We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Facilities and Services are below expectation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
Ranked #39 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Perai, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Facilities and Services are below expectation.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family (me, wife and 2 kids) stayed at The Garden Residence for 2 nights on Mar 23 to 25 during school holiday weekend. We family selected this The Garden because we wanted to do some shopping at MidValley and visiting relatives near this area and the hotel has received good reviews at Tripadvisor. As we need 2 rooms, we opted for the The Garden Residence's two bedroom apartment suites.

Bad experience with this hotel started the moment we arrived. We drove to Kuala Lumpur with our family car and on arrival at the apartment/ hotel, we are told there is no dedicated hotel parking but has to use the common car-park of The Garden shopping center. Parking is extremely difficult to get on a busy Saturday and has to wait very long before one become available. If you are driving, I would suggest anyone to avoid this hotel as parking become a big hassle if you drive in and out.

Nothing in this hotel that meet my modest expectation.
1. For breakfast, the Garden Residence has a different breakfast spread compare with the hotel. Don't opt for breakfast as this will be dissapointing.
2. The hotel furniture is pretty old and little worn out. Also the chair and sofa is dusty.
3. Housekeeping service is slow as they seems to rely the staff from the Hotel to serve the Residence which is about 400m away.

Certainly, this hotel is not worth the high price that we have paid for. I regretted chosing this hotel and will not recommend anyone to stay here. There are plenty of choices in KL, even during peak holiday period. I would suggest you shop carefully.

Room Tip: Don't stay here is you are driving as parking is extremely difficult to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefflow242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur. Regarding your comment on the hotel carpark, please be informed that there are plans for a dedicated carpark for hotel guests and we are looking forward to the completion of the project. On that note, we regret to learn of the inconvenience caused by the parking situation during your arrival. We note your other comments and will take steps to improve the situations. We sincerely apologise that we did not meet up to your expectations but we do hope that you will give us another chance to make amends. We thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site and we hope to see you again at The Gardens Hotel & Residences the next time you are in Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    546
    164
    50
    50
See reviews for
334
148
47
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The bathrooms in this hotel is one of the biggest. A separate toilet area with a glass door, tub and shower as well. You could do jumping jacks in here if you wanted to! For a 5 star hotel it is as expected. The room furniture feels a bit dated but it is clean and carpet is nice. located by the Gardens Mall and Midvalley it's an excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NivekKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your stay experience at The Gardens Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur, on Trip Advisor site. We are very pleased that you had a totally fulfilling stay and we enjoyed having you with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the vibrant city of Kuala Lumpur!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed in a two room apartment with the family. The apartment is a old and in need of refurbishing. Everything appears to be run down. The aircon vent in the master bedroom is covered with a cardboard and masking tape! I presume it was too cold and the thermostat/fan did not work properly.

I also found there was not enough storage for your clothes. You would have expected more in an apartment. I had to live out of a suitcase.

I had stayed in the same property not long ago and I remembered it to be much better. Things have gone downhill in a short time. The last time we had free wifi in the room although I believe it was limited to three users.

This time, there was NO WIFI at all although the wireless router was still in the room but unplugged. I rang maintenance. They took a long time and finally came up to have a look, then said that WIFI is no longer available in the property. Then promised to "find out" what they can do and come back to me. They rang back and said there was nothing they can do but if I would like to move to a lower floor, WIFI MAY be available. By this stage, we had already unpacked so we decided to stay.

We also found ants on my daughter's bed and also in my niece's bed in ANOTHER apartment. We rang housekeeping and they tried to clean up but we still found ants later that night.

The great thing about the resort is the location. The garden mall is downstairs and the Mid Vally Mega Mall is the adjacent building.

Traffic is pretty bad at certain times getting in and out of the resort though.

Like I said. I stayed at this place previously and enjoyed it. This time, it was quite a turnaround. I came back once but I would not be back.

Room Tip: Do not unpack. Check the room and ask to change if not satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiantravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We are grateful for your constructive feedback and most importantly we now have the chance to make good and improve. We are surprised to learn of your comment regarding lack of wardrobes as this is the first such comment of this nature. We shall start a record of this feedback to ascertain improvement needs. As for the Wi Fi issue, we note that you stayed at the Hotel in January 2013 and we were in the process of upgrading our wifi service at that time. During this time, although WiFi was not available, internet connection was available in the hotel via LAN connections. We are pleased to inform you that the Wi Fi upgrade has been completed and we no longer face Wifi issues. Your comment regarding the ants issue is noted, our contractor does carry out regular pest control but occasionally, rectifying a problem such as ants does take a prolonged program of eradication. Please be assured that ants are no longer present in the Residence building. We regret that your recent stay here did not meet up to expectations. We hope that this will not deter you from staying at The Gardens Hotel & Residences the next time you are in Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel a few times during business trips and it certainly did not disappoint in terms of service and room arrangements. It is also conveniently located next to Midvalley and The gardens mall thus making leisure "right next door". The in-room service is efficient and the staff ever so helpful. Did not have the time to try out their facilities such as the SPA/gym/Swimming pool so no comments there. Overall, value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson1982_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you and glad to know that you are a regular guest at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We are even more pleased to learn that you are satisfied with the hotel, facilities and services provided. The next time you are here, we hope that you have more time to enjoy the other facilities provided. Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor site and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a non smoking hotel. Convenient location for me as my clients are near KLCC area. Taxis are plentiful. 2 Malls (connected) just beside the hotel. Rooms are clean & the decent room space. Toilet is nice & clean. Internet connection (WiFi) is good. Using Skype for calls is not a problem. The cafe on the 6th floor does not have buffet for dinner (except weekends) but it does serve al le carte and beside the hotel are 2 malls with plenty of food places to eat. This is my first stay at this hotel and I would come back again (in another 3 week's time). Room service is good as well. The hotel does require you to use your door card to access to your hotel floor. Good security to prevent unwanted guests.

Room Tip: Non Smoking Hotel. Facilities in the room are ok. I choose a lower floor so i could get to the cafe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking your time to write-in to Trip Advisor. We are very glad to learn that the hotel, facilities and service met up to your expectations. Safety and security is one of our main guest concerns and we are pleased to know that it is appreciated. Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to serve you better in your next visit. Look forward to welcoming you back soon, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stay in this hotel with my family. It was very nice hotel with the shopping complex just the next too it. The main problem I face was the traffic to go to the hotel was very bad during that time and to find the parking in Midvalley is one of the difficult assignment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site. We regret to know about the traffic and parking woes and we are sure that with the completion of our carpark project, parking will soon be an issue in the past. We thank you for your continuous patronage and hope to welcome you back soon at The Gardens Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Gardens hotel last week for 3 nights! Highly recommend this hotel as the service is fantastic and staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is out of the city centre but that's the reason why I chose to stay away. The hotel is situated right next to the Garden and Mega Mall which provides pretty much everything you need such as good shopping and great food. Will definitly stay at The Gardens Hotel when I make another trip to KL again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBFunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Jaclyn Low at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind comments in Trip Advisor site and we are very pleased to learn that your hotel stay experience met up to your expectations. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to welcoming you back to The Gardens Hotel & Residences, Kuala Lumpur! See you real soon and thank you for sharing your recent experience at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
#65 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#66 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#15 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
#28 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
3.4 mi away
Fraser Residence Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Residence Kuala Lumpur
#30 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel & Residences

Property: The Gardens Hotel & Residences
Address: Lingkaran Syed Putra | Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gardens Hotel & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers who seek an enhanced stay, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is centrally located in the vibrant city of Kuala Lumpur within the precinct of The Gardens, Mid Valley City. Its strategic location combined with unpretentious and warm Malaysian hospitality transforms your ordinary hotel stay into a totally fulfilling experience. The hotel's 647 premier accommodations with 448 elegantly furnished guestrooms at The Gardens Hotel and 199 luxuriously spacious fully serviced residences at The Gardens Residences provides total comfort in well-designed and contemporary decor. Privacy is assured for hotel and residences guests as there are separate entrances and lobbies for each yet access to facilities is seamlessly linked through the 5th and 6th floors of the complex. The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is the first hotel in Malaysia to offer a non smoking environment throughout its guestrooms and enclosed areas. Linked to The Gardens Mall, it is surrounded by a shopping haven featuring key tenants in the form of Robinsons, Isetan, Premier Golden Screen Cineplex as well as over 200 premium branded boutiques and international offices in The Gardens North & South Towers. Undoubtedly, Mid Valley City, Kuala Lumpur is one of Malaysia's favourite destinations providing the most compelling leisure, hospitality, retail and office opportunity in South East Asia. With so much to offer and the world at your doorstep, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is a smart and inspired choice to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gardens Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens Hotel And Residences
Gardens Hotel Kuala Lumpur
The Gardens Hotel Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing