We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take away or dining in?”
Review of Passage Thru India

Passage Thru India
Ranked #89 of 4,184 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $14
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: One of the largest thematic Indian restaurant in the world. Truly an Indian experience. Winner of multiple awards over the past 20 years including "Best Indian Restaurant in Kuala Lumpur" Jury Merit award 2013 by the Ministry of Tourism, Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Take away or dining in?”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had take away the first time and I wasn't very impressed: more-bone-than-chicken curry and the palak paneer was extremely oily. Service was good though, they came to the car park to bring it to us...

Given the nice service, my family decided to try this restaurant again, this time for dining-in. It was a totally different experience: ambience was great, curries (mutton) and palak paneer cooked to perfection, great lassi and naan bread.Overall, very tasty food and the service followed through. Will be back again. BTW, this restaurant is charges only + (10%), not ++ (16%) like others. Overall, reasonable price for delicious north Indian food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleMsMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    68
    21
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Dinner buffet too average for the price charged”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Went for their dinner buffet recently, got a groupon deal that cost 40rm/person. Actual prices were higher. The restaurant has an odd policy whereby if you walk in you pay 75/person but if you book online via their website you get charged 50/head. Does that make any sense? Rather unfair I thought. In any case, 75/head is way too expensive and if you're paying that. Inch for a buffet, know that those prices can get you into the large Japanese buffet restaurants in KL where the spread is 4-5 times the size, or slightly more for hotel buffets.
I thought the food was alright, nothing really spectacular. Service was subpar with refillls for the buffet slow in coming such that there were long periods where containers were close to empty. The only thing that they kept on refilling was the naan, which was cooked so-so
Restaurant itself is along Jln Delima, close to KLCC. Decor tries to evocate a traditional Indian restaurant, dark with lots of hanging lights and paintings on the wall. Quite good for ambience, but I wouldn't go back at those prices or quality

Helpful?
3 Thank lipita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala lumpur
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love the food n place”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Authentic taste, pretty place. A bit pricy but worth it...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelAbdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food, Weird Ambience”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Dinner here with my wife. Traditional banana leaf Indian fare. Quite tasty, but nothing spectacular, just good solid food. Mango lassi was very nice.

The decor is a bit odd, and they had a "singer" as live entertainment that used one of those electronic keyboards that has canned 'beats' - the singer was not good at all, and it was like this person had just started learning how to play the keyboard. It really detracted from the meal.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best Indian in a long time”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A local friend recommended that we visit Passage Thru India. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly man in Indian attire. We walked through outdoor seating (all in traditional Indian decor) into the airconditioned area. The restaurant felt very authentic, and the decor only heightened the experience. One could really immerse oneself in the Indian tradition.

The food was also excellent, and appropriately spiced for an Indian restaurant. This is always a pet peeve of mine, because most Indian restaurants in Europe go shy on spice for their non-Indian guests. The best part was being served on a banana leaf! It's a small element which made the experience more rudimentary in the best possible manner.

The service was excellent from start to finish, and they even let me use their phone to make arrangements for the taxi to pick us up the next day to go to the airport. I took forever with the phone because I was having trouble dialing correctly, but they were patient and helped me figure it out. No complains at all!

Oh! And I suppose it should be said that this was probably the cheapest meal we had during our 2 week trip through South East Asia, and it was one of the best!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IAH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passage Thru India also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Passage Thru India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing