We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing cuisine”
Review of Enak KL

Enak KL
Ranked #163 of 4,105 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Be swept away by age-old family recipes that will take you on a culinary journey back to Malaya. Steeped in traditions let our flavours spin you stories of Malaysian culture and heritage. Enak Kuala Lumpur, Redefining Malay Cuisine with a Contemporary Twist.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing cuisine”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Staff is lovely; room is charming; food terribly disappointing. It's just not that good. Flavors were bland. Malaysia has great food, but you will find little of it here. Not sure why it's rated so highly - perhaps it used to be better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GOfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    76
    41
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great way to sample Malay food”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We took the tasting menu with wine pairings. What a treat to our first Malay food experience. Every course was fantastic . Perhaps a little more expensive than most but worth every penny. The restaurant is set in the upmarket Starhill galary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sellers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very good food and restaurant”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ate here during trip to KL. Food was very good although the beef was a little overcooked in the rendang. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel recommended Enak when we asked for authentic Malaysian cuisine. We weren't disappointed. Ordered a few starters (asparagus with coconut was fantastic), which came in varied sizes (some very huge and almost main size, some starter-sized) and all were very good. Mains were also great- treat the extra sambal they serve with respect! Overall, a very nice experience.

Ambience could be improved (decoration etc), but service was very attentive and friendly. Prices were adequate. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmoLaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good place for introduction to Malay cuisine”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had business guests from Norway and Australia and wanted to bring them to an authentic malay restaurant but with the comfort of 5 star restaurant. Found it at Enak KL.
I had a group of 20 with a mix of vegetarians and non-vegetarians. The captain suggested the set meal that catered to my needs. I was well happy.
For a Malay native myself, i was very impressed with the selection of food and the taste was thru authenticity. Will bring my family and friends the next time we dine out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunwic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enak KL also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Enak KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing