We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic location, next to biggest shopping complex in Kuala Lumpur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
Ranked #38 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pros:
- Next to Mid-Valley shopping mall and Gardens mall, biggest shopping complex in KL. Tons of shops and restaurants, you will be entertained especially if your focus is on shopping and dining. And if you are tired, just go up to your room and have a nap, and continue your shopping later when refreshed!
- Great location near city centre, can travel by train to KL Central station where you can change to LRT or monorail, or taxi is readily available (just make sure driver is willing to use meter)
- Nice comfortable room, with separate bath and shower. Comfy bed, with good sound insulation. On higher floors, you can get great views of KL city centre
- Good courteous service from staff. Breakfast spread is reasonable (although not 5-star quality due to its limited selection), although you can get better breakfast options from variety of restaurants in mall

Cons:
- Very hard to get taxi during weekends or malls closing time. Be prepared for long queue, unless you are willing to pay extra for hotel taxi.
- Massive traffic jam around hotel and mall area during peak hours and weekends. Some taxi drivers will even refuse fare during these periods.
- Mall is very crowded on weekends, with most restaurants full during meal times, so either eat outside meal times (like 5 pm for dinner or 11.30 am for lunch) or be prepared to queue.

Conclusion:
Nice comfortable hotel, especially if your purpose is shopping and dining, due to its convenient location next to mid-valley mall complex. You will appreciate its convenience, when you are tired from hours of shopping, and all you need to do is to go up to your room and take a nice shower and nap.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotenchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences -St Giles Luxury Hotel. Glad to know that you enjoyed your hotel stay and appreciate the convenience of the seamless and easy access to Mid Valley MegaMall and The Gardens Mall. We note your comments regarding taxi services and we will do what we can to ease the situation and assist hotel guests in the best possible way. Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor site and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Gardens Hotel & Residences-St Giles Luxury Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I like this hotel for its convenient location. Mid valley mega mall is just next door. A lot of choice in terms of food shopping etc. the room itself is v comfortable and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Was pleasantly surprised in this trip when they gave complimentary dried fruit and choc chip cookies and rm 50 voucher as part of their loyalty program. Only complaint about this hotel is the direction the water taps turn when you need to mix hot and cold water at the wash basin or in the shower, always confuses me as to whether the hot or cold water is turned on or off.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonaline39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review on your recent stay experience at The Gardens Hotel & Residences-St Giles Luxury Hotel and we are pleased that it was a totally fulfilling stay. We appreciate you writing in to Trip Advisor site and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went up to KL for a few days and decided that this time we wanted to avoid staying in the city. Ended up choosing to stay at the mid-valley area and was glad with our choice. There are 2 buildings, the residences and hotel and we stayed at the hotel. The room was very spacious and we were able to view the city (including the twin towers and KL tower) from where we were. Room condition was very good and the shower was fantastic. The bed was also extremely comfortable.

The hotel is also connected to The Gardens Shopping Mall as well as Mid-Valley Shopping Centre which gives a huge variety of food and shopping choices. Walking from one end to the other would actually take more than half an hour! Definitely a good place for everyone in the family.

Only problem we had initially was trying to figure out where to park. And after we did find a parking, we had some problem getting into the hotel from the shopping mall since the doors will only open with a key card after 10pm. Fortunately, some guest were just entering and we didn't have to walk a big round.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences -St Giles Luxury Hotel and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor site. We are very glad that you had a totally fulfilling stay with us. Regarding your comment on parking, we are working on getting a dedicated parking area for hotel guests. The keycard only access to the hotel between 10 pm - 10 am is meant for the safety and security of hotel resident guests. Apologies if this has caused you some inconvenience and for future reference, please note that access into the hotel lobby during those hours are via The Gardens Mall Riverview entrance. Once again, thank you for your feedback,see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Gardens residences gives you the pleasure of staying close to the center of big city and the reasonable level of luxury. Adjucent gardens and mega mall provide numerous options for eating out as well as hosts colde storage, for people who have time and energy for cooking. For long term travellers, residence provides all the amenities inhouse such as laundry. Breakfast inclusive doesnt make sense unless you are planning to leave the hotel early when the other outlets in mall are closed. Kitchen is well equipped with limited but only necessory utensils.

Free unlimited internet. Good gym. Never was tempted to try the sage restaurent as couldnt complete all the favourite food joints in gardens.

Access to city center / KLCC is easy. Once you come out of the residence getting a cab is just wave of hands during working hours. Need not book through concierge KL central is the next train station and is a great help as it checks in the baggage for KLIA when you want to avoid the road trip. Trip to KLIA is just 28 minutes train ride. (please add waiting time that varies across days within the week)

The only complaint was about limited number of TV channels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAdvisor_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences-St Giles Luxury Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed Mid Valley City and all it has to offer. It also good to know that the hotel, accommodation and amenities offered met up to your expectations. We take note of your comment on TV channels and rest assured, your feedback is taken seriously. We thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Being a regular to his hotel, we love the cleanliness of the hotel room, the service of the front office staff and others. On top of it all, the location which is located above the shopping centre of Mid-Valley and The Gardens, provide a wide array of shopping needs of different age, social classes etc. It is also easy to move around to the town area with cab or if you are adventurous enough, the bus service is comfortable. Get help from the local, they are friendly and willing to assist.

Room Tip: The high-floor and corner room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farizan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor site. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences-St Giles Luxury Hotel. We truly appreciate your kind feedback and we note your comments in areas where improvements are needed. We look forward to being of service to you again, thank you for your review and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

GHR has all the right things going as a good hotel but it is not a luxury hotel. Convenience for shopping and location in the mid-valley is ideal for shoppers and business visitors. Their breakfast spread is a good variety of mostly local fare. Rooms are spacious. There is even a menu to choose your type of pillows! Rooms on high floors with unit numbers ending with 20- 26 has the city view which makes it pretty at night. The mini-bar in the room is not stocked - a down side. The lighting could be improved - mixture of warm and white lights which mar the comfort of the good sized room. Therefore an average stay for me.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor with unit numbers ending with 20- 26 has the city view which makes it pretty at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetiemine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear reviewer, Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences-St Giles Luxury Hotel and we are grateful for the constructive feedback as well as your comments. We note your other comments and will use it to make improvements where we are lacking. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Attached with most famous KL shopping complex, if you have shopping and dining in mind, this joint can never go wrong. Parking is inclusive for guys who drive here.
Didn't take the breakfast buffet as they are plenty restaurants and food stalls just below. The pool is nice but not too big. A weekend getaway is perfect for local folks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences-St Giles Luxury Hotel. We are delighted to know that your stay experience was satisfactory. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Hotel. Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
#65 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#73 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
886 reviews
1.2 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
#19 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,179 reviews
3.1 mi away
E&O Residences Kuala Lumpur
E&O Residences Kuala Lumpur
#57 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
687 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
#40 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel & Residences

Address: Lingkaran Syed Putra | Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#36 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $101 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gardens Hotel & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers who seek an enhanced stay, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is centrally located in the vibrant city of Kuala Lumpur within the precinct of The Gardens, Mid Valley City. Its strategic location combined with unpretentious and warm Malaysian hospitality transforms your ordinary hotel stay into a totally fulfilling experience. The hotel's 647 premier accommodations with 448 elegantly furnished guestrooms at The Gardens Hotel and 199 luxuriously spacious fully serviced residences at The Gardens Residences provides total comfort in well-designed and contemporary decor. Privacy is assured for hotel and residences guests as there are separate entrances and lobbies for each yet access to facilities is seamlessly linked through the 5th and 6th floors of the complex. The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is the first hotel in Malaysia to offer a non smoking environment throughout its guestrooms and enclosed areas. Linked to The Gardens Mall, it is surrounded by a shopping haven featuring key tenants in the form of Robinsons, Isetan, Premier Golden Screen Cineplex as well as over 200 premium branded boutiques and international offices in The Gardens North & South Towers. Undoubtedly, Mid Valley City, Kuala Lumpur is one of Malaysia's favourite destinations providing the most compelling leisure, hospitality, retail and office opportunity in South East Asia. With so much to offer and the world at your doorstep, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is a smart and inspired choice to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Gardens Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens Hotel And Residences
Gardens Hotel Kuala Lumpur
The Gardens Hotel Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing