We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Scummy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheelers Guest House
Ranked #180 of 329 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Cheap and Scummy”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is probably the cheapest around and if your very easygoing about hygiene then go for it. I went in to book a room the day before my arrival and the person at the front never put it in their book so I ended up having to take a dorm when I arrived. From what I could see through the windows into other guests rooms (which is very easy) the rooms are cleaner and better than the dorms, which look like Nike sweatshop accommodation (actually worse, I looked at pictures from expose's human rights journalists have taken for a comparison). My sheets were stained and had holes on them, I made friends with plenty of cockroaches that crawled out from under my bed and the air con was set to a chilly temperature at night so make sure you wear layers. The showers/ toilets are a hit and miss, and the bed frames don't seem to actually be screwed together properly so rock around a fair bit. The vague staff are nice though in a totally camp way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_E89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    20
    26
    23
See reviews for
2
30
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Lonely planet rates this as a reasonable place to stay in KL, but god knows why... I stayed twice for my sins, the second time was out of necessity really, but both times it was dirty, crawling with bugs and not the most comfortable. Also, on my second visit they tried to charge for wifi which is, for asia anyways, pretty unusual.

It is cheap, but there are better places for a few extra ringgit just around the corner. I tend to find with KL that you do need to book in advance, especially around Chinatown, so do yourself a favour, pre book somewhere else (transit point or ribbon stayz for example) and avoid this place if atall possible.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else before you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchii_feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Uppingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed here in July 2012 on a world challenge expedition. The kids booked the hostel based on the Lonely Planet review & it was a real disappointment. For 'quirky' you should read dirty. The smoking in the stairwell & on the landing made it uncomfortable for other guests, the bed sheets were grey & ripped, the paint on the walls was peeling and chunks of plaster were missing. Security in some rooms was a concern as there were glass slats onto the corridors that could easily be opened & reached through. The breakfast menu looked good but there was no one there in the morning to serve it so we went to an excellent cafe around the corner (Youseff's) instead. I'm sure there are better hostels in the budget range.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Came across Wheeler's on a recommendation from fellow travelers after hearing it was the cheapest hostel they could find in the area. While it does come in at the lowest cost, the rooms are best referred to as "bomb shelters". While it's not terrible if you're only looking for a place to crash, when my boyfriend & I had some downtime during our travels in KL, we never wanted to go back to the hostel to relax, so despite saving money by staying there, we spent what we saved on avoiding the hostel during daylight hours.

If you want to stay somewhere that's equal the price & 1 street away from Wheelers, see my review for BirdNest 2, Rm35 and a MUCH better value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aminkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

As two backpacking long term travelers on a very tight budget, sharing a double basic fan room at the rate of 33 Rinngit a night was the best option in Kuala Lumpur where it is not easy to find a cheap decent room. We searched high and low and this was the best price in the area - other options are standard air con starting at 60 a night

Wheelers may not be pretty but it is clean enough and the bathrooms are consistently maintained throughout the day.

An un-inviting entrance may deter many travelers but once on the second floor you find a quirky, kitch, and inexpensive guesthouse with giant aquariums housing odd but interesting looking creatures. It provides very basic fan rooms with shared bathrooms that are a great value for the price. A double room is the same price as a single bed in the popular hostel across the road. It has free wifi and a good free buffet dinner on Friday nights. The rooftop has the potential to be sociable. Due to the convenient location and the price, I stayed her two times during my time in SE Asia.

I would recommend Wheelers for backpacker singles, couples, and friends on shoestring budgets that are comfortable in a very basic fan room and aren't looking for flashpacker style accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAbackpackerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The place was dirty, the rooms were awfully hot, and the owner had a really weird monkey as a pet. Also, they say there's free barbeque at the rooftop, but that's only on friday, and the other days you can't even go to the rooftop to chill. Run away from this guesthouse!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Cheapest place you'll find in KL but very dirty! Shared toilets/showers are awful and toilets never flush. Room is pretty manky but for £8 for a double room with aircon in KL you cant complain.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Amigo Hotel
Amigo Hotel
#86 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#69 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
645 reviews
1.0 mi away
Irsia Bed & Breakfast
Irsia Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 329 in Kuala Lumpur
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Matahari Lodge
Matahari Lodge
#19 of 329 in Kuala Lumpur
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#3 of 329 in Kuala Lumpur
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natalie Guesthouse
Natalie Guesthouse
#70 of 329 in Kuala Lumpur
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelers Guest House

Property: Wheelers Guest House
Address: Wheelers Guest House 131-133 Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new Management, Wheelers Guest House is one of the famous budget hotels amongst backpackers in KL City. With new affordable rates, better atmosphere and free services, you'll get more bang for your buck. Wheelers is not like other typical budget hostels, We actually care about our guests and try to make their stay as pleasant as possible, with knowledgeable friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere So whats changed since Feb 2015? Free Toast & Jam Breakfast from 7 - 11am. 24 / 7 Reception 24 / 7 Free tea & Coffee (mainly so our receptionist doesn't fall asleep) Free High Speed Wifi on both floors, and on the roof Rooftop area (cant really call it a terrace yet... But its being slowly improved) Free Baggage storage Free transfers to Penang & Melaka (we have hostels there as well, and its subject to availability) No Hidden Costs So next time you are in KL, come by and check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Wheelers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheelers Guest House Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing