We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, friendly staff, the best backpackers hostel I have ever stayed in!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Cosmopolitan

Hostel Cosmopolitan
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Cosmopolitan
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good location, friendly staff, the best backpackers hostel I have ever stayed in!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hostel Cosmopolitan is a very nice place to stay in KL. The staff are very friendly. The room is quite nice, air conditioning, with bathroom and shower. Location is perfect, it's less than 3 mins walk to the Chow Kit Monorail Station, 2 stops to Bukit Nanas (KL Tower), 4 stops to Bukit Bintang (shopping haven of KL) and 9 stops to KL Sentral. There is a market downstairs which opens till late at night where you can get souvenirs, clothes and food. There is a convenience store downstairs (7Eleven). At the 4th level there is four PCs equipped with Skype and webcams and FREE WiFi. Printing service is also offered. There is a mini library where you can read many travel guides, brochures and also books. There is a kitchen where you can cook and store your foods. Along the hall from the reception to the kitchen are notice boards packed (with an emphasis on PACKED) with travel reviews about the hostel printed from the Net and also many travel guides. You can meet many new friends there from other countries because I noticed that there are more foreigners than locals staying here. Private rooms with two single beds are also available. Overall I would truly recommend this to anyone who wants to stay at a good location with low prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
3
26
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here for a about 4 nights, after the 2nd night we asked for house keeping and when we returned, we found we had things missing from our suitcases! Everything inside had been rearranged as though they had been searched. We filed a police report down the street and they said there have been many reports of this hostel stealing from their guests! Also the female assistant manager is rude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinSpecToR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I booked a room beforehand and got email confirmation. On the day of arrival I again sent an email telling I am coming. They said my room is waiting for me. When I arrived, they told that the room I booked is not available and told I have to take another room, that was lower in quality and price that I had booked and paid for. They refused to give the difference in money but told I have to spend that difference in buying drinks of them. The drinks were overpriced, almost double to the street prices. They didn't apologize for the mistake but the behaviour was a bit arrogant and unfriendly. The room was ok but not very good. Internet was working though. Location was not good at all. I should have believed the taxi driver and turned back taking hostel in Bukit Bintang/Chinatown area rather than go to this place. Next time I will.

Room Tip: Go to other places in Bukit Bintang/Chjnatown.. There is nothing nearby this place and the prices ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed in both the 10 bed dorm and a private A/C room. The 10 bed dorm is large, and the two fans that rotate in the ceiling are not really adequate for the whole room - the beds furthest from them receive next to no benefit! Still, you are in Malaysia, it's hot. The room itself was pleasant enough, plenty of light during the day. Each bed has its own corresponding security locker, bring a padlock. On one of the booking websites it offers an A/C dorm - there is no such option. The toilets are not in the best condition, but not terrible. The showers are hot and work reasonably well. The staff will change your bedding free of charge after 4 nights.

The reception on the 4th floor has four computers that offer free, fast internet at all hours - which is an excellent draw for the place. There are a couple of sofas with a television, the option to rent DVDs and a very well-stocked and varied library. The kitchen is neat and tidy, although I had no reason to use it - the food outside being affordable and less hassle than making my own meals.

The A/C room was clean, fairly small, with two single beds. The A/C made a big difference to the night's sleep and there was the benefit of having a private shower and toilet. If you can afford it, this is a much more pleasant way to sleep.

Downstairs, there is an Indian restaurant to the right, this does excellent Indian breakfasts and a lunch buffet that is replenished throughout the day. I ate here all the time and had no problems. Chow Kit wet market is near by, for fresh fruit and fish/chicken/beef etc...The monorail station is a three minute walk away, which connects with the main tourist stops a few stops down the line. The monorail also runs all the way to KL Sentral, which is very useful for arriving and departing. The staff will happily arrange a taxi and wake you up if you need to leave early in the morning.

Good location, very reasonable price. You get what you pay for in terms of accommodation, but the free internet is a welcome bonus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillHoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This place is in Chow Kit, which is a few stops from KL sentral on the monorail. It's within walking distance to the petrona towers and KL tower. There are night markets right outside the door and KFC, 7/11 shops and the monorail is only 2/3 min walk. The lady who works here is nice very quiet place, not many other backpackers that I have seen anyways. Small kitchen but it's handy and free wifi and computers. We got a double room and the walls are quiet thin u can hear the conversation from next door but it's a hostel so ur gonna here noise anyways. Would def recommend it to outher travellers. for 60RM a night for double room ensuite a/c great value!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urzula87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

heres a very cheap place to stay with great returns, a/c, free internet including computer (not traveling with a laptop) , private room if wanted and I'd definately recommend that, was a real variety of people for our 2 nights and was very noisy, could here people spitting in the shower etc, but seriously, for the cheap price totally worth it! incredibly close to the bukit nanas stop for the city centre but also is close to batu caves, a good side of the city to be on. We stayd by KL Sentral on the first night which was alright, good for transport but expensive for shocking rooms!!! So in conclusion hostel cosmopolitan really hit the nail on the head for us :D (2 girls in a twin room).

Room Tip: the rooms dont have windows but the dorms do, didnt bother us though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We booked a room on the new floor of this growing hostel because I had had a great experience there in 2009. Unfortunately, this new room was terrible! Mould on the walls, a terrible musty smell, and hardly any space for anything! The room next door to us seemed perfect, so we should not have accepted the room we were given. Hardly any of the rooms on that floor were occupied when we arrived, and we probably would have gotten a much better room to sleep in had we asked to be moved.

It is strange that the management offer such a bad room to their guests. The staff are generally friendly and the free breakfast in the very clean kitchen is not bad at all (bread, jam, tea/coffee).

Another issue that may cause concern for some travellers is that during our stay there we were subjected to a large group of primary schoolkids who were in KL on a school excursion. The constant shouting and door-banging made our stay really unpleasant. Hostel Cosmopolitan is best avoided during school holidays, it seems, if they take school bookings!

The location of this hostel is quite good if you want to check out the National Gallery or see a real Asian wet market in action or have a variety of budget street food available at your doorstep. (It's scary only if you like hanging around dark alleys at night.) The area is serviced by many buses and the monorail. It is also possible to walk into town for those who don't mind exercise (about 45 minutes to get to Petronas Towers). We found the area much more alive and far more pleasant than Chinatown. We got back home at 9pm and 10pm without any concerns for our safety.

Room Tip: We stayed in 350(?) and it was terrible. Inspect whatever room you get and if you don't like it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#82 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Seasons Hotel
Grand Seasons Hotel
#109 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.4 mi away
Serenity Hostels
Serenity Hostels
#70 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#3 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bullock Cart Hostel
Bullock Cart Hostel
#38 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.7 mi away
Paper Plane Hostel
Paper Plane Hostel
#4 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Cosmopolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmopolitan

Property: Hostel Cosmopolitan
Address: 4th Floor No. 73 & 75 Jalan Haji Hussein | Off Jalan Raja Muda Abdul Aziz, Kuala Lumpur 50300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 247 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cosmopolitan 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Cosmopolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Cosmopolitan Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing