We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY THERE!!!!”
Review of Hostel Red Dragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Red Dragon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY THERE!!!!”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This is the worst hostel I have EVER stayed in! First they offered us discount on a room because the bathroom was being done up, when we got in it the smell was disgusting. We checked the toilet which was not connected to anything and it had poo in!! So it obviously wasn't checked. They moved us to another room which were full of bedbugs! I must of woke up with at least 40 bites. Also cockroaches were everywhere. In the corridor and bathrooms there is a STRONG smell of wee, it makes you uncomfortably having a shower. We also got our laundry done there and they made all our whites a dirty patchy yellow colour. After complaining to a very rude receptionist they gave us 3 free nights but because it was that disgusting we refused and left. I have never written a review before but I thought people needed to know NOT to go there. Go to RIbbon Stayyz its next door and its great!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arcolclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    6
    7
    18
See reviews for
1
7
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I spent one night here, front room, no problem. Stayed another time, back room, got bed bug bites, woke after 12pm told staff, moved me to another nearby room, woke at 4.30 covered in bites, worst I've ever had. Told staff, watched their treatment method, turned mattress upside down, sprayed with insecticide. I would suggest avoiding the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozdocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Nice Hostel but a lot of Bedbugs. The stuff was friendly and the laundry and information service was good. But really a lot of bedbugs. Everywhere.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank agrafx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Laidback staff, acceptable budget rooms with tiled floors and a/c. Other reviews mention bedbugs - would not have stayed there if I'd read that! - but there was no sign of them in the room I had, ultimately though I couldnt stand the shared bathrooms. Cheap and centrally located, with one hour of free internet use.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beingkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Checked in yesterday to stay for one night in a single room. Laying on the bed, I saw a little bug walking over the wall. I heard about bedbugs but had`nt seen them before, so checked on the inernet how they look and where to find them just to be sure.
Back in my room, looked at the matress, all bedbugs! Asked for another room, as it was late at night already and considered it might just be that room (could be) but my new room was covered with bed bugs aswell. I mentioned the bed bugs to the night clerk, but he didn`t seem to care at all. I took my money and got the hell out of there to find another place to sleep!

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed here for one night, and like the reviewer above me, woke up covered in bedbug bites. I had already paid for the second night, and when I asked for my money back, they refused, saying "you can switch rooms. whenever people complain about the bedbugs we let them switch rooms". as if people are constantly complaining about the bedbugs. needless to say, i left. beware! also, the rooms have no windows and the bathrooms are filthy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nschwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2009

great place for money value and easy to get around via train and bus, you can walk most places from here (shopping, station, airport bus).
Its 1min from china town market to basically right outside the hostel

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TimG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
806 reviews
1.3 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,740 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,623 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
7,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Red Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Red Dragon

Property: Hostel Red Dragon
Address: No. 83 Pertaling Street | or 80, Jalan Sultan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 259 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing