We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very local dishes.....”

Old Town White Coffee
Ranked #60 of 165 Coffee & Tea in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast Food, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“very local dishes.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

first time dining at one of their many locations and this was located somewhere between selangor and somewhere on the highway to genting highlands. pretty interesting because we ordered kaya toast, 2 soft boiled eggs and coffee...and surprise it was just lovely!! simple and filling and perfect to keep you going for several hours of work.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank su s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    55
    30
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not good, not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Food is very average, same goes to the drinks. Some outlets are open 24 hours which makes it pretty cool when you're on the hunt for some okay food.

Just give it a shot, don't expect much but its definitely not bad, but for sure overpriced ;-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperGast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“hit and miss..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Two weeks ago, we tried their 8 Treasure Bowl (Chinese New Year promotion item) and Curry Mee. Tasty but like many of their other items, we found the food portion small. Then this week, we tried the Steam Rice Ginger Chicken, Nasi Lemak with Sambal Sotong and Javanese Mee. The ginger chicken was only half-cooked and so we had it sent back to the kitchen. Had to wait another 10 minutes but the staff didn't offer any apology.

Currently OTWC is running a service excellence campaign but sadly, it doesn't seem to be working. (For example, one staff wasn't even aware about the 8 Treasure Bowl promotion and she didn't repeat our orders. We also had to wait to pay at an unattended cashier counter for some minutes.)

On the bright side, their menu has been expanded with many more choices these days. One of my friends tried and liked very much their Mix It, a new range of ice-blended coffee/mocha.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Commercialised Malaysian food...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

... and not in a good way. Their signature white coffee is alright, but apart from that, uggghhh.... Don't even bother with the food.

Go to a traditional "kopitiam" (coffeeshop) instead. You'll get better coffee, and a much more authentic experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect Coffee place in Malaysia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is the place where I have my perfect cofee whenever I feel during the day when in Malyasia. Be it at the airport, for breakfast or to fill time between meetings (they had free wifi and mobile charging stations at all outlets I visited)

Fantastic Hot and Cold Cofeee Options great range of toasts. Omega soft boiled egg, Kaya Butter/Garlic Thick Taost and Hazelnut Cofee is my pick on the menu.

Luv the way you do it Old Town.....wish to bring you guys to India.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BDPharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town White Coffee also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Old Town White Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing