On the bed bugs issue, the hotel’s rooms and premises had carry out pest control treatment on periodic basic but unfortunately this issue yet come into existence.

We will look into this issue seriously to prevent it from happening again. It certainly is disappointing that you have not enjoyed your stay.

The staff shall be informed of your kind comments towards their service rendered and thank you once again for pointing out to us the issues which you had faced on your last trip with us. Rest assured those issued will be addressed as well and hopefully on your next visit, you’ll be able to notice the positive improvements.

Last but not least, we hope that you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in an Express Double and were happy we were only there for 12 hours. We needed somewhere to dump our bags, shower and nap in between flights. This hotel was a perfect location for KL Sentral and the room was comfortable enough although slightly smoky. I had earplugs and was able to sleep but my boyfriend didn't and was keep awake by neighbouring plumbing and noisy guests. Fridge didn't work.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chooklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

It’s glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral. However, we are also deeply regretted to hear that your boyfriend stay with us was unpleasant. I have taken note of your comments with regards to those noises.

Our assurance is that the issued that had been highlighted will been resolved and we hope that you will be able to visit again in not too distant future.

We sincerely request you to return as our esteemed guest on your next trip so as to evaluate us once more.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I'm writing here to inform potential guest that this hotel's service is poor. Despite the services offered on the website, nothing comes as good service. In reality, there's only 10 TV channels (6 of it being local channels and three 'lousy' channels with repeats). The two lifts function as both for guest and for delivery of food to the kicthen on 5th floor and house-kepper's chores. There's no specific time for the cleaning service mentioned, allowing privacy compromised (no 'Do Not Disturb' tags in the room). Some front desk staff are rude and have no internet in providing good explanation despite being in the servicing sector. Leaking from the ceiling not fixed, Internet connection is limited and no explanation given about the disconnection unless you insist hard. I think the smile they put on their faces are rather facade and the sweet talk is mere lip service. Please consider other hotelif you don't one to be frustrated during your stay in KL.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tadzrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

It was very disturbing to learn that your stay was unpleasant. However I would like to extend my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experiences as a result of our service shortfalls.

Your feedback is very important to us and steps to address our shortcomings have been discussed at length with the teams. Our maintenance team has been brief and action has been taken to solve the leaking issue in the room. The Housekeeping Dept has also been brief about the cleaning time as well as the IT team to solve the internet connection.

I hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
NU Hotel Sentral
NU Hotel Sentral
#84 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#88 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Summer View
Hotel Summer View
#64 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sent...
#108 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
My Hotel at KL Sentral
My Hotel at KL Sentral
#117 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral

Property: Hotel Sentral
Address: 30 Jalan Thambypillai | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sentral, a hotel owned by the Hotel Sentral (KL) Sdn. Bhd, aims to make a difference in ensuring comfortable, refreshing and value for money accommodation for travellers. The hotel enjoys a unique location on Jalan Thambypillai with the monorail station right on its doorstep providing quick access to various part of the major tourist spots such as Bukit Bintang, Time Square and Chinatown.Hotel Sentral houses 192 contemporary styled and designed rooms, of which 12 Executive Rooms occupies the Executive Floor on level 15. All the rooms are furnished with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, minibar, in room safe, IDD telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, Astro and local TV channels to ensure a relaxing and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing