We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Centre Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #201 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“City Centre Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at the Silka Mayflower just for the night before departing on an International Flight.
Check in was fine with everything being completed efficiently and promptly, they even upgraded my room.
Rooms are slightly on the small side, Bathrooms are nicely appointed.
Tea and Coffee facilities are as normal, Air Conditioning works fine, Internet by Lan Cable only and very slow.
All in all not a huge amount to really say about this Hotel, it was ok, did not shine or stick out in any particular area

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philctay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear philctay,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for staying at our hotel and communicating your feedback to us.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Your remark on our slow internet was due to heavy internet traffic usage at the hotel and has been highlighted to IT department for rectification.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    321
    269
    98
    73
See reviews for
106
181
50
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

When we arrived we waited over 1 hour to get our room because the staff was very busy at reception. We left the baggages and went out to visit the city. When we back about midnight and switched on the lights and we saw the nightmare! There were lots of cockroaches on our bed. They also were found in the bathroom. We reported this to hotel manager and they told us that it is normal on the higher floors!!!! Do you believe it? We got another room a few floors lower and there was another suprise. The toilet wasn't worked. They repaired this after one hour, so we spent over 2 hours fights with awful cockroaches, rude staff and broken toilet. Never, ever Maytower again!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kinga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Jamajka11,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for your comments on your stay in March 2012 at our hotel. First of all, we would like to apologize for the shortcomings that you had encountered.

We have undergone thorough pest control exercises in March to control pests in the neighbouring area and had placed leaflets in every guests' room as an effort to inform our guests with regards to the situation. Please be rest assured that the issue has been controlled and steps have been taken to mitigate future occurrences as we do not compromise with quality and comfort for our valued guests. Furthermore, our hotel’s personnel are being trained from time to time in our efforts to meet guests’ expectations.

Once again, thank you for communicating your feedback and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Vistited May tower hotel in October 3rd week with my family.Hotel location is very good but the quality of food and varity is not good.One cannot choose much from there menu.Location is nice so you can go near by resturants and dine in thats not an issue at all.
Room size is quiet satisfactory and one can choose this hotel keeping location in mind as it is centarlly located.Main attaction places are near by itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhishek6677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Abhishek 6677,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for communicating your feedback to us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and the convenience of our location makes us the preferred hotel in the area for tourist and business travellers alike.

For our guests dining pleasure, the hotel’s restaurant, La Maison offers selections of local and international favourites such as Salad, Malaysian Classic, Pasta, Steak, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian, Dessert, Children’s menu and many more to suit individual preference.

We look forward to having you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Was scratching heads looking up and down for hotel near Embassy. Finally found a decent hotel with reasonable price. Hotel come with semi serviced Residence. Well maintained and staff was friendly. 7E was nearby and good choice if you are going to any embassies in this area.
Room is clean and big enough for us.

Room Tip: Near to embassies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear MarcusOoi,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences,

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel and taking the time to write your feedback on your recent stay.

We are honoured that you had a wonderful experience throughout your stay as this will motivate our team to strive for hospitality excellence for our guests. Our hotel’s strategic location and easy access to public transportation services makes us the preferred hotel in the area for tourist and business travellers alike.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Checked in with my fiance because she was organising an event in the hotel on a monday morning. In the morning when i was about to shower, realised that there was water disruption due to pipe leakage. This was only informed when i called the reception enquiring what is the problem. I was asked to either bathe in the swimming pool or use the additional 4 bottles of mineral water to shower. I was furious as to why didnt the hotel inform me by calling when the problem arised at 3 am. Very badly managed and very unhappy with the hospitality of the workers in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaya_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Jaya_81,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience that you have encountered. The shortcoming that had happened was beyond expectation, nonetheless our team has managed to rectify the situation and minimize inconveniences.

Our associates were duly trained to brief our guests about the situation; regrettably that was not your case. We have highlighted your comments to the respective managers. Please be rest assured all preventive measures have been taken to mitigate future occurrences as we do not compromise with quality and comfort for our valued guests.

We hope our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavour and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Al Khartum, Sudan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice in Sep and October 2012. The hotel is decent not 5 star quality but very good value for money, with all the basics. It is a 5 RM taxi ride to KLCC. Room is spacious and AC system is great. Only draw back was the quality of the cleaning service which was not at its best. We had minor issues with our TV and the maintenance guy could not fix it until the last day. Breakfast is basic but the food taste is good.

Overall, this is a great hotel if you have a limited budget, and the location is very good as well.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the main street as the back rooms do not have great views. Our room was facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HammamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear HammamS,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for staying with us. First of all, we apologized for the shortcomings you have encountered. Our Housekeeping & Maintenance personnel are currently undergoing training to ensure a better service is provided to our guests.

The location of the hotel and easy access to public transportation services, makes us an ideal choice for tourist and business travellers alike to explore Kuala Lumpur’s popular tourist attractions, historical, shopping, street food, dining and local communities.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the
near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked this hotel for my KL trip with my friend but at the last minute she wasn't able to come so I had the room all to myself. Standard room was small as some of the reviewers said but aside from that, it was good enough for me.
Breakfast buffet was decent enough. Room service girl was very polite and also the front desk staff. My room was cleaned everyday, paper delivered to my door every morning.
Over all, I was satisfied with the hotel and its services and the price I paid for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the twin towers...mine was facing the other way
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheffyd522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Cheffyd522,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

We are honoured to have you as our guest and it is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As a value-led hotel, we strive to give excellent service to our guests’ and by offering different room categories targeting value-conscious leisure and business travellers.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our hotel.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#120 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lu...
#130 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel WP
Hotel WP
#64 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel City Centre Kuala Lumpur
Quality Hotel City Centre Kuala ...
#224 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Campbell Hotel
Grand Campbell Hotel
#150 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premiera Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Premiera Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#80 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur

Property: Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Address: 7 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia (Formerly Silka Maytower Hotel, Kuala Lumpur)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Maytower, Kuala Lumpur is located in central Kuala Lumpur. The hotel is within walking distance to Merdeka Square, KL Tower, Central Market, Chinatown, the Petronas Twin Towers, Lake Garden and Sogo, making it an ideal base accommodation for exploring Malaysia's most popular tourist attractions, historical, modern and natural sights, shopping, street food, fine dining, and local communities. Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences enjoys easy access to public transportation with the Masjid Jamek LRT Station and Dang Wangi Monorail being just a 5-minute walk away. With 193 rooms and suites, the hotel provides affordable accommodation for families, business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maytower Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Maytower Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing