We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a birthday celebration!”

Monte's Restaurant Sdn Bhd
Ranked #2,511 of 4,128 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a birthday celebration!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

It was a quiet evening at Monte's had no idea where to go and we decided to show up there straight away. Thankfully it was midweek and enough for the 5 of us.

Service was good. Gave us good suggestions on the wine and the chef's specials. The serving was also pretty professional.

Atmosphere was very intimate as the guests are all very in-tune with the setting I guess. The glassy view out to the road beside the mall and also the lighted up trees my dad really enjoyed the view. Plus points for a positive ambiance.

Food was pretty good, again dad asked for his lamb to be well done. They took extra long to make it but was exactly the way he wanted it. The Cajun chicken sauce was tangy and lacked the spicy bit to it. The aglio olio and others were pleasant and the others loved it. Desserts were great too.

Bill was above average though, but for service and food like that we could hardly complain. Good selection of wines is also a plus point.

Only down point, was that the workers & waiters while the idled waiting upon the guests they were having a lil scrum for about 2-3 mins which I think should be kept to a minimal and best if away from the guest's eyes. Could seem a bit unprofessional from an otherwise quaint night out.

Highly recommended and a must visit for those into the family restaurant with a difference.

Helpful?
Thank sudskum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    24
    12
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had a family dinner here. Great place, nice atmosphere, good food. Had the pumkin soup for starter which was very good. Main course was the fillet tenderloin steak with garlic sauce. Very juicy and tender and very nicely prepared. Great wine. Atmosphere good too. Friendly waiters.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKJohn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good food and nice enviroment”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We decided to head to Monte's for a a special celebration. We were here on a weekday for dinner hence it was not very crowded. I like the environment of the restaurant as it feel cosy. The spacing from table to another is just right so you can have some amount of privacy while having conversation with whoever you are with. They have good range of choices for starter/appetizer, main course, pasta, etc however I find the choice for dessert are limited. We ordered baked scallops for starter, prawn & fish grill combo, chicken & ostrich grilled combo, fruit juice, café latte, chocolate brownies and mille crepe strawberry cake. The scallops are done well and the garlic sauce at the bottom of the dish is nice and not overpowering which can be a common mistake in cooking scallops. Our grilled main courses were done well and taste good. Fruit juice, if im not wrong it was carrot juice was freshly made. Latte was good as well. The desserts were average tasting and not much wow in it. The service is generally okay but I expect a little bit more attention from them as this is not your average restaurant, especially with this price range. Overall, satisfying food and drinks, service needs to be improved.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cammal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good prices, nice setting, tantalising food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A good restaurant but one of which you have to pick and choose on when do you want to go. I visited this on a Sunday night and it was a pleasant experience. A quiet setting that didn't feel lifeless. The seats by the window are a good pick and the food was good. I somehow always seem to take the Salmon dipped in spicy sauce

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArvindSidhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“lacks identity”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The entrance and menu looked inviting......however within about 10 mins realised we had made a mistake......very busy with family diners and lots of noisy kids.....thought we were in KFC......food was pretty average and in fact I felt unwell within 10 mins of leaving this restaurant.....lacked ambience or atmosphere and I would not describe this family diner as a "Bistro:....it needs to establish itself either as a Bistro or as a family diner....we had a lovely waiter and cant complain about the service he was very attentive.....and one positive is the fact it is a non smoking restaurant.....but it was expensive for the quality on offer........and I would not recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosiePerth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte's Restaurant Sdn Bhd also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Monte's Restaurant Sdn Bhd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing