We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My weekend in The gardens hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
Ranked #38 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for three days and two nights (Sept 28-30, 2012) deluxe room and this hotel is the best! I love the amenities, spacious room and the view from our room. I wish I would have stay in this hotel a longer time however since we have a limited time, we spent so much time wondering Malaysia. If I will go back to Malaysia, I will definitely book this hotel again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear reviewer, Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site and for your kind feedback about your recent experience at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We are very pleased that your stay was a totally fulfilling one and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel, the next time you return to Kuala Lumpur during your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is great, no mistake i believe. I'm here not for business trip or nor holiday, i'm staying here because our family has a wedding. We stay at the hotel for 3 days and 2 nights and they stay at the residences, both amazing. (as most of the time we stay at more to budget hotel)

The service is great, the room is very clean. one thing thou, first time when i use the bathtub the water turn brown, then i re-fill again, and it's clear. maybe the water at that time is not good.
The shower drain quite slow, but not till flooded :P

Location is above the garden mall & mid valley mall can go through basement. it's such a huge mall, you can find almost anything here. Shopping queen.... you definitely love this place.

One quite big let down is, the internet is somehow always down on the hotel site (rooms), while when i went to the residences area where the bride and groom stay, it always available and in good speed. so different quality?

Breakfast? quite average, not really like 5 star hotel. but can't complain thou coz i got what i want to eat...

Room Tip: All room is good, ask for high floor, better view and privacy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazy_Dharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at The Gardens Hotel & Residences on Trip Advisor site. We are pleased that your stay was a totally fulfilling one and the hotel service and facilities met up to your expectations. We note your comments on the water and internet and are taking steps to rectify both issues. We are glad that you had the time to enjoy some shopping in Mid Valley City, Malaysia's favourite destination and we look forward to your next visit again in the near future. Once, again, thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The room are large, especially the bathroom. Nice design, although simple.
There were works all around the hotel so the view was bad. But the room was very quiet, and the staff very helpful.
Excellent English.
We didn't try the restaurant, we spent only one night and had to leave early to catch a flight.
Great location, 2 minutes walking from Mid Valley Mega Mall, restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience on Trip Advisor site. We are pleased to know that your stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences was totally fulfilling. Hopefully the next time you are in Kuala Lumpur, you will be able to spend more time enjoying the Hotel and Mid Vallley City. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Don't expect a five star experience, despite the claims on the hotel's website. It's definitely the best of the three hotels in Mid-valley, but if you book here expecting a true five star hotel, you will be disappointed. Reasons:
- rooms looking tired e.g curtains falling off the railings, shower doesn't drain well, towels are thin and worn
- i saw some ants in the bathroom when I checked in today
- gym is very basic, and leaks near the exercise bikes when it rains
- when i got back to my room tonite at 1am, I made a simple request for a shower cap. No one turned up, and no one tried explain why they can't meet this request - despite me making a call a second time. When I tried to call the front desk, no one picked up the phone. I guess hotel service stops after midnight?
- they can't accommodate wifi access for more than two devices. When I stayed in Sukothai Hotel in Bangkok, I was given access to six devices for me and my husband, since we travel with our work laptops, ipads and iphones.

This is based on three stays I have had in Gardens Hotel in the past three months. Fine for a short business trip, but not for a personal luxury experience.

I go on business trips two to three weeks in a month, and have stayed in five star hotels all over the world. Based on my experience, the Gardens Hotel has some improvements to make before it can compare to five star hotels such as Sukothai Hotel or Plaza Athenee in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orientalkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor site. We have taken note of your comments and truly appreciate your feedback in the areas, as highlighted. We will redouble our efforts to improve where we can. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Gardens Hotel & Residences the next time you visit Kuala Lumpur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is strategically located between two malls, easy accessibility, rooms were ok nothing great.

Housekeeping was poor. Internet dint use to connect after 10 pm.

A friend who had stayed at this hotel in the past, while comparing suggested that the standard has really gone down. The gym which had a huge hall only had three treadmills init which in the mornings were always busy. There was a queue system there.

Food was ok. Smoked Turkey slices were smelly.

Got stuck in the lift twice !!!! N the staff conveniently said 'sir doing service'
Complained about the same to the Front Desk and guess what no apology !

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Ess E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor site and we appreciate you recent stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur. We are delighted that you found the Hotel and the shopping malls to be satisfactory. However, we sincerely regret that the quality of water and internet speed at the Hotel was not up to expectations during your stay. Based on your feedback, we are monitoring the situation to undertake corrective steps to improve the shortcomings. Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor site and we look forward to your next visit at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, Kuala Lumpur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lived in the Executive Floors. Delightful service staff. Great breakfast variety and quality in the Spread".
Parking at the Premier "U" Sector is very reassurring, given the spate of car-park crimes in K.L.
Have a number of meals in the food outlets in the adjoining "shopping complex". Most exceed expectations in tastes and are reasonable in prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Reviewer, We are pleased that you had a totally fulfilling stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for your positive feedback and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel because its located at a strategic shopping mall. The restaurant, rooms and the gym is very average. The lifts don't function properly, the gym has only very few equipment in a very spacious environment, the executive lounge is only for the hotels convience. You could stay in bukit bintang and have more options.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roshan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunicationsMgr, Communications Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments in Trip Advisor site and we will look into the areas of concern for further improvements. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
#65 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#73 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
886 reviews
1.2 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
#19 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,179 reviews
3.1 mi away
E&O Residences Kuala Lumpur
E&O Residences Kuala Lumpur
#57 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
687 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
#40 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel & Residences

Address: Lingkaran Syed Putra | Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#36 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $100 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gardens Hotel & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers who seek an enhanced stay, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is centrally located in the vibrant city of Kuala Lumpur within the precinct of The Gardens, Mid Valley City. Its strategic location combined with unpretentious and warm Malaysian hospitality transforms your ordinary hotel stay into a totally fulfilling experience. The hotel's 647 premier accommodations with 448 elegantly furnished guestrooms at The Gardens Hotel and 199 luxuriously spacious fully serviced residences at The Gardens Residences provides total comfort in well-designed and contemporary decor. Privacy is assured for hotel and residences guests as there are separate entrances and lobbies for each yet access to facilities is seamlessly linked through the 5th and 6th floors of the complex. The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is the first hotel in Malaysia to offer a non smoking environment throughout its guestrooms and enclosed areas. Linked to The Gardens Mall, it is surrounded by a shopping haven featuring key tenants in the form of Robinsons, Isetan, Premier Golden Screen Cineplex as well as over 200 premium branded boutiques and international offices in The Gardens North & South Towers. Undoubtedly, Mid Valley City, Kuala Lumpur is one of Malaysia's favourite destinations providing the most compelling leisure, hospitality, retail and office opportunity in South East Asia. With so much to offer and the world at your doorstep, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is a smart and inspired choice to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Gardens Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens Hotel And Residences
Gardens Hotel Kuala Lumpur
The Gardens Hotel Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing