We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to KL Sentral and monorail”
Review of Hotel Sentral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sentral
Ranked #109 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good for 1-2 transit nights because of its location - close to KL Sentral (about 8 minutes by walk) and just 2 minutes from Monorail station. Staff is helpful and friendly. Free wi-fi in the rooms is available, but signal is not strong.
I was with my son of 6-years old and our room was very small for two. Be careful: there are rooms without windows in the hotel also. Breakfast was various, but not tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhannick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral. It is also a great pleasure to receive such a wonderful compliments and I will definitely share to all my colleague and staff.

We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Room. Small but looks clean; BUT the problem are bedbugs. One of my friend has suffered lots of insect bites in few minutes. They were given new room anyway but the damage has been there. I personally don't like the bathroom glass door. It either closes the whole bathroom area or just the shower area. Privacy in the bathroom is very important for me.

Area. I don't recommend the hotel if you are with kids. The street is so crowded. No convenience store nearby, I think 3 to 4 blocks away. A taxi driver told us it's like a red light district but I am not sure if it really is.

Staffs. They are all nice and very friendly.

Activities. There is a guy near reception who can help arrange activities with you like city tours and going to other places like Genting. Price is reasonable.

If you are looking for just a room to sleep, this will do. Just don't let the bedbugs bite. =)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanArcher21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

We are deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. On the bed bugs issue, the hotel’s rooms and premises had carry out pest control treatment on periodic basic but unfortunately this issue yet come into existence.

We will look into this issue seriously to prevent it from happening again. It certainly is disappointing that you have not enjoyed your stay.

The staff shall be informed of your kind comments towards their service rendered and thank you once again for pointing out to us the issues which you had faced on your last trip with us. Rest assured those issued will be addressed as well and hopefully on your next visit, you’ll be able to notice the positive improvements.

Last but not least, we hope that you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in an Express Double and were happy we were only there for 12 hours. We needed somewhere to dump our bags, shower and nap in between flights. This hotel was a perfect location for KL Sentral and the room was comfortable enough although slightly smoky. I had earplugs and was able to sleep but my boyfriend didn't and was keep awake by neighbouring plumbing and noisy guests. Fridge didn't work.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chooklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

It’s glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral. However, we are also deeply regretted to hear that your boyfriend stay with us was unpleasant. I have taken note of your comments with regards to those noises.

Our assurance is that the issued that had been highlighted will been resolved and we hope that you will be able to visit again in not too distant future.

We sincerely request you to return as our esteemed guest on your next trip so as to evaluate us once more.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I'm writing here to inform potential guest that this hotel's service is poor. Despite the services offered on the website, nothing comes as good service. In reality, there's only 10 TV channels (6 of it being local channels and three 'lousy' channels with repeats). The two lifts function as both for guest and for delivery of food to the kicthen on 5th floor and house-kepper's chores. There's no specific time for the cleaning service mentioned, allowing privacy compromised (no 'Do Not Disturb' tags in the room). Some front desk staff are rude and have no internet in providing good explanation despite being in the servicing sector. Leaking from the ceiling not fixed, Internet connection is limited and no explanation given about the disconnection unless you insist hard. I think the smile they put on their faces are rather facade and the sweet talk is mere lip service. Please consider other hotelif you don't one to be frustrated during your stay in KL.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tadzrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

It was very disturbing to learn that your stay was unpleasant. However I would like to extend my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experiences as a result of our service shortfalls.

Your feedback is very important to us and steps to address our shortcomings have been discussed at length with the teams. Our maintenance team has been brief and action has been taken to solve the leaking issue in the room. The Housekeeping Dept has also been brief about the cleaning time as well as the IT team to solve the internet connection.

I hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

New and very comfortable. Carpeted room with city view. Enough space for 1 or 2 person. No bathtub in my bathroom but very clean. Excellent wifi. Less than 3 minutes walking to KL sentral monorel and 10 minutes to KL Sentral main terminal. Lots of restaurant nearby especially Indian food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rezzqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

Its glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral. The location is a much debated topic but to each its own so we glad that you did enjoyed your stayed with us.

Last but not least, we hope that you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel on November 19 and NOTHING was even acceptable in this hotel. The sequence of events was the following:
1. at arrival, no one from the hotel made any move to open the door or to help us with our luggage. Ok, no problem, we can open doors and can handle luggage, but, since we were carrying 2 pieces of luggage each, we might find some help useful
2.the 1st room we were given (we've booked a Superior Room, whatever this means...) was extremely small, with dirty stained walls and stinked cigarette smoke. Although the window was closed, and although we were at the 10th floor, we could distinctly hear all noises coming from the street. So, we immediately called the reception to inform them that we refused to stay in that room, The guy asked us to go down, so that he might give us another room
3. so, the guy at the reception gave us the key of another room on the 11th flor, stressing that that was the last room available and suggested we had a look.
4. this 2nd room was equally dirty, equally small and, instead of stinking cigarette smoke, it stinked humidity, as if the carpets were wet and in the room for a long time.
5. I immediately contacted the travel agency who booked that hotel, called Asia Overland Services (which I DON'T reccomend for anyone living outside Asia), and after struggling with one of its managers, we were moved to a 3rd room (even though, like I wrote before, there were no more rooms available...)
6. this 3rd room was equally dirty (we had all towels changed, because they were dirty), equally small, equally terrible but, at least, it didn't smell. Again, all sounds from the street passed freely through the window. Since it was allready 8:00 pm and we were tired and had not had dinner yet, we decided to accept that room and find a restaurant to eat. Upon asking at the reception, we were told to walk around to find a place to eat.
Well, there were simply NO decent restaurants whatsoever at walking distance. The whole street where the hotel stays is dirty, all stained and wet with fat and dish washing water from small vehicles and small, local places selling food on the streets. It looks like a 'bas fond' place, where it would be really unsafe for a woman to walk unaccompanied.
We ended up at a café that had some reasonable food.
The hotel was full of loud speaking asian people (probably South Korean), who seemed quite happy, as they were laughing all the time and finding it difficult to walk on a straight line, but that was no problem for us.
However, for some reason we saw no western people there, except for a young backpacker guy.
Breakfast at the hotel was average/poor with something they called coffee but which wasn't coffee at all...
In brief, we would NEVER stay at this hotel again nor reccomend it to anyone caring about cleanlinness, comfort and safety.

Room Tip: Just look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luisito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

We are deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. I have taken note of your comments with regards to poor service standards and service attitude very seriously.

Our assurance is that the issued that had been highlighted will be resolved and we hope that you will be able to visit again in not too distant future.

We sincerely request you to return as our esteemed guest on your next trip so as to evaluate us once more.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The rooms and the hotel in general is very well kept. The breakfast is very good indeed. The hotel is right next to the monorail and a 5-10 min walk to KL Sentral station from where you can take the metro. The hotel stay is value for money. The area surrounding the hotel, is filled with eateries but the hygiene is rather questionable. The area surrounding the hotel on the whole is quite dirty. So if you're the kind to take an evening or late night stroll around in the area, I wouldn't recommend it. But if you can live with that, then the hotel is fabulous.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonsOfFun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral. A breakfast is important start of day and one of important meal so it's great that you had enjoyed yours.The location is a much debated topic but to each of it's own so we're glad that the location suited your needs.

Once again, Hotel Sentral genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#87 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
NU Hotel Sentral
NU Hotel Sentral
#81 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Summer View
Hotel Summer View
#62 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
1.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#58 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,025 reviews
0.0 mi away
My Hotel at KL Sentral
My Hotel at KL Sentral
#119 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral

Address: 30 Jalan Thambypillai | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $25 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sentral, a hotel owned by the Hotel Sentral (KL) Sdn. Bhd, aims to make a difference in ensuring comfortable, refreshing and value for money accommodation for travellers. The hotel enjoys a unique location on Jalan Thambypillai with the monorail station right on its doorstep providing quick access to various part of the major tourist spots such as Bukit Bintang, Time Square and Chinatown.Hotel Sentral houses 192 contemporary styled and designed rooms, of which 12 Executive Rooms occupies the Executive Floor on level 15. All the rooms are furnished with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, minibar, in room safe, IDD telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, Astro and local TV channels to ensure a relaxing and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing