We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and comfortable”
Review of Classic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Classic Inn
Ranked #22 of 353 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Easy to reach near monorailstation Imbi. Good breakfast, comfortable terrace and nice staff give an "at home"- feeling. Good and cheap laundry service. On the whole good value for money. On the negative side: we did not get any help with taxis or planning trips in the town.
Thomas and Connie

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomme46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 292 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed in a double room for 2 nights. As many other reviewers have said, the rooms are small, with minimal furniture. Thankfully we only had 2 small luggages so it was still ok for us. However, the bathroom was really small and cramped, so much so that the entire bathroom and toilet bowl will get all wet after a shower. The aircon was very very noisy and cranky and couldn't seem to cool the small room at all for the first night! Noise from the corridor could be heard clearly during the night or in the morning, Thankfully the bed was firm and comfy so that helped with our sleep.
2 bottles of water were provided each day in the room, which we appreciate.
The breakfast was just some kaya toast (burnt), coffee, fruits and a very dry and bland roti canai (you can easily taste better ones anywhere else). Certainly not great but I guess it's nice of them to include it in the already-low room rate in the first place.
Location wise, it's just behind Berjaya Times Sq, a huge shopping mall where you can easily get taxis. It's also within the Bt Bintang area which is an affordable shopping area and near an LRT station. I like the location as it's very convenient, but it probably won't be somewhere exotic or characterful for someone visiting KL for the first time. I've been to KL many times so it doesn't matter.
Service was also quite good - they kept our room for us when we arrived at 11:30pm and booked a taxi for us to get back to the airport, hassle-free.
All in all, we'll recommend Classic Inn to anyone who's mainly looking for a budget accommodation in a convenient location. While the room and breakfast were just average, the price was one of the lowest we could find for a clean, decent room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trueillusion02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just finished packing our bags as we leave in the next few hours. Gonna miss this place. Its in a great spot. Safe and very very clean. Outstanding staff who go the extra mile to help you. If you come here you wont be let down. It gets a ten out of ten for everything. Cheers guys.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We probably didn't get the best of this property by arriving at 8 am and not being able to check in till 2. And we had to leave before breakfat the next day so we didn't get the benfit of the free breakfast. The staff were ok - not overly friendly, but helpful, which is good. The rooms were pretty small - or at least our double room was small; our kids had a slightly larger twin. The air conditioning was good and the hotel was in a quiet location. Until we were blasted from our sleep. Fireworks at midnight! We found out later it was to mark Independence Day, but it sounded like an artillery barrage at the time.
The dining area looked good - but we didn't eat there. It's very handy for Times Square. The nearest public transport is the Imbi monorail. We found the monorail too crowded to be useful (we arrived from the airport by train and monorail) and got a taxi back in the morning. We asked to get a taxi booked at the hostel but we were quoted 120 RM. A taxi from the airport is only about 70 RM and we were able to flag one on the street who charged 55 RM off the meter, so 120 seemed a bit steep. I think maybe the hostel thnought we would need a minibus but we didn't.
There was nothing bad about the Classic Inn, but nothing specially good either.
One thing: when we made the booking on the web site I submitted all my credit card info and I was convinced I had paid for the reservation so was surprised to be asked to pay on arrival. I checked afterwards and they were right - the original details didn't trigger a charge, so just be aware that when you enter your credit card it's just for verification purposes, not for a payment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NameIWantedWasTaken7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Whenever I look for accommodations, I tend to gravitate towards guesthouses or bed & breakfasts simply because of the homey ambiance and Classic Inn came at the top of the list during my research. I checked the website and all it took was a picture of the breakfast area and I was sold.

Although there were some minor problems when we arrived (We arrived in the wee hours of the morning, and we were told that the air conditioning unit in our room was not working and that the tap was leaking. They took us to a nearby guesthouse to stay for the night.) The rest of our stay was pleasant. I love the bed and the room is clean and the bathroom spotless.

It was in KL's Golden Triangle right where the action is but far enough so you can still enjoy a quiet night. The best part about the location is it's just right behind Berjaya Times Square where we shopped a lot! Lots of cheap and fashionable women's clothing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Excursionista14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time in Kuala Lumpur. The room was a Private Room for 250 MYR. It was a tiny double room, with wooden floor and a wall mounted TV which included a movie channel (I think Fox Movies). The room was en suite, and the bathroom was clean and the shower worked well.

The staff were lovely and helpful and the reception area had lots of information about things to do and places to go in Malaysia.

We ate our breakfast in the outside area in front of the hostel which had wooden furniture. This gave it a 'holiday feel'. We also noticed that people sat out there in the evenings as well. The breakfast was toast, with an amazing jam which I think was called Kaya (we couldn't find the jam anywhere else and forgot to ask). You also get fresh fruit, sweet coffee or Teh Tarik and Roti Canai. The breakfast was delicious, although we only had it once as we went out for breakfast on our last morning.

The hostel is walking distance to Jalan Alor where all those famous hawker stalls are. Here you can get bbq fish, satay, noodle, rice dishes and many other tasty things. Some of the stalls are run by Burmese people, so you can find nice Burmese dishes such as Shan Kauswe. Highly recommend going there one evening. It's also near many transport links such as Monorail, buses, as well as a huge shopping centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KhinSabaeNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A coworker recommended Classic Inn to me as a great budget option in the center of KL. I stayed here for three nights and would stay here again. My room was small, a corner room with a slopping roof, but for about $30 a night with breakfast, WiFi, flatscreen TV and your own bathroom, it really is a good deal for central KL (and I've stayed in a hostel in KL for half the price of here, but it wasn't nice at all, just spend a bit more). The staff is nice and will call and arrange tours for you and is more than happy to offer directions and advice. The roti canai for breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0 mi away
Ceria Hotel
Ceria Hotel
#78 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
241 reviews
1 mi away
BackHome Kuala Lumpur Hostel
BackHome Kuala Lumpur Hostel
#1 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paloma Inn
Hotel Paloma Inn
#4 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#2 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Step Inn Guest House
Step Inn Guest House
#10 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
366 reviews
1 mi away
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
#1 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Inn

Address: No 36 Jalan 1/77a | Changkat Thambi Dollah, Off Jalan Imbi, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $20 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Classic Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classsic Inn is strategically located in the centre of Kuala Lumpur, a few steps away from monorail station, near to several shopping mall and Bintang Walk. All place mentioned are within 15 min walk. All rooms have window and come with private bathroom equipped with high-pressure hot showers, individual-controlled air-conditioning, color TV & IDD telephone. We provide laundry service. Wifi & Internet connection is also available 24hr. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Classic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing