We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian in KL”
Review of Prego

Prego
Ranked #49 of 4,221 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
608 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian in KL”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Prego is an excellent Italian-themed restaurant located as part of the Westin Hotel in KL. The pizzas, which are cooked in a wood-fired oven, are particularly good with a range of interesting variations, including a good vegetarian pizza. The restaurant is aware of gluten-free issues as well as it offers coeliac-friendly dishes. The wine list is OK in terms of variety - we found a nice Montepulciano for RM130 that satisfied everyone at the table. Service is good - not too hovering. Atmosphere is OK - nothing special here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    109
    35
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great restaurant but expensive”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I recently had a business dinner at Prego, and while it was expensive, the food was very good. I'm not sure I would go back, given the price. The service was also a little slow and atmosphere was a little lacking, but all in all it was a good 4 or 4 and a half stars for the overall experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tripper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simply gorgeous Italian”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Dined with my daughter who absolutely adores Italian food. I am vegetarian so find it difficult to get tasty food when overseas. The reviews we read about this restaurant were good so we gave it a go. The service was good without being intrusive and our pasta dishes were divine. Daughter requested a sauce variation which she got without any hesitation and was better than she had expected. The desserts were really good so we would definitely recommend this place to lovers of Italian food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Complicated messed up Sunday brunch”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My boyfriend took me here for a Branko brunch as a special treat before I leave. To be honest, we did not such a good time as they served a messed up meal which was not well cooked and the dishes did not look very appetizing. They were also very busy and the place was noisy with quite loud bangings and unexpected announcements during the meal. The Branko meal idea is that a menu is provided with several courses and these courses are brought to the table and if you like something, you order the dish again. So instead of a simple buffet style where you choose what you like whenever you want, you now have to order and wait for another dish to arrive. Also, when it arrived, the food was not that nice probably because the place is so busy and they cannot handle the volume of orders. It's disappointing but the place looks quite nice overall so maybe it is better when it is not so busy. What we had is very expensive for the quality of food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food and decor”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Love the open kitchen concept and the decor is unique as well. Food is good most of the time. The service crew are quite accommodating. On one oaccsion I wanted to pair my pasta with a different sauce and different toppings, and they obliged without questions! Had the mushroom risotto and it was very good. Portions are generous for some dishes, so be prepared to share.
With the SPG members discounts, it is value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MgHgL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Prego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing