We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price”
Review of My City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
My City Hotel
Ranked #152 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Bristol
Level Contributor
309 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night last week for a layover in KL. Room was very clean and bedlinen spotless. However the shower was cold and the toilet seat was missing. i had wifi in my room with a reasonable connection and the location is suberb. the reception were very helpfull and supplied me with a map. The rate was £19/night

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qualitywork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    19
    2
    8
See reviews for
13
14
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombia, S.A.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Can't beat the location, for certain. A stone's throw from the Petaling Market.
As far as the hotel, kind of dumpy, could really use a painter's brush. A pretty good amount of hair on the floor says the cleaning wasn't all that good. The internet was spotty at best, constantly fading on and off line. After a long day of seeing the sights, I normally like to kick the shoes off and watch a bit of TV, however programming was pathetic - has about 4 or 5 channels, and of those only one is worth watching-sometimes. Walls, while looking solid, are paper-thin. When my neighbor talked, I could have sworn she was in my bathroom.

I found the no smoking sign on the wall kind of funny, as there was an ashtray about 2 feet from it. Makes no sense. AirCon worked great.
All in all, there are way better options in the area for 80 RM, I would look around before settling on this place. I am giving it 3 stars, but would rather give it 2.5, trip advisor doesn't give that option.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inspectorjavert70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Level Contributor
356 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Perfect location - we were beside Chinatown but there was no noise at night time to keep you awake. We had free WiFi. The staff were friendly but we asked for our room to be cleaned and it was never done.

Room Tip: Rooms are very comfortable and have free WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Rooms are ok, excellent location. Very close to China Town, Central Market and metro station Pasar Seni. They don't have restaurant but many eating joints near by.

Wi-fi doesn't work in room, but works well in lobby area.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rishikochhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I'd stayed here before when there was construction underway, building work now appears complete. We'd had our bookings confirmed and were disappointed to be told we had to change rooms after one night, pack our bags and leave at reception before we left that day 8am and move into a new room on our return at 9pm that night.
The rooms were fine, clean and tidy, there seemed to be more channels available on tv, several in English i appreciated.
Though I had booked using credit card details I had to pay cash at the counter.
Worst news we had was a day after we had left, at Bangkok Airport received email from booking-com we'd booked though saying hotel had notified them we had not stayed there at all, and accordingly charging my credit card for three nights accomm. Three days later have still not had a response about this extra 303 ringit/3000baht charge.
As reception insisted on taking the receipt back when we left and were given 20r deposit back for remote control, we have no proof of payment.
Very disappointing and not a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank songsee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Chanthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Chose this hotel for its location, easy walk to Pasar Seni and Masjid Jamek rail stations and on good bus routes.
Building undergoing renovation - the ground floor was being re-built when i was there. Room clean and small, fine for a person or couple - queen size bed, tv, wardrobe with sep bathroom/shower. What I did appreciate was how quiet it was as i was ill for 24hrs and just wanted to sleep. There's also a new lounge area (see pic) nice area to read the newspaper or watch tv, has a water filter there to refill your bottles.
Staff weren't overly friendly except for an older man, maybe the owner, who was pleasant to deal with when I arrived at 11pm after 16hrs travel.
Under 100m away is Chinatown though no noise from there drifted down to the hotel.
In four days I was not given new towels or soap, in fact there was no room service at all. A small fridge would be welcome.
Overall it's ok, as a budget hotel it's above average for clean and quiet. Didn't have laptop so unsure if the advertised wifi was working.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songsee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I have been to Malaysia five times. Personally I need a cheap hotel with a good quality and locate near the central. The receptionist is very friendly. On the desk, they provide a city map for you. I stayed in the superior room on the 3rd floor. If you're worry about the drink. Forget it, cause they provide a drinking water (hot & cold) outside the room for you. Inside, first time I saw, It was great actually. The price I paid and the quality of the room I've got was equal. The beds were soft and comfortable. After long way of traveling, you could feel the freezing of air conditioner. International Cable TV was available such as ESPN, AXN. The bathroom was good. Without a bathtub, you could also enjoy the heater and feel relax with it. WiFi were available in the lobby.

For those of you who are currently looking for a cheap hotel and locate near the central. I highly recommend it. It locates near Petaling Street, which you can enjoy shopping here, less than a minute for walking. Another shopping place is Central Market, 3 minutes for walking and it also locates near Putra LRT, Pasar Seni station. The hotel didn't provide the breakfast for you but don't worry. Mcdonald's was less than 1km away. 7/11 shop and Chinese food were here too. If you want to go to Genting Highlands, Take the bus at Puduraya bus station is also near the hotel. 10 minutes to walk. Ask the way from the receptionist

The hotel is easy to find. From Petaling Street, walk straight about 200 meters, less than a minute. you will find it on the left.

- Dani

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daniworldstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
YY48 Hotel
YY48 Hotel
#174 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Winsin Hotel
Winsin Hotel
#132 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Hotel @ Bukit Bintang
My Hotel @ Bukit Bintang
#112 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel China Town Inn
Hotel China Town Inn
#107 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Happy Holiday Hotel
Happy Holiday Hotel
#170 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Marque Hotel
The Marque Hotel
#130 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My City Hotel

Property: My City Hotel
Address: 118 120a Jalan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is located at China Town, city center of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. A perfect place for traveling full of entertainment, food, shopping, etc. CITY HOTEL has full facilities of 3 star hotel, such as 24 hour customer service, HOT and COLD drinking water and shower, doorstep tour service, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your My City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing