We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Ramadhan buffet”

Saloma Theatre Restaurant
Ranked #433 of 4,174 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Disappointing Ramadhan buffet”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've heard so much about this place but never make an effort to go until last Saturday & I was so disappointed! The service was horrible, hardly any available waiters/ waitress at the lounge area, flies on tables, food quality & varieties are limited for the price of MYR75nett/ person (without the traditional dance show). If you wanted to watch the dance show, you need to pay additional MYR20/ person (if I'm not mistaken) & to be honest, you can easily watch this show from the glass window or even walk in & out the theatre any time as some of the food were displayed inside!

The food were displayed at the lounge (outside the theatre) & some main dishes, appetizer, dessert & drinks were inside the theatre which is very poorly organized! We had to walk in & out & this definitely annoyed those who're seated inside near the door when they're watching the dance show!

I was told it's meant to be 1 of Malaysia's famous restaurant among tourist that caters Malay, Chinese, Indian & International cuisine but we're disappointed they don't even have Nasi Lemak, Curry Rendang Beef/ Chicken & there's no Chinese, Indian nor International cuisine being served but they do have a small varieties of Iranian food.

A friend who has been to Restaurant Seri Melayu said food there was ten times better than in Saloma but sadly the place has been closed down since June 2013. I certainly hope the Chief Chef of Saloma Restaurant will do something about the menu, food quality & cleaniness of the place as I believe this restaurant has a very good potential to promote our local food amongst tourists!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank msbel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    49
    39
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kangra, India
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Local dance show”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A spacious restaurant with a big hall for cultural shows. Every evening they present local folk dances with excellent dinner. Must visit place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth going to (especially if you have children)”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went here as part of a night tour. The buffet food was very good with a moderate amount of choices. The traditional dancing was entertaining. They include the diners and get some up on stage to do the dancing... our 2 daughters were taken up on stage and I would say its the most I have seen them smile all trip and they were still talking about it when we got home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Astra_girl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food & entertainment”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

In June 2013 I & my family went to Saloma Bistro in Kuala Lumpur.
We enjoyed the food served & the entertainment were entertaining too.
My kids, aged 10 & 13 enjoyed too,

Though they served local food, but the taste are fantastic.
Will definitely come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mutaliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Salomas - a most pleasant experience”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I took a group of 14 US Graduate students there last week. Although I had lived in KL for a number of years in the mid 80s and visited there quite often since then, this was my first experience. I would have to say that I was MOST impressed with variety and quality of food in terms value for money. Nice choice of Malay, Chinese and Indian dishes, great atmosphere and quantity excellent.

The show was good but not outstanding overall. The commentator was very amusing and did a nice job of explaining some of the basic cultures, but the quality of the dancing was so-so. The chance for the audience to participate was a great idea and well received.

By way of constructive criticism, we made a booking for 6.30 and that was accepted. I made sure that the students were all there in plenty of time. The restaurant does not open until 7.00 and the show does not start until a couple of hours later so I would suggest that this explained to clients. But overall, I would definitely recommend this experience to those new to Malaysia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saloma Theatre Restaurant also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Saloma Theatre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing