We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Direct access to the malls from the hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
Ranked #39 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Direct access to the malls from the hotel!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The reception is quite prompt in service and we were given a room within 15min. Prompt but not exactly friendly. But we appreciate the promptness more than friendliness.

The room are designed simply but is good size, looks better than the pictures. It has a huge comfortable bed and a armchair by the window which offers some good views, and a huge tv with good selections of channels but there aren't much Chinese channels.

Bathroom wise, it is quite luxury with a big basin area, a separate bathtub from the shower area and the toiletries are well provided. Rooms are well clean and maintained.

The garden has direct access to a couple of malls which is very continent! Especially the mid-valley mall is so huge with the 4 wings, it will take at least 2 whole days to explore. definitely great for shopaholics and you will be spoiled by the vast selection of food!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We are pleased to know that your stay here was totally fulfilling and are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. Good to know that you also had the time to explore the two major shopping malls in Mid Valley City ; Mega Mall Mid Valley and The Gardens Mall. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, Mid Valley the next time your travels bring you to the vibrant city of Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    546
    164
    50
    50
See reviews for
334
148
47
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
168 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Staying here for the second time, i have to say i liked it because of various reasons. One - the prize is reasonable for a four star hotel. It is clean and modern. The room is big and bright, modern decoration style. The toilet and shower area is big, with separate toilet cubicle and shower room.

The location is great as it is connected to the Mid Valley Mega Mall so if you like shopping around for bargain deals, that is a perfect place to stay. lots of restuarants of various kind from fast food, food courts , medium to high end classy restuarants.

The gym is ok, with enough equipment for those gym rats and large swimming pool with nice sun deck and pool bar.

The internet connection is great , with cable line in the room and wifi as well.

Only thing i am not impressed is the breakfast food at the hotel restuarant as there are not much healthy choices, too much fried /oily chinese & malay foods. Although there are lots of things to choose from but would be nice to have some healthy foods too.

So i would like to recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for great location, nice hotel with reasonable prizes.

Room Tip: rooms with higher floor give you great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sombatbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor site. We are pleased to know you returned for another stay and you had a totally fulfilling stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, amenities and location in Mid Valley City. Thank you for your comments on the breakfast spread which we will take into serious consideration. We appreciate you recommending our hotel to travellers intending to stay in Kuala Lumpur. Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at the Gardens for a week in October 2012. I have no complaints. My colleague did regret not having read reviews of this hotel and not learning to ask for a room that faces the pool and disco. He was bothered by the music late into the night. (The disco is between the hotel and the residences tower, one level above the outdoor pool.) Rooms higher than the 15th floor are better. Corner rooms are larger and have nice panoramic view windows. Some aspects of the hotel are getting tired. The carpeting needs to be replaced and the upholstery removed from the walls on the meeting room floors. The hotel is showing its age, but is very nice with all the amenities I needed. The pool is big enough to swim laps in and there was never a crowd in the health club. My room was clean and attractive and the bathroom was very nice: It had a separate room for the toilet and for the bath/shower. For those who care alot about the bath facilities, the room was excellent. It had a rain shower head on the cieling, a hand shower on the wall and a separate bathtub.
There are many dining alternatives nearbye since the hotel adjoins two huge malls. If you want to shop, the hotel is very convenient. If you want to see the city and experience the nightlife, you are in Mid Valley city, a 14 minute cab drive from any area you can walk around and find some nightlife.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up and not overlooking the pool are better. Corner rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site and we appreciate the review of you recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We regret that your colleague's sleep was disrupted by music from the club and the Hotel is doing all possible to address this issue. We note your comments regarding the carpet and upholstery on meeting room floors and will look into improving it. We are glad that you had a totally fulfilling stay with and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Gardens Hotel & Residences the next time you are in Kuala Lumpur. Once again, thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel pretty ok, rooms, bath & bed are nice. Has quite a nice size pool to do laps, gym ok but a bit basic.

Not recommended if you drive and intend to go in/out of the car park. Hard to find car park, vallet parking is expensive at RM15 per entry. Hotel should provide free car park to all hotel guest. Getting to and getting out of Mid valley can me madness especially during peak hour. Can take 30min just to get around the mid valley area - not a fault of the hotel, but this needs to improve. It's ok to stay here without a car and just hang around mid valley.

Wifi signal does not cover all parts of the hotel, can't receive at some sections.

There is a side door which links directly in to Midvalley - very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fido88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We are pleased that your stay here was delightful. We are aware and as concerned as you are about the car park and traffic situation and currently some plans are in place to improve those concerns. As for Wifi signals, appreciate if you could let us know the "weak" areas so that we may look into the issue. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the convenience of retail therapy at our doorstep and we hope to see you soon. Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

i had been on official visit to KL .Last time i had stayed at Hilton Petaling Jaya which i have reviewed and it was not good .This time i was put in the Garden Hotel .The check in was smooth . The hotel is spic and span , very new and big advantage it is a non smoking hotel . Room is very good , new furniture , clean linen and excellent room service . they have a large vegetarian option and the portions are very generous .I defintely liked thei alu gobi,daal ,rice and popadums .Morning newspaper on time .Buffet break fast was a good spread .Very efficient staff .The swimming pool is awesome and i had a very relaxing swim on the last day before checking out.The big advantage of the hotel is the location ,The mid valley mall is just beside and has a large shopping mall and also so many eating options .It is a happening place at evening and so convenient to do shopping for the family .

Room Tip: the rooms either face the pool or the other side the Petronas Tower can be seen which is like jewel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravichandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience on Trip Advisor site. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. Thank you for your kind compliments and positive comments. It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope that you will be back soon. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Part of a shopping mall with lots of eating places, quite attractive hotel about 45 minutes away from KL International airport. Check in efficient and friendly, rooms ok size, carpet slightly tired, but bathroom and shower good and bed very comfortable. Free internet access, which is fast and reliable. Breakfast extensive and overall a good hotel for a brief stay.

Room Tip: Slowish lift, aim for room on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback in Trip Advisor site. We are delighted to learn that your stay experience at The Gardens Hotel & Residences was totally fulfilling. We look forward to your next stay with us the next time you are in Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed 1 night in this hotel, it was the first time I came here.
I had a bad experience at the arrival. After a long flight from Amsterdam and a 1 h taxi drive I was tired and wanted to rest. But upon arrival there was a computer failure so they were not able to book me in. First I had to wait in the main entrance but after 10 minutes someone noticed that I had a reservation for an executive room and I was brought to the club floor to wait further. After at least an hour I lost my patience and demanded my room and told them to book me manually. Finaly I got my room key. Then they asked me my luggage ticket, but I didn't received one after handing over my luggage.
The room was comfotable and the adjecent shopping mall was very nice.
I had breakfast at the clubfloor which was reasonable but not extensive.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are expensive and not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred_1956085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor site. We have checked on what transpired and regretfully at the time of your check in, we did experience an electronic system failure at Front Desk, which locked our rooms control system for a period of time. The Executive Lounge associate who was on duty tried her best to resolve the situation by carrying out manual checking in but as there were quite a number of other waiting guests, this could not be done as efficiently as when using the normal check in system. We sincerely regret that your wait was longer than expected or intended and we thank you for despite having experienced this, your other favourable comments were made. We are sure that on your next visit to KL that you will notice a marked difference should you decide to stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. Thank you once again for writing in to Trip Advisor site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
#65 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#66 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#15 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
#28 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
3.4 mi away
Fraser Residence Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Residence Kuala Lumpur
#30 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel & Residences

Property: The Gardens Hotel & Residences
Address: Lingkaran Syed Putra | Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gardens Hotel & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers who seek an enhanced stay, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is centrally located in the vibrant city of Kuala Lumpur within the precinct of The Gardens, Mid Valley City. Its strategic location combined with unpretentious and warm Malaysian hospitality transforms your ordinary hotel stay into a totally fulfilling experience. The hotel's 647 premier accommodations with 448 elegantly furnished guestrooms at The Gardens Hotel and 199 luxuriously spacious fully serviced residences at The Gardens Residences provides total comfort in well-designed and contemporary decor. Privacy is assured for hotel and residences guests as there are separate entrances and lobbies for each yet access to facilities is seamlessly linked through the 5th and 6th floors of the complex. The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is the first hotel in Malaysia to offer a non smoking environment throughout its guestrooms and enclosed areas. Linked to The Gardens Mall, it is surrounded by a shopping haven featuring key tenants in the form of Robinsons, Isetan, Premier Golden Screen Cineplex as well as over 200 premium branded boutiques and international offices in The Gardens North & South Towers. Undoubtedly, Mid Valley City, Kuala Lumpur is one of Malaysia's favourite destinations providing the most compelling leisure, hospitality, retail and office opportunity in South East Asia. With so much to offer and the world at your doorstep, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is a smart and inspired choice to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gardens Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens Hotel And Residences
Gardens Hotel Kuala Lumpur
The Gardens Hotel Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing