We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #207 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed March 19, 2013

was ok, rooms nice big old, breakfast very nice, easy walk to chinatown, little india and twin towers as well as the radio tower, close to trains.
hotel cheese cake special oversold unavailable,
make sure u use the trains to the airport, the hotel taxis are expensive.
specially booked for gym but no aircon, and too hot to do any training

Room Tip: ask to see the towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear filip l,

Warm Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your feedback on your recent stay. First and foremost, we would like to apologise for the inconveniences that you had encountered.

We are pleased to share with you that we now have a travel and tour agency counter that provides taxi services on metered fare basis and have also rectified the air-conditioning issue in the gymnasium for the convenience of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your constructive comments and we look forward to having you back to the hotel whenever your travel brings you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 873 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good location and not a bad hotel for a short stop over. I managed to get a great deal through agoda.com. The rooms are big but need upgrading, and the general level of cleanliness could be improved. The restaurant is quite nice with great Chicken Satay (expected for a hotel in malaysia)...Be careful at night the area doesn't feel particularly safe and it's easy to get lost

Room Tip: Don't go for the top floor apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Matthew L,

Warm Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

We have duly noted your comments and the suggestions of improvement have been highlighted to the hotel’s management. For our guests’ convenience, we provide maps at our Reception Desk and our friendly concierge associates are happy to advise guests of the places of attraction around Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences. We are also very delighted to learn that you enjoyed our popular Chicken Satay.

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

As a birthday present for my mum I took her on a trip to Asia. We were both really looking forward to this trip for a very long time and I have been saving for quite a while. We stayed the Silka Maytower for 5 nights and the day before our departure I discovered that $400 euros was missing from my bag! I suspect that it might have been the cleaning staff that searched through our luggage while we were away from our room but it could have been anyone from the hotel staff with access to the card to open our room's door.
We spoke to the manager and the police but since we left I haven't had any update on the investigation outcome and emails that I tried to send keep bouncing back. I'm hoping to get a response through here and that something will be done to make up for what happened to us. Hotel management and security should be able to make sure that there are no thiefs amongst their staff so as guests we can be safe!
Room itself was dark, dirty and smelled of dust. Loud at night, cigarette smoke in the corridors.
Terrible experience and the worse start to our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karolinastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Karolinastravels,

Warm Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

First and foremost, it is with regret we noted the loss of your money in the room.

We have taken all the necessary steps to locate your money and a thorough investigation was carried out, which you are aware of it. At Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences, security and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance, we have placed CCTV on every floor and a Safe Deposit Box in every guest room for our guests’ usage and convenience. In addition, our staff has undergone training and the recruitment process was done with stringent standards. Our Duty Manager and Security Officer had personally attended to you and assisted by accompanying you to make the police report and we are still awaiting the result.

We have duly noted your comments with regards to the room conditions as well as the other areas highlighted and actions have been taken by the managers concerned for immediate rectification.

Please be rest assured that we will be in touch with you on the progress of the investigation.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel is still in reasonable shape and I would go there again, as it was cheap (150 MYR / night, standard room) and clean. However, there are some drawbacks that you should keep in mind before booking: Wifi is only available in the lobby and the rooms only have LAN cables. Speed is about 50kb/s down and up (wifi and cable!), so be prepaired to wait some time. Moreover, I missed a hair dryer in the bathroom and the mattresses are only 1,80m long. The hotel rooms are located starting on the 21st floor which means you will have a good view on KL! The pool, located at level 8, was in a clean condition and used by only few hotel guests. Breakfast buffet is served on ground floor and costs 28++ MYR (30% discount for hotel guests). I have not tried it as there are plenty of other options in KL.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear 84mare84,

Warm Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

Your remark on our internet was due to heavy internet traffic usage at the hotel and has been highlighted to IT department for rectification. For guest convenience, a unit of hair dryer is placed in every guest room as it is one of the standard room amenities offered.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hotel is fairly clean. My family had fun 2 nights stay. We were given free upgrade to Deluxe Room. Location is great with food and shopping and train stn all nearby. Staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was ok. The room was clean. Only the corridors leading to the rooms need upgrading. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuleSam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear JuleSam26,

Warm Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for staying with us and we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to having you back for another memorable hotel experience whenever your travel brings you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The pictures of the rooms look big on the internet as they use mirrors to make it look large. My was too small, not as clean and smelled bad. The service at front desk was poor! The hotel was not value for money. The only good thing about the hotel was the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AroundWorldIn80Years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear AroundWorldIn80Years,

Warm Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for your comments. First and foremost, we would like to apologise for the shortcomings that you had encountered.

As a value-led hotel, we have 4 different room categories namely, Standard, Deluxe, Business Suite and Serviced Apartment. Our Standard Rooms are aimed for the value conscious travellers and a minimal upgrade charges is applicable for guests who wish to upgrade their experience. We have taken note of your comments in regards to Front Office service and necessary trainings have been conducted and issues are rectified by the departments concerned.

We hope our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavour and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is my second stay in Silka Maytower; and i can tell you that i am fully staisfied with the stay. I didn't expect any special treatment so, silka was just great for me to have a comfortable stay and stone's throw away from Shopping. It's located within Jln. Masjid India (which may look like a slum but far from it.) which is excellent if your preference is to travel KL via the train system.

Eating india local food is excellent; there's a 7/11 nearby plus fast food markets, KFC, McD's, Nando's is just a stone throw away.

I'm looking forward to stay here again for March. I hope you had your card readers in the lift fixed by then.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 25th floor. Close to the lift 2506. Very Quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear 75TK,

Warm Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for your continuous support and choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Please be rest assured that our maintenance team is rectifying the card reader in the lift as guest’s security and convenience is of the utmost importance.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back for another memorable hotel experience whenever your travel brings you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#106 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Campbell Hotel
Grand Campbell Hotel
#227 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regency Hotel Kuala Lumpur
The Regency Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#235 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mandarin Court Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Court Hotel Kuala Lumpu...
#156 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Frenz Hotel
Frenz Hotel
#141 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
K Hotel
K Hotel
#265 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur

Address: 7 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia (Formerly Silka Maytower Hotel, Kuala Lumpur)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $31 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Maytower, Kuala Lumpur is located in central Kuala Lumpur. The hotel is within walking distance to Merdeka Square, KL Tower, Central Market, Chinatown, the Petronas Twin Towers, Lake Garden and Sogo, making it an ideal base accommodation for exploring Malaysia's most popular tourist attractions, historical, modern and natural sights, shopping, street food, fine dining, and local communities. Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences enjoys easy access to public transportation with the Masjid Jamek LRT Station and Dang Wangi Monorail being just a 5-minute walk away. With 193 rooms and suites, the hotel provides affordable accommodation for families, business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maytower Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Maytower Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing