We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Shopping Trip”
Review of ANSA Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #70 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is located very near the major shopping joints - Pavilion, Lot 10, Star Hill and Fahreinheit is less than 5 minutes walk away. KLCC's Suria is about 15 minutes walk away. The Bukit Bintang monorail is just round the corner.

Pros:
- Very near shopping centres
- If you choose the hotel facing the back (the lower floors face a car park, though), it is very quiet.
- Room is clean, as is the toilet, bed.
- There is a LED TV with limited cable channels
- Service is prompt - the fridge in my room was not working and it was promptly replaced. I forgot the pass-code to the room security box and within 10 minutes, someone came to open and reset the safe.
- The lights in the room are adequate, even for bed reading (there is a spot light on top that you can switch on).

Cons
- The room has an open concept, so the shower and WC are each in a frosted cubicle; the wash basin is on an open cabinet facing the bed. Downside is if you are a light sleeper and your room-mate uses the toilet at night, the light and noice will surely wake you up.
- The room I had faces the back, and while quiet, it faces a gigantic car park (i was not going to stay in the room all the time, so did not bother to ask to change to a higher floor room).
- There are not much facilities - no swimming pool, fitness centre.

The room I booked did not include breakfast, so I cannot comment on that. But there are lots of eating places around. There is a 7-11 just across the road.

In summary, if you are here for a short shopping trip with easy access to shopping complexes, and rather spend your money on shopping rather than the hotel, then this is it. There are loads of nice restaurants at Pavilion, food courts at Pavilion and Lot 10, so eating is not a problem. So I enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the back BUT higher floor (to avoid being blocked by the hugh multi-storey car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIC101, General Manager at ANSA Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review.

In the meantime, we have taken note on your other concerned and apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused you during your stay with us.

May we take this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Piccolo Hotel, and we look forward to welcome you & your family & friends back to Piccolo Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for your next holiday or business trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just walk out of the hotel & you will be spoilt for shopping (Lot 10, Pavilion, Sungei Wang, Bukit Bintang, Low Yatt Plazas to name a few), eating (Hutong@Lot10, Star Gallery,Pavilion Food Court, Jalan Alor, Changkat Tong Shin, etc) & entertainment (Star Gallery, No Black Tie, etc) choices, all within easy walking reach. Rooms are clean, with good rain shower & air-conditioning, & very comfortable bed & linen. If a swimming pool, gym, or a run in the park is a must for you then look elsewhere. I will rate it as a 3.5 Star (very comfortable) hotel in a great location. The front desk can get busy & the house-keeping may miss a towel, but these are not show stoppers if you get a good rate.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side face the Pavilion Shopping Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humouresque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIC101, General Manager at ANSA Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for a great review. We are glad that your choice with us was a memorable one.

May we take this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Piccolo Hotel, and we look forward to welcome you & your family & friends back to Piccolo Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for your next holiday or business trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent location! Unfortunately not enough staff on Reception at the time of check-in so waited in line for nearly 40-minutes; which might have been slightly less if people hadn’t kept cutting in at the front of the line. Considering they advertise check in from 3pm you would have thought they would have adequate staff at the peak check-in time.
Got to our ‘supposedly’ non-smoking room and it stank of cigarette smoke. There was also an ashtray in the room which suggests it wasn’t actually a non-smoking. As an ex-smoker I’m allowed to be a grump about this  so asked to move room but told all non-smoking rooms had been allocated. Housekeeping came with air-freshener but this was futile as the room kept filling with cigarette odour through the air-con vents. The positives are the room size and hotel location but the down side was the cigarette odour, the long check-in time and the toilet light not working. Overall OK for 2 nights but I couldn’t have stayed any longer in this room.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room which is away frm the street noise (there are 12 floors) and specify non-smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIC101, General Manager at ANSA Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. Your comments and suggestion raised are both extremely valuable and necessary in our efforts to improve our service standards and anticipating guests’ needs and expectation. We are looking into converting more non-smoking floors soon.

Thank you for your kind understanding throughout your stay with us.

May we take this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Piccolo Hotel, and we look forward to welcome you & your family & friends back to Piccolo Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for your next holiday or business trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

i like to stay in piccolo for my visit to KL because it is near to shopping centre and the price is reasonable for this type of hotel. But i was dissapointing in my last trip 2 days ago. I travel with my son and our blanket is not enough. But when i ask from the room service,they said it is chargeable for Rm 20. What a dissapointing service for 2012 tripadvisor winner hotel. Won't you just raise your rate Rm20 rather than charge this basic needs for your guest??

Room Tip: choose executive room for better experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimbrowncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Quite close to the major shopping malls in Bukit Bintang. Especially if you want to rest or store your purchase before resuming to shop again. What more can you ask for? Clean and spacious room. Convenient to all the eateries and other amenities. Didn't recall meeting any staff around the time we stayed there. Will come back when there is opportunity.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadifar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIC101, General Manager at ANSA Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. May we take this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Piccolo Hotel, and we look forward to welcome you & your family & friends back to Piccolo Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for your next holiday or business trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Situated in the central of Kuala Lumpur. Perfect for those who are into serious shopping. Surrounded by the shopping centres and 2 minutes walk to Pavilion shopping centre. 15 minutes walk to Jalan Alor, where you can find many local delicacies.
I would not suggest the breakfast as not many choices at all. Size is decent and modern decoration. If you are looking for nice hotel but don't want to go over your budget then I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm1l3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

have stayed here a couple of times on multiple occasions within the last 6 months, but this time round it was a different experience.

had a deluxe king room, same as before.

the differences:
-previously when i stayed, room aircon was perfect and cold enough. this time around i had to set it to the coldest (10deg) and on 'high' mode, and it was only just cool enough but not as cold as i had preferred. (i left one of my room keycards tucked in the room everyday all-day so that the aircon will remain switched on, but still not as cold every night when i returned to the room)
- they used to give 2 pieces of Andes chocolates by each bedside, but no longer available this time around. (i dont eat them by the way, just stating the differences)
- no face towels, only bath towels.
- no bedside sofa and table
- after the first make-up room when i returned at night, they removed the previous roll of half-used toilet paper on the holder but did not replace it, so i opened the spare new roll. they removed the floor towel, but didn't replace. Still no face towels.

previous occasions i always had rooms facing the back of the hotel, but this time round i got one facing the main road, hence at night even from the top floor on the 12th level, i was able to hear the music from the bar downstairs along the main road.. stopped around 2am.

the consistent:
- beds and pillows were still as comfy as before and i slept well
- wifi still as good

all in all, perhaps i was spoilt by previous stays and this time i felt slightly disappointed.

Room Tip: get a room on higher floors facing the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_imperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIC101, General Manager at ANSA Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for the review and the continued support. Do allow us to continue spoiling you whenever we can. We sincerely apologies for the air-condition temperature. We have since arranged our Maintenance team to check and rectify accordingly.
For your info, we supply hand towel and not face towel, however, we supply face towel in our Executive & Suite rooms.
We have taken note on the noise from the bar downstairs and have addressed this issue to the Management.
Thank you, I agree with you on the comfort of our pillow and bed, as many guests’ have purchase the pillow from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#48 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
792 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#47 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
#88 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
#122 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANSA Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANSA Kuala Lumpur

Address: 101 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Piccolo Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#55 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $61 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ANSA Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With award-winning designs throughout, this swanky boutique pad will leave you wishing that your place looked like this. After a full day in the city there's nothing better than spoiling yourself in the heavenly spa before heading out to any of the nearby dining and clubbing options just minutes from the hotel. Chic rooms are warm, inviting and indulgent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ANSA Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing