We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel, not 3 stars at all”
Review of Hotel Sentral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sentral
Ranked #103 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel, not 3 stars at all”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel on November 19 and NOTHING was even acceptable in this hotel. The sequence of events was the following:
1. at arrival, no one from the hotel made any move to open the door or to help us with our luggage. Ok, no problem, we can open doors and can handle luggage, but, since we were carrying 2 pieces of luggage each, we might find some help useful
2.the 1st room we were given (we've booked a Superior Room, whatever this means...) was extremely small, with dirty stained walls and stinked cigarette smoke. Although the window was closed, and although we were at the 10th floor, we could distinctly hear all noises coming from the street. So, we immediately called the reception to inform them that we refused to stay in that room, The guy asked us to go down, so that he might give us another room
3. so, the guy at the reception gave us the key of another room on the 11th flor, stressing that that was the last room available and suggested we had a look.
4. this 2nd room was equally dirty, equally small and, instead of stinking cigarette smoke, it stinked humidity, as if the carpets were wet and in the room for a long time.
5. I immediately contacted the travel agency who booked that hotel, called Asia Overland Services (which I DON'T reccomend for anyone living outside Asia), and after struggling with one of its managers, we were moved to a 3rd room (even though, like I wrote before, there were no more rooms available...)
6. this 3rd room was equally dirty (we had all towels changed, because they were dirty), equally small, equally terrible but, at least, it didn't smell. Again, all sounds from the street passed freely through the window. Since it was allready 8:00 pm and we were tired and had not had dinner yet, we decided to accept that room and find a restaurant to eat. Upon asking at the reception, we were told to walk around to find a place to eat.
Well, there were simply NO decent restaurants whatsoever at walking distance. The whole street where the hotel stays is dirty, all stained and wet with fat and dish washing water from small vehicles and small, local places selling food on the streets. It looks like a 'bas fond' place, where it would be really unsafe for a woman to walk unaccompanied.
We ended up at a café that had some reasonable food.
The hotel was full of loud speaking asian people (probably South Korean), who seemed quite happy, as they were laughing all the time and finding it difficult to walk on a straight line, but that was no problem for us.
However, for some reason we saw no western people there, except for a young backpacker guy.
Breakfast at the hotel was average/poor with something they called coffee but which wasn't coffee at all...
In brief, we would NEVER stay at this hotel again nor reccomend it to anyone caring about cleanlinness, comfort and safety.

Room Tip: Just look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luisito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

We are deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. I have taken note of your comments with regards to poor service standards and service attitude very seriously.

Our assurance is that the issued that had been highlighted will be resolved and we hope that you will be able to visit again in not too distant future.

We sincerely request you to return as our esteemed guest on your next trip so as to evaluate us once more.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    628
    430
    123
    65
See reviews for
223
404
249
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The rooms and the hotel in general is very well kept. The breakfast is very good indeed. The hotel is right next to the monorail and a 5-10 min walk to KL Sentral station from where you can take the metro. The hotel stay is value for money. The area surrounding the hotel, is filled with eateries but the hygiene is rather questionable. The area surrounding the hotel on the whole is quite dirty. So if you're the kind to take an evening or late night stroll around in the area, I wouldn't recommend it. But if you can live with that, then the hotel is fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonsOfFun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral. A breakfast is important start of day and one of important meal so it's great that you had enjoyed yours.The location is a much debated topic but to each of it's own so we're glad that the location suited your needs.

Once again, Hotel Sentral genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just stayed at the Sentral for three days. The area is dodgy and not very easy on the eye....but the location of this hotel is fabulous. A second away from the monorail .........the LRT is a 5min walk as well when u wanna go see the twin towers. Using the monorail u can access Chinatown, Bukit Bintang, chow kit etc ........it saves u time and traffic woes. There are Indian restaurants across the hotel to the left and there is supermarket outside the entrance making it super convenient, They do have security outside the hotel at all times so its pretty safe...............i found that the area to the left of the hotel was pretty ok with a Old town coffee shop as well. The other side is defintly avoidable. But saying tht i did go with my kid and my mum and we did come back at late hours on all days but did not face any incidents or problems. The room is basic but when does one actually stay in the room during a holiday???? the water pressure in the taps was a bit low and there was no bath mat so we had to deal with a wet floor.........aside from that it was a good stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunita_brace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

Its glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral. The location is a much debated topic but to each of its own so we glad that you did enjoyed your stayed with us. Your comments are valuable to us in our effort to to serve all our guest better.

Last but not least, we hope that you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

For a budget hotel, there is not much to expect. Just to highlight that the location is right in a run down area known as Brickfields. Not too sure of the area in term of security. A bit concern with the cleanliness surrounding the hotel. Also quite limited for area where you could get a decent meal. Mostly Indian foods and eating places are not clean and hygienic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CityFolks777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

The location is very much debated topic but to each of it's own so we're glad that the location suited your needs. Hotel Sentral is conveniently located next to Kuala Lumpur’s monorail station whereby access to the major shopping malls such as Bukit Bintang, Time Square and other tourist hotspots can be done easily.

Last but not least, we hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Well when we arrived ,reception looked lovely spotless,it is just that only clean place in this hotel
Must be the entrance ,on the Internet rooms looks very nice in reality omg it was filthy I mean it
Walls, bathroom, curtains and the bed sheets was splattered with blood stains ,carpet had stains all over it was just awful ..and the location we didn't know hotel was located on a same street with 6 or 7 brothels they had red lights on we could see the ladies in thier underwear with virtually hundreds of man queuing at their door 24/7 ,I never felt so unsafe in my life walking in the street with my husband holding my hand tight in broad daylight .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nina5565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

We are deeply regretted to hear that your stay with us was unpleasant. Unfortunately, we acknowledge that there was an unforeseen issue with the service attitude from our staff and the condition of the room.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to poor service standards and service attitude very seriously.

Our assurance is that the issued that had been highlighted will be resolved and we hope that you will be able to visit again in not too distant future.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Good one to stay with.. sufficient, good breakfast, nearby to busstand, monorail, tamil Good one to stay with.. sufficient, good breakfast, nearby to busstand, monorail, tamil restaurents, easy to move around, calm, good service...restaurents, easy to move around, calm, good service...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nrkannan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral. It is also a great pleasure to receive such a wonderful compliments and I will definitely share to all my colleague and staff.

I hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Yes, the location is close to the monorail and metro, but why didn't anyone mention the street and hotel are full of prostitutes?!?!? Very unpleasant area of KL. the hotel was fine for the price, but it was unpleasant to go anywhere in the evening because of all the hollers to us as we walked by.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank umbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven_TKK, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

It’s glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

The location is a much debated topic but to each its own so we glad that you did enjoyed your stayed with us. Your comments are valuable to us in our effort to serve our entire guest better.

Last but not least, we hope that you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you and best regards.

Steven Tang
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
NU Hotel Sentral
NU Hotel Sentral
#87 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Summer View
Hotel Summer View
#62 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#92 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
My Hotel at KL Sentral
My Hotel at KL Sentral
#115 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sent...
#110 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral

Property: Hotel Sentral
Address: 30 Jalan Thambypillai | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sentral, a hotel owned by the Hotel Sentral (KL) Sdn. Bhd, aims to make a difference in ensuring comfortable, refreshing and value for money accommodation for travellers. The hotel enjoys a unique location on Jalan Thambypillai with the monorail station right on its doorstep providing quick access to various part of the major tourist spots such as Bukit Bintang, Time Square and Chinatown.Hotel Sentral houses 192 contemporary styled and designed rooms, of which 12 Executive Rooms occupies the Executive Floor on level 15. All the rooms are furnished with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, minibar, in room safe, IDD telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, Astro and local TV channels to ensure a relaxing and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing