We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food Service and Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shang Palace

Shang Palace
Ranked #139 of 4,051 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Shang Palace is the premiere Chinese restaurant in Kuala Lumpur offering traditional Cantonese cuisine enhanced by local Chinese specialties prepared by Chinese Chef, Tan Kim Weng and his team, accompanied by an extensive tea offered.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food Service and Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The owners of the Shang Palace have set an exceptional standard for chinese food and service and have kept with KL city prices rather than prices you might expect from a hotel restaurant. In particular they have a large range of boutique chinses teas that you must try!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    52
    24
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangdong, China
Level Contributor
199 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good dimsum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I took dimsum lunch with my wife.
Curiously, the menu has no price indication but I thought most dished should be around 10-12 MR from my experience.It was correct but one exception.
All dimsums are nice and sofisticated. I reccomend shrimp dumpling and steamed beef balls.
My wife ordered bird nest desert. I konw this is not cheap, but could not expect the small bowl cost 160 MR!!. Be careful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dancingriverTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The excellent service, great attention to detail, lovely setting and decor and delicious food all made it a great experience. Would love to go back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Nice to visit a Chinese restaurant where all the guests bar us were Chinese.
Service pretty good. Had the dependable lemon chicken and honey and ginger chicken. Lovely decor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank massie_le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Not quite the Shang experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Decided to try the dimsum after not having visited the place after its major facelift. Decor was typically chinese (dark wood and reddish tones) complete with background music of chinese origins. No one was at the entrance to greet guests - I thought it was due to the peak lunch hour traffic. But it wasn't that crowded. Anyways, I had booked a table, peeked into the register to check it was there and walked in. We were quickly seated, orders taken and served welcome tea in one of those miniature tea cups. Didn't taste anything special about the tea. Charsiewbao was good, meat filling was tasty with texture (not all minced up or gooey like some) and not too much black sauce or red colouring. Steamed beancurd sheet rolls were so-so. Porkribs in blackbean sauce were tasty like bacon, unfortunately the meat was kinda tough and chewy. Fried glass noodles with seafood was a saving grace - fresh and light. Stirfried kailan with garlic was rather plain - they didn't use HK kailan which had juicy stems. We shared a bowl of black glutinous rice porridge for dessert - not too sweet, preferred if it was less watery as one could taste the "rough fibers" of the rice. Do hope they improve as the other outlets offer much better fare.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gr00vyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shang Palace also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Shang Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing