We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting complex that offers more than hotel services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
Ranked #39 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

In general,this is a good five star hotel. The room is spacious and comfortable.

I really enjoyed the Megamall that linked to its The Gardens mall where you can find from Hermes to Starbucks.

The hotel is around 20 minutes to the city center (KLCC) and the MRT is not really easy for visitor.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank showteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We are glad that your stay was totally fulfilling. Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
There are newer reviews for The Gardens Hotel & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

After having booked and prepaid for our 3 rooms of 2 nights nearly 2 months ago, we were greeted with the news of having the rooms unready for us at 1+pm. Accepting that, we waited around as we were told that they will give us a call when the rooms are done.

After an hour and no phone call, we went back to the lobby and was told that the rooms were not ready yet - it was already 3. They told us that 1 out of our 3 rooms was ready so we specifically reminded them twice to send all our luggage to that one room because we had valuables in them. The front office also told us that the other 2 rooms will be ready before 4pm. Again, we were bombarded with more apologies that our rooms were still not ready after 4pm! To add salt to the wound, their shift had changed and our luggage (all 11 pieces) were still left at the bell man area, at an open space!

We had to express our displeasure for them to get us our rooms and call for the bell man to send our bags. This is just unacceptable for a so-called 5 star hotel! Besides, there was not even effort to provide any form of compensation or consolation, and we went into our rooms to find that the extra bed we had already paid for was not even sent.

It was the last straw for us so we went to the front office asking to talk to the manager. At least the person who came to talk to us was apologetic and offered us complimentary late check out for one of our rooms. Regardless of that, we will not choose to stay in this hotel anymore, nor will we recommend this place to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feliciapeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site. With regards to the room type allocation, regretfully, unlike airlines where everyone vacates their seat at the same time and there is controlled boarding times, hotels do not have that happy scenario. Whereas whenever it is possible, we will try to accommodate guest requests for specific room types and locations within specific floors, sometimes during peak occupancies it is not possible to provide the exact bed configuration or room floor, depending on the pattern of check out from the night before and the occupancy levels encountered. We note your other comments and we are disappointed to learn that your expectations were not met. In those areas as mentioned, we will reinforce the rightful standards of guest expectations and services. Once again, thank you for your comments and for your recent stay at the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had previously stayed at the Gardens Hotel and found it satisfactory.
As there were 5 of us, we booked the 2 Bedroom Deluxe at the Gardens Residences and was disappointed with our stay.
We paid a higher price for the apartment and same price for the breakfast as that of Gardens Hotel. However, to our surprise we were told we had to have a semi buffet breakfast (with limited spread) at the Pastis Restaurant next to Gardens Residences which was pathetic in comparison to the Buffet Breakfast at The Spread in the Gardens Hotel (paying same breakfast rate and getting a raw deal)!
After much haggling with the Reception and Duty Manager, we were eventually allowed to dine at The Spread because we were repeat guests. However, they were not very accommodating. I was told in no uncertain terms, that this is the one and only time that they will make an exception!
If we had booked 2 rooms and added an extra bed at the Gardens Hotel, the room rate would have been cheaper and we would have enjoyed a better breakfast buffet at the Spread. Why the discrepancy? We paid more for our stay at the Garden Residences and same price for the breakfast as the Gardens Hotel and yet we were given an entirely different treatment.
As with regards to the 2 Bedroom Deluxe, we found it to be quite old and lacking.
Wooden Furniture shows its age. Beds were hard and uncomfortable. Imagine the bath room without clothes hangers? Where does one hang clothes and used towels? Also, a lack of dustbins was a problem. 2 dustbins in the whole apartment?
We will not return to the Garden Residences. Perhaps the Gardens Hotel. I feel the Boulevard Hotel gives a better deal.

Room Tip: Stay at the Gardens Hotel for its Buffet Breakfast spread.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We are disappointed to learn that your hotel stay was not up to expectations. Your comments on breakfast rate is noted; Pastis is the recommended restaurant due to its proximity and location on the ground floor of the Residences and a negotiated rate is available for Residence guests. For logistical reasons, we do not mix the hotel breakfast option with the residences as we have found previously that The Spread Restaurant does not have the capacity to enable this to work effectively. We will pass on your comments to Pastis to see if they can increase the variety to further improve that aspect of their restaurant and meet up to hotel guests’ expectations. With regards to your other comments regarding the 2 Bedroom Deluxe which are taken very seriously, we will look into making improvements where possible. We thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

rooms are brightly lit, spacious and classy.
as it is near mid valley and gardens shopping mall, you can beat traffic while satisfying your shopping needs still.
i gave a 4 for service because the MICE staff are still lacking training and language ability.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie_chua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comment in Trip Advisor site. We note your comments and will work on the areas required for improvements. Thank you for your recent stay and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is in the midst of KL's great shopping area and is surrounded by malls. The Garden Mall and the Big Mall. Both are just huge malls. The reception staff is not friendly at all and bit blunt. The rooms are well appointed and indian food in the room service menu is good. This hotel will be a paradise for the guys who love shopping. This can be approached either by Train from Airport or by Taxi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saurabhagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear reviewer, Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site. We are glad that you enjoyed the shopping malls in Mid Valley City. We regret to to learn that the reception staff was not as friendly as they should have been. Thank you for your other comments and we hope to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed at The Gardens hotel for 2 nights.

Pros:
1. Adjacent to The Garden and Mid Valley shopping mall so good if u wan to go shopping
2. Room is quite comfortable
3. Separate bath and shower and toilet
4. Pre dinner spread at executive lounge is good (5.30-7.30pm). Didn't manage to try the afternoon tea (available 2.30-4.30pm)
5. A range of pillow is available for selection and the feather pillow is good.

Cons:
1. Service is poor for a 5 star hotel. e.g: checked in at 3.30pm and was told that room is not available, laundry send in the morning and got back the nx morning after calling them several times to check for status, inform hotel to clean room and after we went out for a few hours, no one came and clean the room
2. Breakfast food is so so only
3. Difficult to find parking as the hotel doesn't have its dedicated parking slot for its guest (spend about 30 mins looking for parking space after each time going out). There is also a RM5 parking fees that you need to pay each time u exit the hotel, no complimentary parking.

Overall it is an ok hotel but not worth its 5 star rating. Good to stay if you wan to shop and ok with the room charges.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sloopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences-St Giles Luxury Hotel. We are glad that in general your stay was totally fulfilling and we note your comments which we will use for improvements. We look forward to your return stay and thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Upon arrival, the check-in was not smooth. They messed up our booking and actually placed us in a sharing room with a stranger. Very random. Despite that, the rooms are comfortable and clean. Easy access to two connecting malls - Gardens and Midvalley Mall. Helpful when you want to rest or go back to the room to freshen up before continuing more shopping. The metered red budget taxis are plenty (located outside Robinson entrance -behind the lobby and half the price compared to the blue executive taxi in front of the lobby). Easy access to KL central if you are coming from the KLIA express. We took the RM$1 KTM train from KL central to Midvalley. Good value but be sure to check the timetable online before you board/travel. Food is plenty as the basement and all around the two malls are filled with all sorts of cuisines. This hotel is good for family and children with lots of shopping and activities to do. Overall, had a good stay here. Oh if you do need to travel back to the airport via KLIA express, do be mindful of the rush hour to avoid traffic jam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadifar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site. We are very disappointed to learn of your recent stay experience during check-in at The Gardens Hotel & Residences-St Giles Luxury Hotel. We truly regret the inconvenience caused but we are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your hotel stay. Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
#66 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#72 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
864 reviews
1.0 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
#29 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
4,144 reviews
3.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel & Residences

Address: Lingkaran Syed Putra | Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $97 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gardens Hotel & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers who seek an enhanced stay, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is centrally located in the vibrant city of Kuala Lumpur within the precinct of The Gardens, Mid Valley City. Its strategic location combined with unpretentious and warm Malaysian hospitality transforms your ordinary hotel stay into a totally fulfilling experience. The hotel's 647 premier accommodations with 448 elegantly furnished guestrooms at The Gardens Hotel and 199 luxuriously spacious fully serviced residences at The Gardens Residences provides total comfort in well-designed and contemporary decor. Privacy is assured for hotel and residences guests as there are separate entrances and lobbies for each yet access to facilities is seamlessly linked through the 5th and 6th floors of the complex. The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is the first hotel in Malaysia to offer a non smoking environment throughout its guestrooms and enclosed areas. Linked to The Gardens Mall, it is surrounded by a shopping haven featuring key tenants in the form of Robinsons, Isetan, Premier Golden Screen Cineplex as well as over 200 premium branded boutiques and international offices in The Gardens North & South Towers. Undoubtedly, Mid Valley City, Kuala Lumpur is one of Malaysia's favourite destinations providing the most compelling leisure, hospitality, retail and office opportunity in South East Asia. With so much to offer and the world at your doorstep, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is a smart and inspired choice to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Gardens Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens Hotel And Residences
Gardens Hotel Kuala Lumpur
The Gardens Hotel Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing