We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite KL restaurant”
Review of Checker's

Checker's
Ranked #936 of 4,132 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“My favourite KL restaurant”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I'm lucky, in my job I get to eat in the best restaurants around

I love Checkers, Tan and his team produce some of the consistently best food you can get in KL

Its a pork restaurant so excludes some but for those who are pork eaters, give it a try

not expensive, BYO, simple but friendly service and stunning western food, tradiional and tasty. The scampi ribelli is SUPERB

dessert is fun too, a play on local favourites

nothing fancy but a fantastic and tasty offering

Jalan Setia Bistari 2, easy to find once you've been there (a few times)

believe me, just great food!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBJ400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultan88, Manager at Checker's, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
And we're lucky to have guests like you who enjoy the food we bring out.

We're working on more interesting dishes. Most recently, mesclun salad with citrus confit, BBQ Jerk Pork, and our special BBQ Spare Ribs tarted up with a salsa verde made from tomatillos.

We hope to see you again soon.

Eat well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

In a very unassuming decor, this little restaurant combine simplicity with food at its best. A very personal approach to western cuisine with asian flavors, pork lovers will enjoy the best ribs in town. Bring your wine as there are none there, and the corkage fee is nominal. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashkl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Pork Ribs with Delicious High Quality Vegetables”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We ordered quite a number of dishes but the most unforgettable fantastic dish was the pork ribs! The grilled mushrooms were delicious as well. Took us some effort to find the place and unfortunately, the next table was having a farewell party, hence it was so noisy that we had to scream to talk to each other.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chow_andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local favourite restaurant.”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Food never let's you down here. Looks very average, but it is really worthwhile dining here if you like meat and especially pork. Come here regularly while visiting KL.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Robert8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It's addictive !!”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

A great place for pork lovers. The proprietor cooks from the heart and every meal is a surprise... Be prepared for a non traditional way of cooking but awfully delicious food. Mash potatoes not made from potatoes, ice-cream laced with generous amount of rum and other goodies, once you've tried it, you'll be back for more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gal1868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Checker's also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Checker's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing