We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical GuestHouse
Ranked #113 of 349 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place to stay, Jennifer the host is always accommodating.

Its right in the middle of everything so you dont need to take taxi's you can just walk everywhere.

The rooms are always clean and the staff are really friendly. My 3rd time I stay here, wouldnt hesitate to stay or recommend again!

Rob

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRob444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 136 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you want to visit Kuala Lumpur, Tropical Guest House is the right place to stay. In the heart of the city centre it is a cozy, original and cheap solution!! suggested to: couples (don't miss the presidential suite!!), families, lonely travellers, groups of friends ... to everybody!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letizia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

First the good: tastefully decorated (a woman's touch is evident), friendly and helpful staff, and everything is kept scrupulously clean – which, in Kuala Lumpur, is not something to be taken for granted. So that's all good.

However. For some reason, loudspeakers are installed in the corridor ceilings, through which the music that is played in the reception area is passed on to all the guest rooms, at varying sound levels. One evening at eleven o'clock, unable to sleep, I went down to the reception desk to ask if the volume could be turned down. They did turn it down and apologized – but who wants to get out of bed to make such a request? Not me.

The rooms are not just small, they are positively tiny. Standard twin rooms measure about 2.10 by 2.40, so there is only a narrow strip between the two single beds in which a small table is placed and which allows you to open the door (just...), but leaves no room for your luggage. Tall people will feel cramped.

This guesthouse has received raving reviews. Frankly, I wonder if they are all genuine. As far as I am concerned, the guesthouse has charm, but it does come with a few downsides.

We've stayed at a few guesthouses in this area (so far our favourite is Travellers Palm Lodge), and new ones are popping up regularly. The standard is rising; it used to be that bedbugs were common and cleanliness a foreign word, but that is changing. If you are going to spend a few days in KL, you may want to consider booking a room somewhere for one night (sure, why not in Tropical Guesthouse?) and then shopping around.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Rooms are tiny but clean with aircon, and you get a towel. Shared bathroom area also pretty clean. Nice seating area at the front with books etc. Helpful staff. I would stay again if I went back to KL!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racheybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Me and my friend stayed in tropical guesthouse for 5 nights and loved it, we have been traveling all over southeast Asia for the last 3 months and this was one of,if not the best place we stayed in, room was tidy, clean, fresh towels and bedding, toilets were always clean and available.What really makes this place is the atmosphere it has, you really feel welcome and you meet lots of other guests by socializing in the sitting area out the front, also the owner Jennifer is lovely and she will do anything there to make your stay more comfortable than it already is, 100% will be staying there when i am next in Malaysia.

George

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_Thea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

stayed there for a week with my partner. the reason we stayed here because it's near to public transport and easy for us to get around town with monorail. it's situated really close to changkat street where there's a lot of cool bars and pubs. we stayed in a small room with double bed which is very close to the lobby. we can actually hear the noise from the lobby like there's no wall between us. also the noise from the next room. the crews are very nice and friendly especially the owner, Jennifer. overall,we had a nice stayed except for the noise thing. couple who looks for quite sleep should get the room far from the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

After having a look at the reviews on tripadvisor, I spend a week there in a twin room. the room is simple and small with shared bathroom but you can have the president room, sex room or horny room if you budget allows you, and it really worth it.
There's a lot of guest houses in the street but none of theme have this atmosphere.
Made on bambou style, cleaned every day, no bed bugs.
This place is run by Jennifer who is an energic and worm girl.
The location is just perfect, close to bukit bintang station.
I would absolutly recomand this place.

Judy

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy-asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
2,853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#53 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Alpha Genesis Hotel
#126 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
9,969 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical GuestHouse

Address: 2 Tingkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 349 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $18 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical GuestHouse 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Guesthouse Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing