We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kuala Lumpur
Post
Inbox
Search

“Nice concept but bad service”

Botanica+Co Restaurant & Bar
Reserve a Table
Ranked #482 of 5,852 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $7 - $14
Description: A respite within the concrete jungle of Bangsar South, a place where you can approach at anytime, to wind down or to catch up. Inspired by the botanics, the feeling of dining outdoor amidst lush greenery is captured inside the restaurant as you dine amidst two stately Ficus trees and a greenhouse-themed interior. Botanica+Co is produce-driven, therefore our chef pays special attention to importing quality ingredients and also in sourcing for the best and freshest local produce every day. This is your hangout for unpretentious hearty food, great drinks and warm conversations for every spirit and occasion.
Restaurant details
Description: A respite within the concrete jungle of Bangsar South, a place where you can approach at anytime, to wind down or to catch up. Inspired by the botanics, the feeling of dining outdoor amidst lush greenery is captured inside the restaurant as you dine amidst two stately Ficus trees and a greenhouse-themed interior. Botanica+Co is produce-driven, therefore our chef pays special attention to importing quality ingredients and also in sourcing for the best and freshest local produce every day. This is your hangout for unpretentious hearty food, great drinks and warm conversations for every spirit and occasion.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The concept is nice and special; however, do not expect the same for the service!
I was there for lunch last Saturday for friend's birthday because most of the reviews on their website were positive but sad to say we did not experience the same.
With the name of Botanica, we were expected the restaurant is an environmental friendly restaurant, sadly, they served drink with plastic straw, not even paper straw. We were there for about 1.5 hours for lunch, none of them gave us a small smile since we stepped into the restaurant. The feeling was so strange because it was like we were asking for food and their are giving us those pricey food for free!
We ordered Roasted Chicken but the chicken was over cooked and dry, and when we requested to have extra sauce, no one bother to help. After the 4th attempt, luckily this Bangladeshi waiter walked to us and offered the service.
In my opinion, this place has nice concept but too crowded (tables were set-up too near to each other which caused less privacy when diners would to have small chat), pricey menu but quality is average, wait staffs are not friendly and warm.
Not worth to try!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jasonngan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashrul Q, Customer Service Executive at Botanica+Co Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jasonngan,

Thank you for taking your time off to write us a review and to rate the restaurant.

We’re sorry to hear of your less than satisfactory experience and was not up to your expectations. Thank you for sharing your feedback about the food and the attentiveness of service extended to you. This has been brought up to the team's attention to take note about it to see how we can improve ourselves to meet all of our customers expectations.

Kindly rest assure that the straw used in the restaurant is actually biodegradable straws which is made from corn starch called PLA straws.

The team appreciates you bringing this to our attention and will use the feedback to keep on improving ourselves and serve you better next time.

Regards,
Team Botanica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 175 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

After reading expat is KL review, I want to come here for a long time... But didn't have a chance to... Till last week... So of cause I had high home for great brunch... But it turn out that good was just basic and coffee was just so so... So I was a bit disappointed.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Soloista-Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashrul Q, Customer Service Executive at Botanica+Co Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2020

Hi

Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. The team has taken good note of it and will use the feedback to look into improving our quality.

We’re sorry you had a disappointing experience, We hope you to have a better one next time.

Regards,
Team Botanica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019

A bit pricey but the menu allows you to have some things other places don't offer. Varied seating options alow a single to sit at the bar. The entire locations has 5 varied food options.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank jmptrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashrul Q, Customer Service Executive at Botanica+Co Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2020

Hi

We are so grateful for your kind words and glad you had a pleasant experience at Botanica + Co.

Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community on TripAdvisor.

Hope to have you dine with us again!

Cheers,
Team Botanica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019

Loved the Ambience of this venue, very relaxing and comfortable, the food from the kitchen is generous portions and the price is very reasonable considering what you can pay in other nearby restaurants. Good place to take family

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bigjohn888888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashrul Q, Customer Service Executive at Botanica+Co Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2020

Hi bigjohn888888888,

Thank you for the kind review you have wrote about the restaurant and we appreciate the time had taken to share your feedback with us and the community.

We are happy to know that you had a pleasant experience, the team will definitely be happy to read what you wrote.

Hope to see you again!

Cheers,
Team Botanica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019

The service is beyond bad, even for kl standards. They kept reminding us that our table had to be vacated at 845pm for their 9pm guests, which I understand. However, at 830pm, the "manager" came to me, and whispered to my ears, "mam, reminder that its 830pm now, while we were all still eating". I was shocked with such terrible service. I have never ever been subjected to such service. I told him you are stressing me out for no reason.

We ordered an extra pasta at 818pm. It never came. When we asked for our bill at 850pm, they insisted that the kitchen had made the pasta, but the pasta never made it to our table. They insisted that we pay for the pasta. Eventually, after much hoohah, the waiter just placed the new bill, without the pasta, in front of me. I have never experienced such bad service in a long time.

And oh, the food is so so at best!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Explorer716366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashrul Q, Customer Service Executive at Botanica+Co Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2020

Hi,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We're very sorry we failed to meet your expectations and team has taken note about your feedback.

We would like to understand more about this incident and hope you are able to drop us an email to info@botanica.com.my with more details of the reservation and the incident.

We hope you to hear from you and wish to serve you better the next time.

Cheers,
Team Botanica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanica+Co Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Botanica+Co Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing