We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to all touristic areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #208 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Close to all touristic areas”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Best location and service. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We stayed on the 27th floor and had the best view over KL, with a special view of KL minaret tower.
The hotel is a walking distance from 2 monorail stations and to the central market.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya-AbouMattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Maya A,

Thank you for choosing Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences as your choice of stay during your visit in Kuala Lumpur. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and the convenience of the location. Once again, thank you for your stay and constructive comments.

Your Sincerely,

Henry Loo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    321
    273
    100
    73
See reviews for
107
182
51
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. We were upgrated to deluxe room from standard room. I am kind of confused as to what would the standard rooms be cause these rooms seemed fairly 'standard'. Anyways the rooms were clean and fairly new. We got the 28th floor but there is nothing great view to write about.

Other than the well kept rooms, the service was good too. The reception was quite helpful with the travel advise, cab booking etc. The location is good - quite close to Masjid Jamek LRT which is a quite good option for travel.

The restaurant was a mixed experience. The food was good. But the service was not great. We asked for fresh orange juice and were given canned juice. When asked the lady was kind to accept that there was a mistake and she got us fresh juice. We asked for veg fried rice which was really good. But it was topped with egg (which was fine by us but some vegetarians don't expect egg over veg rice and then it was accompanied by veg crackers (which we realized was actually prawn crackers)

But all said in terms of an option if I were to stay in KL again I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No great views even from the highest floor. Make sure you know how to get there. The road is not fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kituw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear kituw,

Thank you for staying with us and your valuable accounts. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay here with Silka Maytower Hotel & Service Residences. We will take note on the vegetarians’ preference in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Yours sincerely

Henry Loo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Terrible... where do I start?? Although the rooms were seemingly nice, they smelled so bad - like mouldy/musty... At first glance the room looked quite nice, but several small details let it down, like the mould in the bathroom and yellow discolouration around the shower/tiles. The sink was also riddled with mould.

The reception staff we encountered were also extremely rude and unhelpful. I expect way better service from a place like this.

There's a nice looking restaurant in the lobby which we decided to eat in. We stood there for ages waiting to be seated. Again the staff were rude, unattentive and not once did I even get a smile. It was as if my mere presence was an inconvenience for them...

But my biggest issue with this place is the location. If you've been to KL you know the train is the only way. Despite all taxi's having signs that state "this is a metered taxi, haggling is prohibited", there's not a single taxi driver in KL that will use the meter. They try and extort 30MR for a 6MR cab ride so train is it. This makes transport difficult particuarly at night. It's probably a 10 min walk to the nearest station.

In all that, we only encounted one nice staff member. A girl who is stationed outside the front doors and arranges tours/transport. She was so incredibly nice and friendly. They need to put her on the front desk!

They have wifi but only in the lobby, no access from rooms.

Defintely won't return based on staff rudeness alone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Channy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Channy M,

Thank you for your recent stay at Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences and taking time to share your feedback in TripAdvisor!

First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies on the inconveniences that you have experienced during your recent stay with us. As General Manager of this hotel, I do take your feedback and concerns seriously and am working with the Managers towards customer service and facilities improvement. We looking forward that you will be able to accord us another opportunity to be of service to you on your next visit, and please do contact me directly at henry.loo@silkahotels.com for your next visit.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Henry LOO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you have only one day to stay in KL, Silka is a good place with reasonable prices. It is only 20 min walk from the KL Tower and also from the Petronas Twin Towers. But I have to mention a negative experience: we had to leave a deposit and because of the early check-out it was not repaid, so travellers, pay attention!

Room Tip: Choose higher level and you will see the Petronas Twin Towers from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Technogracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Technogracia,

Thank you for staying with us and your valuable comments. It is unfortunate to learn that your deposit was not return during the early check-out, this is a serious matter to us. Do send me your details of stay at henry.loo@silkahotels.comfor me to look into this matter.

Yours sincerely

Henry Loo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Rooms are smelly, view from the room is directly onto a dingy block of flats. Swimming pool has 4 chairs ( for 30 floors of hotel). There are no pool towels and despite the request we did not receive any and we are still waiting for them. Telephone in the pool is not working so you have to go down to reception to speak to the staff! This hotel is a total disgrace I will make sure not to come back here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisites81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Chrisites81,

Thank you for staying with us and your constructive comments. It is with regret that you had to go through the inconvenience during your stay. We have looked into this matter and addressed them accordingly. Once again, thank you again for staying with Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Yours sincerely

Henry Loo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was indeed a nice experience staying at your hotel since the location is smack in the middle of the hustling and bustling of Masjid India, SOGO, Pertama and Jln TAR.
I was staying at level 22 and upon walking out from the lift, i was greeted by a stale food left on the corridor and i thought it would be cleared very soon. Even after few hours, the tray was still there. The service overall is good though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac_Nadzri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaMaytower, General Manager at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Mac_Nadzri,

Thank you for staying with Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur and your constructive comment. We have highlighted this issue to the respective department in ensuring that corridors are to be kept clean and tidy at all times. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

Henry Loo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Was in KL for work and came across this hotel. This is a average hotel with average prices. The rooms are very small and the service is terrible. None of the receptionists understand English and the rooms are barely cleaned. My room had a lot of electricity problems and the breaker kept going off every 8 hours. They moved my room but the room they gave me reeked of cigarattes.

The business center is small and smells weird. You have to pay for wifi even in the business center and also pay for internet access on their computers. That was probably the worst part of the hotel. Would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a non-smoking room. The smoking rooms smell terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spuhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Spuhh

First of all, please accept my profound apologies on the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay with us. As General Manager of this hotel, I do take this seriously and am working towards service improvement. I do hope you will be able to accord us another opportunity to be of service to you on your next visit, and please do contact me directly at henry.loo@silkahotels.com for your next visit.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

Yours sincerely
Henry Loo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#115 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel WP
Hotel WP
#61 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premiera Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Premiera Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#88 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel City Centre Kuala Lumpur
Quality Hotel City Centre Kuala ...
#216 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Campbell Hotel
Grand Campbell Hotel
#153 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
6.1 mi away
Silka Cheras Kuala Lumpur
Silka Cheras Kuala Lumpur
#161 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur

Property: Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Address: 7 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia (Formerly Silka Maytower Hotel, Kuala Lumpur)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Maytower, Kuala Lumpur is located in central Kuala Lumpur. The hotel is within walking distance to Merdeka Square, KL Tower, Central Market, Chinatown, the Petronas Twin Towers, Lake Garden and Sogo, making it an ideal base accommodation for exploring Malaysia's most popular tourist attractions, historical, modern and natural sights, shopping, street food, fine dining, and local communities. Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences enjoys easy access to public transportation with the Masjid Jamek LRT Station and Dang Wangi Monorail being just a 5-minute walk away. With 193 rooms and suites, the hotel provides affordable accommodation for families, business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maytower Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Maytower Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing