We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr. Adrian Lee”
Review of Lai Po Heen

Lai Po Heen
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 7/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #51 of 5,546 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had some chinese foods at The Famous Mandarin Oriental Hotel, Lai Po Heen to celebrate in conjunction with Father’s Day. Had their Salted Egg Yolk Shrimp, Egg Plant blended with Meats, Garupa Fish Fillet was Delicious, tasty, their famous noodles and mixed vegetables of lotus roots with big scallops, japanese taufu with peas, and greens vegetable. Foods was greatly served and well prepared.

The only comment was today their service was I would say extremely slow and they were shortage of staff. Usually during weekend they have lots of staff to served us, however today it was different. They need to improve of their staffing especially on the weekend even though the manager came to us to apologies saying their staff took many leaves, however this is a service industry and they should up keep the standard of their prestige hotel and service to their customers.

Even when we pick up the cake from downstairs their staff doesn’t know whether the cake was prebook in advance, whether it has been made or not and her face thus behavioral morale needs to be improve by the management. She should be send for Customer Service Management Course. ☺️

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank x96lee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 396 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2019

Recently my friends and I had a dim sum lunch to celebrate our friend's belated birthday. We ordered few dim sum dishes; among others like Chicken Siew Mai, with shrimps and scallop, Shrimp Rice Rolls, filled with prawn and green
dragon chives, Hong Kong Style Turnip Cake, Yam Dumplings, filled with chicken as well as LPH Seafood fried rice.

Our highlights of the lunch none other than Peking Duck; which is very tender and juicy and served with cucumber scallion, pancake and homemade Hoi Sin sauce. We also loved the LPH Signature "D 24" Durian Pancakes; wrapped in thin crepes with fresh whipped cream. Definitely a must have! Service was good. However I need to make several calls just to confirm on the availability of the room prior to the birthday lunch as the person in charge was not able to give me the confirmation even I called 10 days earlier.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AzreenaR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019

We walked in without a reservation and the hostess who greeted us noted our names and contact number, promising to call after 30 mins. We were waiting outside and when time came, we didn't receive the call.

When we walked in again to ask for our table, presumably an intern took us and seated us immediately - tho in a more secluded area. We didnt mind that but had to wave hard to get attention.

We were, however, happy to be served by Enrico - a server who was eager to please and to attend to our requests promptly. Overall food was good just the small hiccups had hindered us from having a much better experience.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Lyy1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019

I have dined several times in the past year at Lai Po Heen and have been impressed each time. Whether we are two or twelve (in one of their private rooms) the service and food is always of a very high standard.

Today we ate in an area outside as the main dining room is under minor refurbishment. This was actually quite fun, as it turned out, as they were playing traditional music in the lobby downstairs and we got to listen in.

Jane, the manager, came round to ask if everything was ok. My mum and I appreciated this because it helps to know who to speak to should we need to organise a function in future. Jason, our server, was also very personable and explained our dishes as they arrived and also arranged to pack the food we could not finish.

The menu is extensive but not confusing or complicated. When I have invited guests they have always said how much they enjoyed the meal.

There are two private rooms in the restaurant area, each one holding two tables for 12 people. If you are a smaller group then you should ask for a table towards the back of the room as the windows overlook the KLCC fountain outside.

I would like to thank the Lai Po Heen staff again for our lovely dining experience this evening. At the end of the meal my mum said she was not ready to leave the MO so we went downstairs for cake and tea. Next time I might need to book her a room...

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MLRNW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

We have been trying a few dim sum brunch at several 5 start hotel in KL. Found this is the tastiest and best in service, special credit to Jane and her team.

Their dessert was awesome especially the durian pancake and the quality of food is good too.

Worth every dollar you spent.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank MorresSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Lai Po Heen, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2019

Dear MorresSC,

Thank you for your elating feedback on your dining experience at Lai Po Heen. Jane and the team is completely thrilled with your positive feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you, with us soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Frank Stocek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lai Po Heen also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Lai Po Heen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing