We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Palm Lodge
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I really enjoyed my time at travellers palm! Was in an 8 bed dorm which was fine. Basic but with 3 fans and air con, no complaints!
Free WiFi very good!
Showers were nice and kept clean.
Free basic breakfast available just toast and cereal, was great to start the day!
Suzi is lovely and very helpful! I had to leave early the morning of my departure so she insisted on on checkin me out the night before in case she missed me in the morning! This ensureed I got my deposit back! Fantastic!
Only downside is I got bitten to death at night! So recommend some good spray!!
Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 140 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Well, after many hours in a plane I arrived to this place really tired. I had reservation. The staff was really rude to me, especially when she figured out that I was from latino america. After that she ask me: please don't eat others people food or steal their staff.. The problem seems to be me, because I saw her smiling all the time to other guests.
the place is full of rules and the word FORBIDDEN is everywhere.
There are also children in the hostel that play in your bed when you are not there and mess up your belongings.
For me it wasn't a nice experience, I am aware that its a cheap place, but not always means rude staff and long faces.
definitely I wont come back here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This guesthouse is in a great location near to bars, Julan Alor, the monorail. It's an easy walk to everything worth seeing and the garden is a nice place to rest once you've seen it all.
Susie is friendly and helpful and her daughter is cute - make sure your art skills are up to scratch (my elephants just passed the test!).

The rooms are windowless, like much in KL, and can get musty with all the mosquito spray.
Breakfast is simple but sufficient.

I'd recommend this place, but there are other similar places within 2mins.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BonEcosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

It was our first time in Malaysia and we couldn’t have had a better start than in this guesthouse. The room was nice and big enough to fit two people + luggage. We had no window but it wasn’t bothersome because no window means no mosquitos. You can enjoy the basic, yet good, breakfast in the front yard and meet other people in the meantime.

Suzy, the owner, is very helpful and will provide you with all the info you need about KL or Malaysia. She’s very friendly but you have to play by her rules: no outside guests, take off your shoes and lock the gate and doors. This is all very understandable given that she has a small daughter and her wellbeing is Suzy’s main concern.

If you’re looking for a quaint, centrally located place in KL this is your place. If you’re looking for a party hostel, don’t go here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank CaroH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is a great cheap place close to the shopping area, restaurants and pubs of Bukit bingtang. Suzy is lovely and made me feel very welcome. The homestay is clean, though apart from the outside area,there isn't a place to socialise if it is raining. The bus station is a 10 minute walk and the MRT is 5 minutes away. I slept well here and would recommended it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yohan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Travellers Palm is THE place to stay if you want a place that is homely and quiet and close to the centre. Suzie is the superwoman behind the lodge, she ensures that your rooms are clean, comfortable and provides truly helpful information for all your needs. There is a help-yourself-breakfast included in the price (toast/cereal/quick oats) and you can sit out front on a bench amongst the beautiful tall travellers palms that Suzy has grown herself. You really feel away from the hustle and bustle in the private yard and the well-named rooms of 'tranquility' and 'dreams'.

I've stayed here 4 times already and if ever I'm there again, Travellers palm is where I'll stay. I love it here. Suzie and her daughter make the place feel like a home from home and I've met some great new friends from amongst the other guests. I highly recommend this place;- it's simple and charming and homely.

Oh and by the way, If you like Indian food, there is a brilliant restaurant on the corner of Suzie's street- it's SO cheap and SO good!

Room Tip: I've stayed in 3 rooms: The mattresses are good quality, the dorm bunks are comfy and there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed in Kuala Lumpur for just under a week at Travellers palm, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a place in the heart of the city. The service was excellent and the staff are very friendly. It was my first time in a mixed dorm and didn't know what to expect but the rooms were clean and tidy, with a/c in the evenings and i was lucky to have nice roommates and the security was great they have lockers big enough for all valuables for example i had my laptop with me. Also a secure gate on the outside that can only be opened by people staying at the hotel. overall a great experience and made my stay in kuala Lumpur a good one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank venninda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
453 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homie KL
Homie KL
#32 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BackHome Kuala Lumpur Hostel
BackHome Kuala Lumpur Hostel
#1 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mingle
Mingle
#8 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travel Hub KL
Travel Hub KL
#15 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Palm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Palm Lodge

Address: No 10 Jalan Rembia | Off Tengkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 307 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $14 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic KL townhouse from the 30s with a cozy tropical garden. Our guest house is a place where you can relax, refresh and restore yourself. You'll experience a friendly atmosphere and a hospitable service. Whether exploring the dynamic and futuristic parts of our city or the diverse local culture, we will do our very best to assist your planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Palm Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing