We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and run down hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #201 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
229 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Dirty and run down hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have stayed a few years ago also in this hotel, nothing great but good rooms and a great breakfast. So we decided to go back. In these two years the hotel has gone from 4 stars to 1.
The elevators take fore ever, than you enter in shabby corridors which are filthy! The "room" more like a closet was so small that our suitcases did not fit? It was extremely dirty, the carpet was covered with pure filth, the back sides from the beds were dirty, many stains on the sheets. A window that was 10 centimeters and small flies in the waste bins. In one word: horrible.
I went down and did my complain, well nobody really cared and did not listen, they were too busy with checking in others. Went up again, no hot water, the toilet kept running and called the reception. A maintenance man came, with the most dirty shoes so the bathroom was even dirtier. He turned on the tab, here there is hot water..there was none? Toilet doesn't run..did not believe my ears. Then he called his manager and said that we were talking nonsense. I called immediately while the maintenance guy was busy repairing the toilet and hot water???
We were moved to another room, we got a huge suite due to the inconveniences etc. Was nice of them but now we got 1 kingsize bed instead of twins and did not sleep well, suite was also very old, but clean. There was a leaflet in that suite that stated that they fumigate the room once a week due to cockroaches? so if you saw them running in your room, than you could call the reception. Or if you got skin rashes??? Outside in the hall there was much food from room service, old plates and dirty dishes. The next morning and around check out time, it was still standing there. We understood the cockroach problem. Breakfast was so bad! everybody was complaining, a fried egg took 15 minutes and there was a line for a few meters. There were only a few croissants, and new ones took 20 minutes. But everybody wanted these, because the rest was tasteless or finished. The coffee was the worst ever!
4 stars? unbelievable. For this price you can get a real 3-4 star hotel. This was so bad, can not recommend this even it would cost 5 euros.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessavanweelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Tessavanweelie,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for staying with us again and communicating your feedback to us. First of all, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment and inconveniences you have encountered. The shortcomings that you have pointed out have been identified to the respective managers for necessary rectification.

Please be advised that we have placed leaflets in every guests' room as an effort to inform our guests' that we are undergoing pest control exercises to control pests breeding in the neighbouring area to provide better guests' experiences in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    321
    270
    99
    73
See reviews for
106
181
51
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was staying at the Maytower on business for a fortnight recently. The location was ok for my temporary place of employment, but not if you want proximity to any action in KL. Due to the heat it'd be a taxi ride away to almost everything - at least only RM10-15.
In short this hotel is run down. It's in a need of a makeover.
Rather than write war and peace, I'll just highlight a few of the issues that affected me.
1: The 'standard' room I was first checked in to was scandalously small. There was a 10" gap between bed and wall to access the other half of the room. Virtually no hanging space and bathroom I couldn't turn in. I'm not huge- 5'10" and certainly not overweight.
I complained the next morning and thankfully they moved me, but only because I wouldn't leave them alone. The next 'deluxe' room was of a normal standard. Reasonable size and no complaints there.
2: Stained carpets, curtains and broken bathroom fixtures don't help the look.
3: Room service meals are poor quality, better taking your chances nearby - I was deeply unimpressed although mercifully thankful the meal I had never made me sick at least.
4: You have to constantly chase reception to do anything. Whether it be to collect laundry, replenish laundry bags, bring an ice bucket (which was a plastic bag with ice, not exactly a bucket).
5: No wifi in rooms, only lobby which is thankfully free for guests.
6: No bar. The restaurant serves drinks but if you have a drink alone you'll be feeling obliged to eat and occupying a table of 4 minimum.
7: Half my stay was during Ramadan and this hotel basically only caters for the Muslim guests during this time. The whole restaurant is turned into a makeshift family banquet arena. And if you're not eating the banquet then you can forget ordering off their menu. That's if they can even seat you. My biggest gripe was there was not a guest to be seen during this time - the hotel function as a public restaurant and the place turns in to a car park for hungry Muslims. As mentioned above, room service is not a viable alternative.
8: An almost constant stream of mosquitoes in my room, surprising me considering I was 28 floors up.
9: Not enough channels on the tv - basic package here for sure but that's not a huge deal I suppose.
10: Free breakfast was average but it's free so what do you expect.

On the plus side, the gym was reasonable and the door staff were friendly and courteous. Reception staff weren't rude exactly, just forgetful.

I wouldn't recommend this place to friends unless they were getting a really cheap rate...and their expectations weren't particularly high.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraseyfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Fraseyfp,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for communicating your feedback to us, as these will help us in our mission to constantly improve to serve our valued guests better. First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced.

Your observations have been highlighted and necessary trainings have been conducted and issues are rectified by the departments concerned. To meet our guest expectations, we have different types of rooms that value for money that will suit individual needs.

I hope our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavor and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

First experience during reservation was great. Had the pleasure of booking a friend in direct as well as experiencing reserving through agoda.

Jaja was great in providing help and making sure that the reservation was firm. With this first impression, you can't help but to look forward to experiencing the stay at this hotel. Check-in was however different, it felt like talking to robots. However, i would give them the 5 star smile effort, u will always get a smile at the end of the conversation.

The rooms itself, we reserved a deluxe. Nothing special, a typical hotel room layout with typical amenities. Make sure you tell housekeeping to refill you with items that you do need, if you're the sort of person who couldn't be bothered to call reception and WAIT for the item to be brought to your room (the waiting is quite sometime). Our 3 night stay was uneventful and the room pose no special problems that may disrupt our comfortable stay. Beware of the air condition, you do have to play with it to get the room temperature right. Everytime the a/c would be turned on, the room would be like the north pole.

The breakfast was average in the range of food (not big but enough variety) offered and of service. You better get there early though, they stop re-filling the stations at 9am. Don't expect the service to be 5 star, breakfast periods are a mad rush and do sympathize the staff.

Check out was very quick. Just tell them your room number and you're gone.

Location was again average. You do have to walk quite a bit to the nearest LRT station - Masjid Jamek. You even have a choice of which path to take; 1. being a hassle free direct route to the station or 2. being in a market area where you can spend a good 3-4 hours shopping for good copies of watches, bags, sunnies and women's accessories aplenty. However, Masjid Jamek is a great station (an interchange), it gets you to hang tuah station where you can walk directly (literally two minutes by the calculations of the app on my handphone) to berjaya times square, bukit bintang area. KL sentral is two stops away. Even the notorious Petaling street markets is one stop away (Pasar seni Station), well..you can even make the 10min walk if you're fit for Masjid Jamek station.

In other words, the location saves the integrity of the hotel.

Room Tip: Agoda prices made its value of stay excellent. Do ask for rooms facing the twin towers. Do ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 75TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear 75TK,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences and for sharing your very fair observations. We have taken note of your comments in regards to housekeeping and the breakfast period and will address this with the relevant departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Decent location, small lobby, tiny rooms. Not pleased at all.
There is less than 30 cm clearance at the end of the bed to the wall. And it is very difficult to walk past. 5 coat hangers for 2 people, 3 small drawers and the wardrobe is only 60 cm wide so the worst clothes storage I have ever had in my entire life of travelling.
We asked to upgrade even offering to pay, were told yes, came back early today to move and were told it was not possible, so we have wasted a day of our holiday.
At 4pm, the room still hadn't been cleaned, the housekeeping manager said "maybe" when I asked if it was going to be cleaned that day.
Only 6 - yes, 6 sun beds for the entire hotel. No pool towels until 5 pm today, loads of people sitting on the bare floor because there is insufficient seating. The sun does not get onto the pool area as it is on the 8th floor and there are rooms above.

It is only just above a true budget hotel standard and without the budget price.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, or insist on an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiqtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Susiqtoo,

We appreciate your feedback. Please accept our apologies for your unpleasant experience on your recent stay with us.

Rest assured we will address the service shortfalls highlighted in your feedback.

Regards
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is just located next to Ramadan bazaars near masjid India so it's perfect for those intending to shop for Hari Raya ( to mark the end of fasting month for the Muslims). There are loads of food around the area so you will never go hungry. Sogo shopping centre is only about 10 mins away.
The deluxe room is clean and spacious although service wise there is a lot more to be desired. We requested for baby cot and extra pillows but it never came. When we first got into the room, no toiletries and towels were available but got it soon after as we saw the housekeeping lady and asked directly from her.
Not much options for the sahur buffet for those who fast during the Ramadan period. Kinda of disappointed with the lack of variety. But that aside, we had a great stay and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe room as it is much bigger and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolnymph2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Nyms43,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur and your complimentary feedback.

We definitely receive many positive comments not only through TripAdvisor but also from our internal Guest Survey Questionnaire on the excellent location of the Hotel which is one of our plus points.

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Book a Standard room and request for upgrade to Deluxe room with minimal charges, assure to call first to confirm the charges due to it depends on their occupancy, Deluxe room clean, enough amenities and value for money cos their Standard room is a bit small. Location wise its the best, everything is just a walking distance, LRT, Bus station, Shopping Malls, Food Court, Banks, Lot of fabric shops etc. Every Saturday there is a night market behind Hotel which is very long and lots of thing to choose, bargain and buy. To go anywhere by taxi assure it is the one using meter unless you agree with the price that they charged. To KLIA or LCCT the normal charge is around RM 80 to RM 90 per car for 1 hour drive inclusive of tol charges. Do try the city and country tour it will cover the whole Kuala Lumpur interesting areas. Marvelous pool area with sauna and gym which you can order some snack or drink to accompany your lazy days. Breakfast with lots of choice which you cant resist eating. Room service is 24 hours.

Room Tip: Request for Deluxe room with bathtub, whcih not all Deluxe room has
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear NYMS43,

Thank you for choosing the Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences as your preferred accommodation venue whilst in Kuala Lumpur.
Your positive comments is very much appreciated and we hope we can be of service to you again when & if ever you are back in Kuala Lumpur.

Warm regards / Wong Siew Peng - Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The room were not clean, and the bed linen were spotted. The bathroom was ok. The building is very old, and it definitely needs renovation. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear GiuseppeGT,

Thank you for posting in your feedback which is noted. We have taken it up with our Housekeeping Division to ensure it does not recur.


Regards / Wong Siew Peng - Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#120 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel WP
Hotel WP
#64 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
182 reviews
6.1 mi away
Silka Cheras Kuala Lumpur
Silka Cheras Kuala Lumpur
#147 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Campbell Hotel
Grand Campbell Hotel
#156 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel City Centre Kuala Lumpur
Quality Hotel City Centre Kuala ...
#221 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lu...
#133 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur

Property: Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Address: 7 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia (Formerly Silka Maytower Hotel, Kuala Lumpur)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Maytower, Kuala Lumpur is located in central Kuala Lumpur. The hotel is within walking distance to Merdeka Square, KL Tower, Central Market, Chinatown, the Petronas Twin Towers, Lake Garden and Sogo, making it an ideal base accommodation for exploring Malaysia's most popular tourist attractions, historical, modern and natural sights, shopping, street food, fine dining, and local communities. Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences enjoys easy access to public transportation with the Masjid Jamek LRT Station and Dang Wangi Monorail being just a 5-minute walk away. With 193 rooms and suites, the hotel provides affordable accommodation for families, business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maytower Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Maytower Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing