We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic Malaysian dishes”
Review of Chawan

Chawan
Ranked #2,500 of 4,174 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“authentic Malaysian dishes”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

bangsar is a tourist spot because a lot of bars and western restaurant there, but if you come to Malaysia, do taste a Malaysian food a chawan, Bangsar. It serve traditional Malay & chinese food

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dzuliza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    24
    21
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What's the big deal?”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've been to Chawan a few times, and each time I didn't like it. The food is terrible, the atmosphere was not inviting, the service was poor. I don't understand the hype

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MTG010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The coffee selection is great but stay away from the food. I tried the nasi tomato rendang and my tummy feels funny after that. I ate there previously as i was meeting my friends for coffee there. I was safe but my friends say i should avoid the food. Should have listened.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Excellent selection of Malaysian coffees”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The special thing about this place is the extensive offering of local Malaysian coffees, from Kopi HaiPeng Kemaman, to Kopi Muar & Kopi Tenom. All delicious! And, if I may say, it makes a refreshing break from the regular coffee joint offerings of fancy-roasted unpronounceable pretentiously named coffees, because Malaysian coffees have a very lemak, full-bodied, smokey flavour that just smacks of home & comfort.

My favourite is the Kopi Tenom, ice-blended on a sticky, sweltering night. I'd heard about Kopi Tenom's deliciousness from friends, but having never been to Sabah, I've never had the opportunity to try it. How convenient that I now can have it whenever I want, right in the middle of Bangsar!

Typically, I'll be here for a short coffee break with friends, be it in the middle of a weekend day, or late at night, after a movie, theatre or concert. Definitely recommended is their keropok lekor, rojak buah & nasi lemak. Deeeeelicous!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IshDewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Go to for local food”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I love chawan.
They have a selection of local coffee from around Malaysia and their local food is very authentic too. just avoid their roti jala which i find not very nice. Other than that it's awesome. Service really depends..on good days it's good.

Helpful?
1 Thank tenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chawan also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Chawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing