We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good..but expected Better one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #208 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good..but expected Better one”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I had a great time in Malaysia last December. Stayed @May Tower though my travel agent.
It is a good Hotel. The Hotel Staffs were nice. They were cordial, polite and helpful. The room was quite clean. But it was not specious enough to make movement freely. The worst thing was adjacent doors with the next room. It has no lock. So door adjacent to my next room is easily reachable. An Iranian family was there. They seem to forget to close the door in their part. So two door side by side without any lock..Open easily. I have never seen kind of system before. One night I have found the next door open. I have noticed the reception but nothing happened. We felt unsecured. Hotel management should review this system.
The nearest LRT metro station is quite a long distance from the Hotel. It was masjid jamek. We have to walk almost 15-20mins every time to reach there. After whole day walk here and there in the city it was quite boring and tiring.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arka007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spwongKL, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the adjacent room with no lock, the door knobs facing inwards are dead locks meaning the person in the next room will not have access to your door unless it is intentionally opened. The Masjid Jamek LRT station is actually just 5 minutes walk from the Hotel and hopefully if and when you do make a return visit to KL and stay with us, we can show you the shorter route.

Warm regards
Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    323
    273
    102
    75
See reviews for
110
182
51
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

A nice Hotel for KL standards,Igot a super rate through Agoda but no way would I have paid the full 120€ per night.
Lets just pretend I did , then I would complain that the windows were filthy , the carpet has seen better days,the mini bar was near empty and had a long discussion to get them to re.fill and explain it was´nt me who had emptied it, and found the reception crew rather stuck up , actually got the imrpession I was looked down upon because I was a " Agoda" client.
The rest of the Hotel crew were excellent, very helpfull and very polite and always ready to help , even nearly running away before I could tip them !
The restaurant is far far to small for a Hotel this size with 30 floors and god knows how many rooms, I have seen the same size restaurant in hotels a fifth the size of this one , The swiss inn for example .And 1 problem that irritated me with the breakfast buffet was that if hakf way through your breakfast, you got up to get more coffe, juice or whatever you come back and your plate has been taken ! , ok no problem because you just go and get more but its rather irritating all the same , surely the staf should keep a eye on who is where etc.
For the money I paid ( 40€ for a deluxe) it was obvioulsy a great deal and maybe I should nt complain but its still meant to be a 4 star hotel and need a few big adjustments

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWho43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spwongKL, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. For clarification, the in-room minibar is by choice left empty as we offer guests through our mini-bar drink list menu the choice to order. Room service will then send the order up. The Hotel actually occupies only 10 floors of the building. The lower floors belong to outright owners who do not have access to the hotel floors. Hence the size of the coffeehouse which can comfortably accommodate our room inventory.

Warm regards
Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Well, just to try around other hotel since me myself work in a 5star property. At first i thought that it will just be another boring and dirty place because the price range is same like i get in bukitmerah laketown resort and rosa pasadena cameron which is both are seriously need major renovation. but this maytower hotel really exceed my expectation. User friendly website. nice staff, got free upgrade to deluxe room since original room was fully book.. room interior for deluxe is almost identical like in other 4 star property. And clean room.overall, really value for my money. The cons, just a tick tick tick noise from the floor above me during day time. nighttime its gone. i believe its come from the office which is situated above my floor..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken7307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Its a good and budgeted property in Kualalampur. Standard room are bit smaller but delux rooms are quite comfortable.....only problem for indians would be with india food. which is not available in the hotel. but at walking distance 1-2 indian restaurents are located in masjid india locality.

Room Tip: Select a front side delux room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhishekAgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The rooms were Ok in terms of hygine but were small.Any way if your purpose is to visit the country for overnight sleep it is ok.MRT was close approx 10 minutes walking. Do not opt for Brakfast as the resturant were breakfast is served is too small compared to hotel size.Also there is almost no Indian vegetarian dish in breakfast menu.you can go to local market for breakfast where lot of south indian dishes were avilable.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on upper floor.we got it on 25th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohit_chabbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

A lot has already been said about the crumpled up tiny standard rooms in the hotel, so let me just leave that point and jot down something else.... Ummm... Well actually there is nothing else to say.... The rooms are seriously so small that I didn't get time to think anything else about the room. But it was just until I opened the tiny window of that tiny room, and saw the glistening KL tower right outside the window, good enough to divert my mind from the tiny room. Hotel is at a good location, far far away from the airport, but very much in proximity to the attractions like KL Tower, Twin Towers and shopping places like the China Town etc. I also considered up-gradation to the Deluxe room, which was indeed a better option, around 53 RM more than the standard room, but since I had to stay over just for one night, I decided against it.. In the end.. It doesn't even matter!!!

Room Tip: Better go for deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noorat
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed twice at the Maytower, early and late January. Went Air Asia from Melb to Kl LCCT terminal. caught a Skybus for 8 MR to KL Sentral and then a LRT train to Masjid Jamek, 2 stops , from there left for 200 metres, then looking in direction of 11. O'clock we could see the Maytower Hotel, all up a 5 minute walk with luggage from the station. Hotel was excellent, gee A$50 a double, you can't complain, bed and ensuite, gym and swimming pool and location, 5 minute walk to the Petronas towers and 5 minute walk to Sogo , a mammoth department store. Located in an Indian precinct, where a there is a multitudebofveating places for breakfast, luck and tea, all prices to suit your budget. Staff at the hotel assisted us to where to go , supplying maps and patience, also suggested we go to Malacca for the day, which we did, all by bus for about MR10 from the main bus depot, easy to get to, just ask tHem at reception. So, a big tick Maytower Hotel,mew will stay there again,me specially as KL is a great spot to travel to Europe or other places in Asia, if you want to break your journey. we headed to India and Qatar, so found staying an KL a bonus, a great place to visit.

Room Tip: If you are nice to them, they may be able to offer an upgrade, we were given the upgrade, as we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NooratBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#116 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel WP
Hotel WP
#59 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premiera Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Premiera Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#88 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Silka Cheras Kuala Lumpur
Silka Cheras Kuala Lumpur
#164 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lu...
#138 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mandarin Court Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Court Hotel Kuala Lumpu...
#140 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur

Property: Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Address: 7 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia (Formerly Silka Maytower Hotel, Kuala Lumpur)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Maytower, Kuala Lumpur is located in central Kuala Lumpur. The hotel is within walking distance to Merdeka Square, KL Tower, Central Market, Chinatown, the Petronas Twin Towers, Lake Garden and Sogo, making it an ideal base accommodation for exploring Malaysia's most popular tourist attractions, historical, modern and natural sights, shopping, street food, fine dining, and local communities. Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences enjoys easy access to public transportation with the Masjid Jamek LRT Station and Dang Wangi Monorail being just a 5-minute walk away. With 193 rooms and suites, the hotel provides affordable accommodation for families, business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maytower Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Maytower Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing