We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right next to Pavillion”
Review of Ansa Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #70 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Right next to Pavillion”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Was here for a 2N stay. Clean and its location is right in the middle of Bukit Bintang. Only 2-3mins walk to Pavilion. The room is and very spacious. The toilet and shower are separate with the sink outside in the middle of the room. The bed was quite comfortable and it was quiet during our stay there so sleeping was fine. Wifi connection wasn't the fastest but worked ok. Didnt opt for room with breakfast because we wanted to try different food outside which was easily done.

Clean and safe hotel with great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssuissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    524
    191
    67
    41
See reviews for
180
345
122
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed here on 2 separate occasions in Feb, in the deluxe king room..

location: good location, 5 min walk across the street the Pavilion Mall, and convenient stores nearby. do note though, when you return at night, late night, you either have to enter the hotel by the side entrance, or through the ground floor bar/club as the main entrance doors are locked. didn't pose as a problem for us as we felt safe even walking through the bar every night.

Service: Check-in and out was alright, though we usually only saw 1 person on duty at the reception, there wasn't long queues. Duty manager (malay guy) was nice and polite and so was one of the chinese male staff with specs.

Room deposit: paid RM300 for room deposit (11 nights stay) which was refunded upon check-out

room: deluxe king room was big and comfortable. the sink was located outside the bathroom, and the shower and toilet was separated, hence good for stays with your partner as you would not have to wait for them to be done to use the toilet. there were the usual bathroom amenities e.g. toothbrushes, soap, shower cap, shaver etc. mini fridge in the room with hot water boiler, tea cups and coffee/tea satchets. 2 bottles of water was provided daily irregardless of whether you finished your bottled water from the day before, and they also placed 2 pieces of Andes chocolates on each side of the bed tables daily. on the first occasion i stayed, housekeeping opened one of the bedroom slippers packet and placed the slippers by the side of the bed while i was out, and when i returned i thought that was a nice touch. laundry list and bag was folded nicely and placed on the bed daily should you require the service. i liked that there was ample sockets in the room for people like me who need to charge at least 4 different electronic devices nightly. hairdryer was provided, as well as an in-room safe. Full-length mirrored wardrobe was handy, and there was a coffee table, sofa chair, and a work desk with lamp, as well as vanity table next to the wardrobe, perfect for ladies to blowdry their hair/do their makeup (you could do it at the full length mirror too, plenty of sockets!)

Wifi: wifi was alright but not significantly fast. and even though your devices auto-connect to the wifi, you still have to manually go to the webpage to key in the guest id and password, sometimes multiple times during your surfing session.

Food: the hotel restaurant i think is only open in the day? i had a pasta for lunch there on one of the days and it was alright, though the menu seemed a little pricey for the standards.

Overall, i had great stays at the Piccolo and would definitely be back the next time i'm in KL.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher floor as there is a bar on the ground floor which tends to get noisy at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_imperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kudus, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was with my big family on chinese new year 2013, we stay at piccolo for 3 nights. And booked 2 rooms. The reception give us two adjacent rooms , so happy :D
The location was perfect.
Check in and check out : very fast
Comfortable and clean room , but the bed not too comfortable, its rather hard for me
At 11 pm to 2 am at clique ( bar which located below piccolo ) is still very noisy altough we stay at 6th floor.

So disappointed there is no restaurant in this hotel so we can't order food via phone. We should go outside to get food.


Near of monorail station, malls , bars.

There is a lot of taxi outside this hotel . If you need to city tour or go to genting, etc you can use their service.
You can order via reception if you want to go to airport. And the taxis are proffesional .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indri_Kristanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The Piccolo has deteriorated from last time I stayed here (and reviewed it). The slowwww wifi service is abysmal (and the staff look at you in disbelief, as if you are trying to trick them into an upgrade, when you complain that your room is clearly in a dead spot, as mine was). This makes work impossible for business travelers unless the hotel agrees to switch your room (no easy task, and it feels like an interrogation more than a courtesy). The shower compartments are dirty, with filthy black tile grouting that desperately needs a clean, and the pictures of the iron and disgusting ironing board - delivered to my room by housekeeping after I requested it - speak for themselves.

The area around the hotel has similarly gone downhill, with a noisy, skanky bar out front. There are now many more better options offering much better value in this part of the city, and I definitely won't be returning to the Piccolo again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Bay, Western Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great location and very tasteful, light & airy rooms made this fun accommodation for us. We had a deluxe room - you can pay more but why bother? Great views.
Its also absolutely in the center of Bukit Bintang area, with a million food options. Very calm hotel that we would return to.

Room Tip: Higher is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here in transit for 1 night coming and going to our destinations, 2 nights all up, and must say it was great hotel. Right in the heart of the city where all good shopping and restaurants are. Diffenenttly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robandray59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We reached the hotel around evening time and we tried to go into the hotel parking but the security guard did not allow us from going into the hotel, he insisted on us showing our check-in slip but we are just going to check-in, so how can we have the check-in slip? Finally he allowed us to park at a temporary space in the basement while we went to the lobby to check in.

Check-in is fast even though there are only 2 staff available at that time with 2 couples in front of us queuing to check-in. Upon successful check-in, we went back to the car to park it properly. Somehow we found that in order to go into the hotel parking, we have to take a car lift to the level 2 parking. The lift is a bit narrow so we have to adjust a lot of times before we can get the car into the lift. When we check out 2 days later at 6 am, we found that there is no light at all in the parking, it was really dark but hopefully we have the camera app in our iphone. When we asked the security later, he says the light will only be switched on at 6:30 am, but isn't 6:30 am closer to daytime? Shouldn't they put on the lights during night time?

We booked a suite on the 8th floor, it has nice view of Pavilion and the stretch of road in front of Pavilion, the room is quite basic even if it is a suite. The living room and bedroom is separated by a door and only the bedroom has washroom and bath. There is no separate washroom in the living room. In the bathroom, we can see that the shower is positioned real close to the bathtub, so somehow when we are using the shower, the bathtub will also be wet. Like others has mentioned, both the washroom door and bathroom door cannot be locked, but at least there is a door. Definitely not an issue for a couple travelling together. 2 bottles of water is given daily which I think it is not sufficient at all. During the day when we are about to check out, we can see some ants crawling around in the basin in the washroom. I just hope they were not on the tooth brush when I was brushing my teeth.

Being positioned so close to Bukit Bintang, so we have no way to escape the noise coming from the street, even on the 8th floor, we can hear the car horns, street noise, someone's singing even at 12 am during midnight. The good thing is that we can get everything we need like good food, shopping, easy access to taxi and train close by. There are numerous shopping malls in Bukit Bintang so there is virtually nothing you can't get around here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kons168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#46 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
#125 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#83 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#47 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansa Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansa Kuala Lumpur

Property: Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Address: 101 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Piccolo Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#55 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ansa Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With award-winning designs throughout, this swanky boutique pad will leave you wishing that your place looked like this. After a full day in the city there's nothing better than spoiling yourself in the heavenly spa before heading out to any of the nearby dining and clubbing options just minutes from the hotel. Chic rooms are warm, inviting and indulgent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ansa Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing