We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's recommended for a night stay only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #210 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's recommended for a night stay only”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Check-in and Room:
Checking in was fast and easy. We were located in 26th floor, corner room and facing KL Tower for 2 nights (Deepavali eve). The room have bathtub and nice window, i mean the view in the bathroom were superb. Bed was comfy king size. Overall the room was okay. Only during the night, one of the lighting on the room, fell off and break the glass. Call the receptionist and informed them to make sure sent someone to repair it in the morning. They call around 9.00 am and we asked them to come to the room around 10.00 since we are going out. After 4.00pm, the breaking glass have been clean up but somehow the light did not attached properly and it was a bit dangeorus to just hang out the light without screw it back.

Newspaper and Car park:
We did not receive any newspaper on our 2nd day, only our last day we got our newspaper. Car park was in hotel building with security. Lots of parking and easy access to the elevator.

TV:
Dissapointed. When we checking in the vision four was working fine. After 6pm all the vision four channel suddenly vanished. Almost midnight informed the management but still they did not rectify it until noon. Again, we call the management and they confirm they will take a look. Back to the hotel around 6.00pm still black blank tv. I give up by then. I guess they do not bother with our request.

Location and outside food:
Quite good, with easy access to food, 7-11, public transportation. Although beware with the prices, quite expensive. Just one small chicken wing one mamak restaurant charge me for RM6.00. Only my husband try the hotel food during breakfast and was okay i think ;)

Checking out was also quick. Overall, my kids having fun in the bathtub. Only for me the TV channels was a bit dissapointed. Very little variety IMHO.

We will try if my husband and i want to try again early next year during CNY. See if they will improve on the contra aspect from our end. So for a night stay, the hotel is recommended bot for a long holiday though.

Room Tip: ask for corner room and facing KL Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneMid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear JuneMid,

Thank you for staying with us throughout the long weekend. We are glad to know that your children have enjoyed the amenities that we have provided. We sincerely apologize for the broken glass and vision four issue, we have highlighted to our maintenance department on the safety of our equipment being installed. Due to Deepavali celebration, the newspaper supplier did not send any around the area.

We look forward to be at your service in the near future.

Best regards,

Henry LOO
General Manager
henry.loo@silkahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    322
    273
    100
    74
See reviews for
108
181
51
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Grateful: Location, nearby 7-11, high-floor room & service by 1 particular bellman named Syafiq or Syafie or something like that.

Disappointed: No in-room Wi-Fi. Breakfast spread. Room service. Spoilt keycard reader. Very little variety of tv channels. Unstocked mini-bar.

Would I recommend anyone? No.
Would I come back for this? No.
Should hotel improve? Big YES!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jannah H,
Thank you for staying with us and your constructive comments. We are glad to know that our associate has served you well. We are pleased to inform you that our minibar facilities are provided to allow guest to keep their choice of items. However, our room service are readily prepared to be at your disposal

We have taken note of your annotations and would like to thank you as it would help us in our service improvement.

Best regards,

Henry LOO
General Manager
henry.loo@silkahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed at the Silka Maytower Hotel last week and it was just for one night. Due to shortage of rooms, we were given the apartment - Two twin rooms, 1 shared bathroom and a small kitchenette and living room. The room itself was comfortable but...

Location: Good if you plan to hang around Masjid India for the duration of your trip as it is smack in the middle of the place (Good if you plan to bring your mothers to buy cheap scarves, it is like heaven!) Not recommended if you plan to move around the city as there are so many other better options.
Problems: NO WIFI!! They have a LAN cable but my Macbook Air doesn't have a LAN port so this was a problem.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank spikeninjatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear pikeninjatraveler,

Thank you for selecting Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences as your choice of accommodation. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay and the location have been accommodating. Our free WIFI service is provided in the lobby area for your disposal. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Henry LOO
General Manager
henry.loo@silkahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is so run down,nothing works.The room we were given was not much more than a prison cell. The distance from the bottom of the bed to the wall was less than a foot,you had to walk side ways past.Water leaking from ceiling,a shower that is a hose connected to a heater.Everyone we spoke to was having the same experience,the star rating is far too generous,keep away.
Raafat G.31/10/2013

Room Tip: Take the larger rooms if you have to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raafat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Raafat G,

Thank you for staying with Silka Maytower and your constructive comments. We truly apologize that your stay has been an unsatisfying one. The respective departments have been notified to rectify the problems that occur during your stay. We have taken note of your comments and would like to thank you for your constructive comments which would help us to improve our service.

Best regards,

Henry LOO
General Manager
henry.loo@silkahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Day one the aircon was spoilt, gave us portable aircon for the night, perspire all night long. Day two aircon repairation took 5 long hours and soon after housekeeping took our pillow from home when we were out. Dont understand why they did that. Waited whole night till next morning to retrieve back our pillow. Staff was also clueless, end up they found it with no explanation on how it happened and no apologies given. The lift was outrageous! Pls repair your lift. Need to press the button in the lift ALOT OF TIMES to get it moving. Overall stay was ok. You all can do better then this, abit dissapointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rima L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Rima L,

Thank you for staying with us and your constructive comments. We would like to apologize profusely that the air conditioning system has taken a lot of time to be repaired. We have also highlighted the pillow issue to the housekeeping department to be rectified what was the actual reason that it have been removed.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your valuable comments as it would help us to improve our services. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Best regards,

Henry LOO
General Manager
henry.loo@silkahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

we decided for this hotel because we have stayed here 3 years ago and we couldn't recall any problems during our last stay. but of course everything can change in 3 years, and so to our surprise we got room full of stains, uncleaned, undusted, and with a broken lampshade.
luckily after mentioning it in the reception we were asked to move to other floor, where the room we received was more spacious and luxurious, with a second toilet, a couch with 2 armchairs, and a balcony.
the new room looked cleaner and had a view from the window.
unfortunately we couldn't access the balcony to enjoy it. also, there was a problem with air conditioning, because when i tried to decrease the flow, it made it even stronger instead and was pretty noisy during the night. you can turn the A/C off, but then you are like in the plastic bag because you cannot open any windows or the balcony door.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maksim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear mangeldamine,

Thank you for staying with Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences and spend the time to review our property. We apologize that you have gone through the inconvenience during your stay. We have taken note of your comments and would like to thank you for your constructive comments which would help us to improve our service.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the room that you have been upgraded to. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to be of your service again.

Best regards,

Henry LOO
General Manager
henry.loo@silkahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are stayed with my family twice...I like the location of the hotel and hotel properties...Many indian restarunts are available and near by to all the tour attractions....Breakfast is very limited...we enjoyed the stay...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpmari10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear gpmari10,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences. We would like to express our appreciation for choosing us as your preferred choice of stay.
It is a pleasure to know that our location have been a convenience to you and your family to move about and enjoying the eateries that is conveniently located surrounding our area. We have taken note on your comment on the choice of breakfast and thank you for highlighting it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you again for staying with Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Best regards,

Henry LOO
General Manager
henry.loo@silkahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#120 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premiera Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Premiera Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#87 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lu...
#134 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel WP
Hotel WP
#63 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel City Centre Kuala Lumpur
Quality Hotel City Centre Kuala ...
#223 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Campbell Hotel
Grand Campbell Hotel
#150 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur

Property: Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Address: 7 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia (Formerly Silka Maytower Hotel, Kuala Lumpur)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Maytower, Kuala Lumpur is located in central Kuala Lumpur. The hotel is within walking distance to Merdeka Square, KL Tower, Central Market, Chinatown, the Petronas Twin Towers, Lake Garden and Sogo, making it an ideal base accommodation for exploring Malaysia's most popular tourist attractions, historical, modern and natural sights, shopping, street food, fine dining, and local communities. Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences enjoys easy access to public transportation with the Masjid Jamek LRT Station and Dang Wangi Monorail being just a 5-minute walk away. With 193 rooms and suites, the hotel provides affordable accommodation for families, business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maytower Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Maytower Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing