We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ansa Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #68 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent location! Unfortunately not enough staff on Reception at the time of check-in so waited in line for nearly 40-minutes; which might have been slightly less if people hadn’t kept cutting in at the front of the line. Considering they advertise check in from 3pm you would have thought they would have adequate staff at the peak check-in time.
Got to our ‘supposedly’ non-smoking room and it stank of cigarette smoke. There was also an ashtray in the room which suggests it wasn’t actually a non-smoking. As an ex-smoker I’m allowed to be a grump about this  so asked to move room but told all non-smoking rooms had been allocated. Housekeeping came with air-freshener but this was futile as the room kept filling with cigarette odour through the air-con vents. The positives are the room size and hotel location but the down side was the cigarette odour, the long check-in time and the toilet light not working. Overall OK for 2 nights but I couldn’t have stayed any longer in this room.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room which is away frm the street noise (there are 12 floors) and specify non-smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIC101, General Manager at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your comments and suggestion raised are both extremely valuable and necessary in our efforts to improve our service standards and anticipating guests’ needs and expectation. We are looking into converting more non-smoking floors soon.

Thank you for your kind understanding throughout your stay with us.

May we take this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Piccolo Hotel, and we look forward to welcome you & your family & friends back to Piccolo Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for your next holiday or business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    520
    188
    67
    40
See reviews for
177
343
118
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
medan-indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

i like to stay in piccolo for my visit to KL because it is near to shopping centre and the price is reasonable for this type of hotel. But i was dissapointing in my last trip 2 days ago. I travel with my son and our blanket is not enough. But when i ask from the room service,they said it is chargeable for Rm 20. What a dissapointing service for 2012 tripadvisor winner hotel. Won't you just raise your rate Rm20 rather than charge this basic needs for your guest??

Room Tip: choose executive room for better experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbrowncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Quite close to the major shopping malls in Bukit Bintang. Especially if you want to rest or store your purchase before resuming to shop again. What more can you ask for? Clean and spacious room. Convenient to all the eateries and other amenities. Didn't recall meeting any staff around the time we stayed there. Will come back when there is opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadifar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIC101, General Manager at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. May we take this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Piccolo Hotel, and we look forward to welcome you & your family & friends back to Piccolo Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for your next holiday or business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Situated in the central of Kuala Lumpur. Perfect for those who are into serious shopping. Surrounded by the shopping centres and 2 minutes walk to Pavilion shopping centre. 15 minutes walk to Jalan Alor, where you can find many local delicacies.
I would not suggest the breakfast as not many choices at all. Size is decent and modern decoration. If you are looking for nice hotel but don't want to go over your budget then I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm1l3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

have stayed here a couple of times on multiple occasions within the last 6 months, but this time round it was a different experience.

had a deluxe king room, same as before.

the differences:
-previously when i stayed, room aircon was perfect and cold enough. this time around i had to set it to the coldest (10deg) and on 'high' mode, and it was only just cool enough but not as cold as i had preferred. (i left one of my room keycards tucked in the room everyday all-day so that the aircon will remain switched on, but still not as cold every night when i returned to the room)
- they used to give 2 pieces of Andes chocolates by each bedside, but no longer available this time around. (i dont eat them by the way, just stating the differences)
- no face towels, only bath towels.
- no bedside sofa and table
- after the first make-up room when i returned at night, they removed the previous roll of half-used toilet paper on the holder but did not replace it, so i opened the spare new roll. they removed the floor towel, but didn't replace. Still no face towels.

previous occasions i always had rooms facing the back of the hotel, but this time round i got one facing the main road, hence at night even from the top floor on the 12th level, i was able to hear the music from the bar downstairs along the main road.. stopped around 2am.

the consistent:
- beds and pillows were still as comfy as before and i slept well
- wifi still as good

all in all, perhaps i was spoilt by previous stays and this time i felt slightly disappointed.

Room Tip: get a room on higher floors facing the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_imperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIC101, General Manager at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the review and the continued support. Do allow us to continue spoiling you whenever we can. We sincerely apologies for the air-condition temperature. We have since arranged our Maintenance team to check and rectify accordingly.
For your info, we supply hand towel and not face towel, however, we supply face towel in our Executive & Suite rooms.
We have taken note on the noise from the bar downstairs and have addressed this issue to the Management.
Thank you, I agree with you on the comfort of our pillow and bed, as many guests’ have purchase the pillow from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Rooms were spacious and clean, although I found small black stains on bedsheet. Friendly and helpful staff. Fast checkin and checkout. The location was perfect, near to Bukit Bintang Monorail station, restaurants and shopping malls, which was very convenient for tourists.

Try to have breakfast at Killiney Cafe nearby!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missycynthiaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed for 4 days. Close proximity to shopping area. Overall is good. You can find a restaurant to eat within 5 mins walk, easy to get taxi and close to train station. A bit pricey. Left a tip the 3rd day of my stay for the housekeeping staff but left untouched. Noise from outside our room along the corridor is loud. The guest talk loudly outside the room and it can be heard clearly. Limited TV channels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceKou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#47 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
#115 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#51 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#24 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#79 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#46 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansa Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansa Kuala Lumpur

Property: Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Address: 101 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Piccolo Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#52 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ansa Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With award-winning designs throughout, this swanky boutique pad will leave you wishing that your place looked like this. After a full day in the city there's nothing better than spoiling yourself in the heavenly spa before heading out to any of the nearby dining and clubbing options just minutes from the hotel. Chic rooms are warm, inviting and indulgent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ansa Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing