We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service and food is good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice of India

Spice of India
Ranked #2,992 of 4,043 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $18 - $50
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Indulge your senses with an authentic Indian culinary cuisine at Spice of India. We are located on the 4th floor of Suria KLCC Mall. Our restaurant at Suria KLCC can cater for private intimate gatherings as well as large corporate functions catering to the corporate offices located in the KL Golden Triangle.
Italy, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service and food is good”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited this restaurant in The gardens, mid valley city. The atmosphere is very good. The food was north indian, tasty and good. It is very costly compared to other authentic nort indian food. Service was very good and very helpful manager name Vivek.....He was so proffesional and well manerd guy.. they way he talks its impressive. i am from italy just cam for visit with my family

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Datin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    41
    38
    48
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bland Food - Horrible service”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Food quality was pathetic and service was worst ever had !! And very highly priced to top it all !! avoid.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptApurv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Garbage in the name of food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am shocked and in complete disbelief that how can anyone go wrong in dal tadka and jeera aloo. Absolutely tasteless ,,and to top it all my wife nearly chipped her tooth due to a stone / chipped piece of a plate that was discovered in the food and the brilliant part is when the waiter wanted to pass that as curry leaves.Spoke to their so called head chef mr. Lal who was apologetic . I think this place needs to shut down,,,hope the lack authorities look into their hygiene standards .

Ravi Modi - Bombay

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravimodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOIAdmin, Marketing Consultant at Spice of India, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Ravi Modi,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write about your experience in our restaurant.
First and foremost, we are truly sorry to give you such unpleasant experience.
We have investigated the matter and managed to figure out that a small stone was being overlooked by our chef during the vegetables cleaning process. We will take your advice seriously to pay more attention into our hygiene and food standards.

Thank you.


Best regards,
SOI Admin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worst Service Ever”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Went to spice of India for lunch and must say that haven't seen such a bad service ever. The restaurant is dirty, you really have to get up and call someone to take your order and then the wait starts for the food. When the food finally arrived it was cold and tasteless

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Samy145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food at High Prices - Avoid!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Avoid this place. We had a compant lunch for the 9 of us and pre-ordered the food. When we got there, they only made one portion of each dish! So we had to order more and ended up waiting. The chicken malai kebab which usually tender at other restaurants was tough here. The onion bhaji was limp. The chicken tika masala was the only acceptable dish. There were hardly any prawns in the prawn curry and the fish moilee was insipid. I asked to see the manager at about 1230pm and was told that the manager only comes at 1pm. We left at 1.30pm and no one came to see me. The only reason this restaurant is still open is because it is the only indian restaurant in Suria. The prices are also very high..about RM35/dish. I would suggest Passage Thru India anytime. Almost half the price for twice the taste. We are definitely not coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Capt_Bola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice of India also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Spice of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing