We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Location is Great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gardens Hotel & Residences

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
Ranked #40 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
552 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“The Location is Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

The only great thing is this hotels location. The staff are helpful and very courteous. When we checked into our first room.. it was actually FLOODED !! seems they has a fire sprinkler malfunction which no one notice until we tried to enter the room and found it ankle deep in water.. I'm certainly glad our belonging were not inside when this happened.. lol.. The hotel staff handled it well and we got another room quickly and efficiently.
The downside was, the room was on the 8th floor, even though the a/c was on, the room remained quite humid.. in the evening there was a disco close-by and we could here the beat of the club quite loud until the late night hours.
The breakfast is plentiful but resembles a bit of a food court, not what you might expect from a property like this one.. food was good though.

In the end, I would stay here again based on its location alone… its a bit pricey for what you get.. (speaking of the HOTEL only)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We sincerely regret that the first room assigned had a sudden unforseen mishap. We are equally grateful that the incident occurred when there was no one in the room. So glad that everything was sorted out quickly for you according to procedures. We are disappointed to learn that the noise from the club deprived you from a good night's sleep and wished that you had alerted the Duty Manager so that we could have rectified the situation. We appreciate your kind compliments regarding the food at The Spread and you may be pleased to know that The Spread will be undergoing a renovation and transformation soon. Hopeffuly in your next visit you will be able to enjoy being at The Spread even more. Once again, thank you for your feedback and for writing in to Trip Advisor site. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    531
    161
    49
    48
See reviews for
323
143
47
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at The Gardens Residence on January. My parents in law was with us. So we take the apartment with 2 bedroom. The apartment is spacious, comfortable and had all the basic need. We only stayed for a night.

We then decided to come back again but this time we book a hotel room because this time no parents, only three of us.

From the moment we arrive, it was the worst experience ever! My hubby drop me and our baby off at the entrance. Sorry, we only drive a Malaysian car and not some luxury imported car, the bell boy went straight to the luxury taxi behind us! I was carrying my baby and we had many luggage and stuff with us. When my husband ask for their help, then they help.

The room was fine, it was spacious and clean, with lot's of cupboard and drawers. The view is fine at night just because you won't see the construction site and the dirty river. The restaurant looks like a cheap restaurant and the pool had the city view.

We stayed for a week. On our 4th night, we come back from dinner and it was about 10pm, we eagerly want to get in and put down our baby who is already asleep on my husband shoulder. However, the door won't open even though the key card was fine. It did show the yellow blink. I pick up the phone from our floor to get some help, but no one answered. So I went down to the front desk. The staff at the front desk give me a card and ask me to try open our door room with it and he told me to use the phone from the floor and ask for help if the door still won't open. And guess what? the door won't open and I call from the floor phone and no one pick it up! I call the hotel from my handphone and no one answer too! My husband went down and ask for help My baby already awake.. We waited for the maintenance to come and open our door. The maintenance staff had to take off the door knob to open the door. He let us in first before assemble back the door knob. It was about 10.30 pm. When we came in, there was a note on the floor saying that they tried to return our laundry but we put up 'DO NOT DISTURB' sign. I immediately call the laundry service and told them that they can return our laundry. I thought it takes about 15-30 minutes to return our laundry. However, they call our room at 12.30 midnight saying that someone will come to our room to return our laundry. We were tired and already asleep. There was a laud banging sound on our door. My husband open the door but nobody there. There's another phone call, my husband pick it up and ask them not to disturb us.

We stayed at 5 hotels for the last 2 months but this is by far the worst hotel experience! My husband had some more work to do and we need to extend our stay in KL, however we switched to other hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QeylaAleeqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear reviewer, Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site. We are disappointed to learn of your recent stay experience which was not up to expectation and please accept our sincere apologies. We are unable to understand why luggage assistance was not offered upon arrival and we can only imagine how disappointed you were. As for the series of events pertaining to your room key card and how the whole situation was managed, we would like to follow up further on this and accordingly, we have written to you via “Message” on Trip Advisor to request for your stay details. Please be assured that this matter is not being taken lightly and we will do our best to improve on the areas that you have highlighted. Once again our apologies that your stay was not up to expectation on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a very comfortable hotel - clean, great service and they even have a pillow menu! The pool is really big and has comfy sun lounges. I was staying here for business by myself and found it very convenient that it was joined to two huge shopping malls which are open until 10pm... Plenty to do at night, and I felt safe.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank marzy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear reviewer, Thank you for your recent stay review and for sharing it on Trip Advisor site. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and we are delighted that your stay was totally fulfilling. We hope to have you back with us soon on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

3rd time staying at The Gardens and wonderful stay. Stayed at Executive room for 2 nights from 20 to 22 Feb 2014. Executive rooms basically means 25 to 27 floor rooms and the highest floor at 29 is the Executive level. We arrived around 12pm at Megamall carpark and took some 20minutes to find a parking lot at Basement 4. Carpark is huge with numerous security personnel, which makes you feel safe and unsafe at the same time.
Rooms are spacious and views are nice, except that there are high rise office buildings all around. It should be the off-season looking at the relatively few guests in the hotel. Staff are polite and service good. Breakfast spread is very good, but would have been better if there is machine-grinded coffee.
Soft drinks in mini-fridge and 3-pieces of complimentary laundry was a nice gesture. However, during our first night, I was bathing when the hot water pipe bursted and thankfully there were no kids around and we had to pack all our things in a frenzy, with me just wiping off soap using a towel. However, the hotel was prompt to change another room for us, but it took another 30minutes for us to settle after packing and unpacking
Proximity to Megamall is a huge point and train station but you don’t really need to travel out of the area. 2 cinemas are around and there is one really close to the hotel (GV Gold Class) so you can watch some late night movies before going back to the hotel. Overall, wonderful stay, as always.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalvinOng1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear reviewer, Thank you for your comments in Trip Advisor site. We are glad that overall you had a satisfying stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. Thank you for your past patronage and continuous support. We are glad that you appreciate the security and safety level in both malls as the management of Mid Valley City emphasizes highly on these aspects. Regarding the burst pipe, please accept our apologies on the incident as we discovered, was due to a faulty flexible hose and in this case was an unavoidable incident. Nevertheless we thank you for your patience and kind understanding on this matter. We certainly have not taken this lightly and appropriate measures have been put in place to rectify the situation. Again our apologies. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Gardens Hotel and Residences in the near future.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Just stay for 4 nights last week at The Gardens residence which is pretty good with big living room and bed room. The bfast is pretty standard so do not expect much. The location itself is pretty good and is walking distance to the train station and the huge shopping center behind it make things easier. Lots of places to eat and drinks.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear reviewer, Thank you for your recent stay at The Gardens Residences and for your Hotel stay review in Trip Advisor. Breakfast fro Residences guests are usually provided for at Pastis, a mall tenant due to it close proximity and therefore making it convenient for guests. We will inform Pastis to improve to meet our guest requirements. Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you are an expat living in neighbouring country need to come to KL for shopping only for few days, this hotel is at Mid Valley Mega Mall & Garden Mall. So you can do all the shopping you need.
Perhaps due to the constant high occupancy, you can see wear and tear especially in the bathroom. Unless they do real good preventive maintenance, I think this hotel will age very quickly.

Cons
Lack of authentic local culinary experience especially in the morning. Although there are food court at Mega Mall, I felt I miss real local Nasi Kandar..... Not able to start my breakfast with roti canai was sad.

Choice of Taxi
This hotel have agreement with big type of taxi that charged you $$$$. You need to walk to Boulevard Hotel next door to get ordinary taxi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank babstk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear reviewer, Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site. We truly appreciate your constructive feedback and we note your comments. This year as we enter the 5th year of operating, the hotel is carrying out refurbishment of carpets and soft furnishings. We were surprised that you were not able to enjoy “roti canai” for breakfast, as the popular item is served daily and is on the buffet under the Indian section. Other than the “must-have items”, as we have a large cross section of nationalities dining at Spread, we also try to fulfil a variety of guests’ breakfast preferences from roti canai to Swiss muesli to dim sum etc. The premium taxi service at the hotel costs slightly more than the ordinary budget taxi, but as the taxis are traceable, for added safety and security, we recommend guests utilize these vehicles. We thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Gardens Hotel & Residences soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed 3 days 2 nights in the 2 bed rooms apartment, overall is acceptable,

1. no dish washing machine
2. cloth washing and dryer machine are located at 23 / 26th floor which need RM 5.00 for 20mins
3. Some dirty cloths are left behind the toilet
4. Parking is worst to find where it is inside the mid valley megamall which are very crowded all the time (except mid night)
5. Bathroom is excellent where the pressure of water for bath is excellent!
6. The bed is big and with lots of pillow, where we can play pillow war games.
7. It is very quite and the curtain is good which you wont be disturb by the morning sunshine or noise from the next door construction.

All the restaurants and grocery store are just in the megamall, yes, it is well convenience to all coffee shop, kids playground, or anything from daily use to luxury products.

Room Tip: Get higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Small_BuG_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear reviewer, Thank you for writing to Trip Advisor site and for your constructive feedback for improvement. It is true that a dishwashing machine is not part of the residence kitchen fixtures but housekeeping staff will wash dishes on request. With regards to the cloths, it would seem the staff member has left this behind and we sincerely regret this oversight. Parking in Kuala Lumpur generally can be a challenge but we find that at Mid Valley, use of the U zone seems to be less frequent than the other basement levels and we recommend our guests use this zone. It also gives easy access to both the hotel and the residence through the Mall 5th and 6th floors. Thank you again for your overall positive comments and we hope to see you soon the next time you feel up to an escapade in the city. Thank you for staying at The Gardens Hotel & Residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
#61 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#65 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
#26 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.0 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
#37 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel & Residences

Property: The Gardens Hotel & Residences
Address: Lingkaran Syed Putra | Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gardens Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers who seek an enhanced stay, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is centrally located in the vibrant city of Kuala Lumpur within the precinct of The Gardens, Mid Valley City. Its strategic location combined with unpretentious and warm Malaysian hospitality transforms your ordinary hotel stay into a totally fulfilling experience. The hotel's 647 premier accommodations with 448 elegantly furnished guestrooms at The Gardens Hotel and 199 luxuriously spacious fully serviced residences at The Gardens Residences provides total comfort in well-designed and contemporary decor. Privacy is assured for hotel and residences guests as there are separate entrances and lobbies for each yet access to facilities is seamlessly linked through the 5th and 6th floors of the complex. The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is the first hotel in Malaysia to offer a non smoking environment throughout its guestrooms and enclosed areas. Linked to The Gardens Mall, it is surrounded by a shopping haven featuring key tenants in the form of Robinsons, Isetan, Premier Golden Screen Cineplex as well as over 200 premium branded boutiques and international offices in The Gardens North & South Towers. Undoubtedly, Mid Valley City, Kuala Lumpur is one of Malaysia's favourite destinations providing the most compelling leisure, hospitality, retail and office opportunity in South East Asia. With so much to offer and the world at your doorstep, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is a smart and inspired choice to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your The Gardens Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens Hotel And Residences
Gardens Hotel Kuala Lumpur
The Gardens Hotel Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing