We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Ansa Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #70 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights in a suite room. When we first arrived we thought the hotel lobby, lift and corridors were in need of an update and were concerned about what our room would be like. We were very relieved to find our room was big, clean, modern, and had lots of storage space. The staff were very friendly, polite, and helpful. We would have liked more kitchen facilities, a microwave, plates, cutlery etc, but we did survive without them. I found the mattress to be very hard, however my husband was happy with it. I asked for a topper pad to make it softer but they didn't have them. We did get quite a bit of noise in the early hours of the morning, we think it was due to people leaving the surrounding nightclubs. I felt safe walking to and from the several malls at night on my own as there was always lots of people around. The malls and metro station were only a few minutes walk away. We would definitely stay here again, the location was perfect as we were able to walk everywhere, our room was so spacious and clean, and the staff were very attentive. All these things made up for the negatives.

Room Tip: A suite room for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne T, General Manager at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Stephanie H,

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay.

We are delighted to know that your stay went smoothly and that you were pleased with the room accommodation and services rendered. We will look into the mattress topper for special request like yours.

Thanking you for choosing to stay at Piccolo Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    523
    191
    67
    41
See reviews for
180
345
121
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were transiting through KL on our way to Bali and decided to spend 2 nights there.

Piccolo has excellent location as it brushes shoulder with Lot 10 & Fahrenheit and Pavilion, Sungei Wang etc within 2-5 min walk.

Hotel has big room & contemporary design. Our check-in was quick and the Conceirge desk was always ready to help with directions etc. We were travelling with our teenage daughter and they could fit the extra bed in room which didn't hamper our moving around at all. KLCC Suria & Petronas Twin towers are 20 minutes long walk via Bintang Walk, which starts from Pavillion and most of the walkway is air-conditioned. This is best way to go around considering the traffic in KL. To top it up the monorail station is within 100 meters from hotel.

Lot 10 Hutong has the best eating joints and the cherry on cake is Jalan Alor which is just 400 meters away from hotel. There are plenty money changers outside hotel.

Things one should keep in mind:
- Rooms have a strange design. The washing basin is close to bed and Shower & WC area are made of frosted glass doors & partition, without any locks. So unless you feel comfortable with your companions in such environment you may not enjoy
- Breakfast/food option in hotel are almost non-existent but you can get food in food courts, KFC etc easily
- The mediterranean restaurant outside hotel could be noisy in night if you are on lower floors. It has a bit of seedy look specially with multiple bouncers in evening.
- In evening hotel lobby (if you enter from the secondary entrance from main road) looks a bit deserted but guess its the design and their main entrance in the ally is fine
- When travelling from Airport you have two options a. Take a direct taxi or b. Take KLIA express till Sentral & then take Taxi/LRT. Both options take similar amount of time. Pl note the budget taxis are smaller and have smaller boot space (due to gas cylinder placed in boot). They are safe [travel in India in similar circumstances] but for tall person it may be uncomfortable. We spent RM 118 with option b & when we went back to airport we booked a comfort cab from Hotel for RM 135. I didn't regret either option but in the budget taxi the driver was not happy when he saw two suitcase & one handbag (which we carried in side cab)

However, let me also state that myself, my wife & daughter we returned from Petronas and Jl Alor around 10-10.30 pm but we never felt unsafe.

I will not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on 10th floor in nonsmoking room and room was nice. Although the window opened in back ally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne T, General Manager at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear PD,
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall due to the location of our hotel.

We look forward to serving you again when you next visit Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I saw this Piccolo hotel from the window of my room during a previous stay at Grand Millenium.
I decided to give it a try, and I was right...
The room was clean and well furnished, the staff very helpful and nice, and the price... very affordable. who can ask for anything else!!! Think that this hotel will be my HQ in Kuala Lumpur!!
Thanks for the good Service, I had a wonderful stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne T, General Manager at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear RRYS,

Thank you for sharing a wonderful review about your stay. It gives us immense pleasure to learn when our guests have great stay experiences with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay went smoothly and that you were pleased with the room accommodation and services rendered.

I will definitely share your appreciation with our team and am sure they will feel very appreciative on your kind remarks! We are thrilled that you have chosen Piccolo Hotel to be your HQ in Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Staffs not friendly and approachable. 2 bedroom suite were actually connecting rooms. Water boiler is dirty and moldy. Breakfast were horrible. But location is good, walking distance to times square, sungei wang and pavillion

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irenesimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne T, General Manager at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear irenesimi,

Thank you for staying with us recently. Our 2 bedroom suite promotion package did mention that the rooms are adjacent to one another and not as 2 bedrooms in a service apartment. Please accept my sincere apologies with regard to the ‘water boiler’; I have personally requested our Executive Housekeeper to look into this issues and continuous training to be carried out so as not to compromise on guests room quality.

For your info, breakfast served at Al Amar express restaurant is being arranged for the convenience of our guests; however, we will inform the operator on their choices and taste of their breakfast spread.

Thank you for your kind understanding during your stay with us and we hope to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Will list this one as of my choice lodging when I visit KL. I will be staying there a 2nd time in the coming week and I last stayed there in Aug 2013. Extremely convenient location. The light rail station is only a 5min walk away. Beside it are all the shopping and Lot 10 Hutong where you can try out the famous street food of Malaysia in a somewhat foodcourt setting. Nice place to bring family and friends. I will be bring my elderly parents to stay here next week. Good for them, near to delicious local food and shopping, minimal walking for old people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IceMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne T, General Manager at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear IceMilo,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that your overall experience was to your satisfaction. Thank you for the continued choice of your hotel in KL and we look forward to welcoming you and your parents to Piccolo Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked an deluxe twin beded room and added an extra bed. Still alot of space to move around and clean and accomodated all 3 of us. Free wifi in room and location to Lot10 and Pavilion is just literally a stone's throw away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jepp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne T, General Manager at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Jepp2013,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. It is nice to hear that your room was spacious enough for 3 persons.

Thanking you for choosing to stay at Piccolo Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Our whole family stayed at Piccolo Hotel for 4 days. We booked the family suite which has 2 bedrooms, living room and separate bathrooms. We came in during the wee hours of the morning, despite the time we recieved warm welcome from the staff who attended to us. Our mini bars were loaded with complimentary goodies, from beer, nuts, sodas & chocolates as welcome gift from piccolo. We also got a 50ringgit voucher which we used for shopping. Lastly, we got complimentary breakfast buffet vouchers that you can use any day during your stay. Piccolo is just few minutes walk away from the Pavillion where we frequented for food trips & malling. Highly recommended for family travelling.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mtv30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne T, General Manager at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear mtv30,

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are delighted to know that your stay was enjoyable and that you have chosen the ideal package with it.

We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#46 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
#125 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#84 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#47 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansa Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansa Kuala Lumpur

Property: Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Address: 101 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Piccolo Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#55 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ansa Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With award-winning designs throughout, this swanky boutique pad will leave you wishing that your place looked like this. After a full day in the city there's nothing better than spoiling yourself in the heavenly spa before heading out to any of the nearby dining and clubbing options just minutes from the hotel. Chic rooms are warm, inviting and indulgent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ansa Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing