We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese food without breaking the wallet!”
Review of Fukuya

Fukuya
Ranked #641 of 4,217 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Japanese food without breaking the wallet!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife decided to bring me to Fukuya knowing that I love Japanese food and I'm so glad she did. I had the Full Course Sushi Lunch Menu which is so worth it! It's on the high end of the price for lunch, however you can't compare with the quality and the freshness of the sushi as well as the amount of food served! My wife ordered the Seiro Set with Salmon which is also very filing for lunch. It has a nice location and I would definitely come back here again and for dinner this time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanazwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in KL...so far”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The restaurant is located not so far from Pavilion Mall. The restaurant looks like a Japanese house from the outside and nicely decorated on the inside ... simple but stillhas the Japanese feel to it.

The place offers dining in a common area as well as private rooms ... so take your pick.

I made reservation through the phone and that was very smooth and no problem.

We arrived at the restaurant and were warmly greeted by the staff which made you feel rather welcome.

We ask the staff for suggestions and the details for the set menu ... they did provide us with explanation and suggestion. In the end we decided to order their special set menus ...one Omakase which is a 9 course menu and my partner ordered Wa-Fuku Kaiseki which is 7 course menu. The food was delicious, the fish and ingredients were fresh. Both set menus provide varieties of Japanese food demo steam, grill, raw, tempura and stir fried. We did very enjoy our food. Every single dish served to us was beautifully presented which made it more appetizing.

The staff very attentive and explained to us on all of the course served which made the experience nicer.

I would higher recommended this place for a true Japanese food in KL.

The price is on the high side but for the freshness, the taste and the presentation ...it is worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stapatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Personally the best Japanese I have had in KL so far. A bit pricey for local standards but great food. Super fresh sashimi, great tempura and soups. Will go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stelogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Sushi”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Great tasting sushi, freshly prepared. Service was very good also. Try the agedashi tofu, a taste sensation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Fukuya was an exceptional experience. Friendly staff, very nice location/decoration and great food with lots of new and original items. The place is romantic and the food is tasty.
The staff is caring, helpful and active.
Fresh seafood on Tuesday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jewlz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fukuya also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Fukuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing