We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Visit”

La Risata - Damansara
Ranked #312 of 4,340 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Risata, meaning “the laughter” are two lively trattorias tucked away in the suburban areas of Ampang & Damansara. The unassuming décor & informal dining has won over diners from all around the neighbourhood for over 16 years. We are well known for our good variety of Italian dishes ranging from traditional wood-fired oven thin & crispy pizzas to pastas that exudes the very essence of Italian dining – rustic, hearty and good.Private dining area is also available for group parties.For more information on corporate or group parties, please visit our website for contact details.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The starter was good although I forgot what it was called.For the main course the Gnocchi I ordered was quite disappointing as i felt it lacked enough sauce and turkey sausages so it felt like I was only eating flour.The wine was good though.Overall nice ambiance and super friendly waiters (they even sang a birthday song).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ravenjeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOODFOODTRIO, Manager at La Risata - Damansara, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for dining at La Risata and for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your first dining experience with us. We will feedback your comments on the gnocchi to our chef and hope to have you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 113 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite Italian seafood pasta.

It's wrapped in tin foil and cooked to perfection. Nice!

the servers are polite and quite attentive. With a visit for a quiet dinner with your partner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danielsim81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOODFOODTRIO, Owner at La Risata - Damansara, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for dining at La Risata and for your review. Happy that you had a good dining experience at our outlet. Hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This review is about the Damansara branch.

Good pizzas. We also liked the Gnocchi and Ravioli. The highlight of the night for me specifically was the Panna Cotta - it was light and delicious.

What stood out for us was the service - polite, well trained and attentive staff. We were there in a large group and although they close at 11pm, they were very accommodating to our "extended" stay and ensured we were well taken care of.

Overall, good place to come for a relaxed meal where you can have some good Italian food that won't burn a hole in your pockets.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travelicious_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOODFOODTRIO, Owner at La Risata - Damansara, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for dining at La Risata and for your nice review. We are happy you had a good dining experience with us. Our team at both our Ampang and Damansara outlets always try their best to ensure that our guests have a pleasant meal with us. We hope to have you back at LaRisata again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Simple, but delicious antipasta buffet. Fresh ministrone soup -with added freshly grated parmigiano. Choice of main course - and there must've been at least 20 dishes to choose from. Super service and many glasses of prosecco - great pre Xmas brunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spark41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOODFOODTRIO, Owner at La Risata - Damansara, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your nice review and we are very happy you enjoyed our once a year Christmas brunch held every Sunday of December! Have a Merry Xmas and happy new year and hope to see you back at LaRisata again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've been going to this restaurant in Ampang for years and i love the food here. The simple salmon ravioli in particular, is worth going back for time and time again. :) The ambience is nice, and even better after the renovations some time back. The restaurant is a favourite with many people around here, and is very popular (to my regret, although I'm happy business is good for them) and very busy (grumble grumble).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jembegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOODFOODTRIO, Owner at La Risata - Damansara, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy that you are such a fan of our restaurant and look forward to your continuous support !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Risata - Damansara also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to La Risata - Damansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing