We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We agree with everyone else- excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 353 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2012

After reading all the reviews I decided to book my father and I in and we were not disappointed! The natural friendliness of Christina, Michael and lovely Anita made us feel very welcome. We were pleasntly suprised to be upgraded , therefore enjoying the amazing view and the rooftop pool in the condo apartment- it was really special. The high ratings they have recieved are very well deserved- thanks for making us feel so welcome :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank She_who_dreams_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 207 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

my husband and i decided to celebrate his 50th birthday in kl. 6 of my office mates came along and whola... it became a company outing! we found michael and christina in the internet but due to heavy bookings, out of our 4 nights in kl, we stayed with them only on our last night. however, with all the help and advise that i got from them, it seems that we were with them the whole time. i am truly grateful that the couple spent time to answer my emails and calls ( on top of my side calls to anita). the property itself is very clean and is in a great location - near the bus station - pudu central, chinatown and central market and the food street - jalan alor. cristina brought us to a hindu restaurant for breakfast and it was an experience we will never forget. staying with them was like staying "with family."

michael, christina, anita, teri and the rest of your staff, also to our van drivers, johnson, kisshue, leong and most of all to khomar, maraming maraming salamat po.
(thank you very much).

till next time...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in March / April 2011 and were looking for accommodation on a budget. This fitted the bill perfectly. We stayed in 3 separate apartments over a 2 stay period and the rooms got better on each move. The basic accommodation is just that, but pay a bit extra and you reap rewards in spades. It's clean (thanks to Anita et al) and the breakfast is gorgeous, with local food being provided in sufficient quantities to keep you full for ages. Roti is a favourite. The ony downside s the noise, KL is noisy and the apartments are in a residentia complex where people come and go at all times of the night and day. But a good pair of ear plugs will sort that one out.

Michael and his wife however really make the stay worth while. They take a personal interest in making sure you enjoy your stay, and really put themselves out for you, taking you to the local market and making sure you have what you need. The apartments are at the bottom of food street and within easy walking distance of all the tourist sights. It really is the best value for money for whatever you can really afford.

Room Tip: Go for the most expensive room you can afford as the cheapest accommodation is really basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMarsden101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

After staying at Sarang Galloway last year, there were no second thoughts about booking in again. We would never stay anywhere else when we are in KL as Christina, Micheal and Anita are the most wonderful hosts and are very attentive to their guests needs. The accomodation is spotless and it is in a great location. Breakfast was delicious, but the food highlight of our stay was heading out with Christina and Micheal to a local market, where there were all sorts of local dishes to try. Although we arrived early we were able to check in as the previous guests had left and the staff had quickly organised the rooms for us, so that we could sleep off some of our jet lag. We left a couple of days later in the evening and Christina and Micheal kindly looked after our bags while we headed off to the mall for the afternoon.
We look forward to heading back again sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nigelandmonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family stayed at Sarang home just for one night. When we arrived at KL midnight, Anita was waiting for us. She extended her warmest welcome to us and direct us to the living room, kithen and bathroom. The room is tidy and clean, just like my home. We had a good sleep that night.
Michael, Christina are hospitality. They gave us serval tips for shopping, sightseeing...... we are greatly impressed by them......

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Location: Walkable to Jalan Alor.

Rooms: Clean, comfortable, nice touch of Malaysian culture can be felt through out

Bathrooms: Shared but new and very clean, water is hot

Breakfast: Like eating at home and very yummy

Service: The service was wonderful! Staying there was like staying with very nice aunties. We only stayed one night before leaving KL for another destination but later came back for one more day in KL. Though we did not check in for another night, Anita and Christina kindly let us leave our luggage and gave us tips for our day in KL. Luckily, I even got a little nap and a shower before the taxi that Anita helped arranged drove me to the airport.

I would definitely stay here again if I go back to KL. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeeBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed in Galloway ( Casa Condominium ): June 13th - June 15th.
Michael and Christina impressed me from the very beginning (booking phase) by sending a very comprehensive guidances on how to reach Sarang Galloway safely .... which is very useful for us.
Actually, we stayed at Casa Condominium situated on Jl Hang Ipah, due to heavy bookings, but the price is still reasonable compared to the facilities we had.
Casa Condo is a very clean apartment, spacious and very tidy. There was a pantry, dining table, flatscreen tv and Astro cable tv, living room, sofa, bed for two, washing machine, and a bathroom. Wifi was also available and worked well.
Casa Condo/SGBB located at a very strategic location, only crossing Jl Pudu, you will reach Bukit Bintang the shopping belt, and Jl Alor, one of the prime food heaven in KL. Turn left, you got Pudu Bus Terminal Station. Hang Tuah Mono Rail Station is also very near ( 5-8 minutes walking ).
The owner; Michael and Christina ... kindly showed us how to enjoy KL .... one if their idea was walking to KLCC by feet then reach Merdeka Square or Central Market from KLCC by Monorail ... ( believe me, you could do that as long as it were performed in the late afternoon ).
Anita, the house care taker was very helpful and explained anything to us. She delivered breakfast every morning with choices : fried rice, nasi lemak or bread.
There were some minor problems, like the toilet flush ( quickly repaired while we were there, jams stored in the fridge almost reach its expired date), but therre were only minor compared to the generosity, guidances and tips, location, superb rooms facilities and competitive price we had.
Tips: If you have to go to Pudu Terminal Bus and bring many luggages, it is suggested to rent a cab. Quite expensive : 10 MYR for the very close distance, but you dont have another choice.
Conclusion : SGBB is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yoga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.7 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#17 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
895 reviews
0.7 mi away
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
#1 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
CchineE Hotel
CchineE Hotel
#52 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir
5 Twenty at Ampang Hilir
#11 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
60 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Paloma Inn
Hotel Paloma Inn
#4 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
#9 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6 Jalan Galloway | (Behind Swiss Garden Hotel, Jalan Pudu), Kuala Lumpur 50150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $50 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rent a room (starts from RM130 for single room) or the whole 4 bedroom house (starts from RM550). Sleeps up to 12 pax. Great for families or single travelers. All rooms with aircond and windows. Low density occupation ensures a comfortable stay. Close to Bukit Bintang, Jalan Alor, Twin Towers, Chinatown, Times Square, Little India. Taxis, Monorail and LRT stations nearby. 10mins from KL Sentral and Pudu Sentral. So easy and cheap to get around. We also have food tours, night market tours and cooking class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarang Galloway Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sarang Galloway Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing