We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for Budget Travelers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheelers Guest House
Ranked #170 of 322 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ideal for Budget Travelers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

As two backpacking long term travelers on a very tight budget, sharing a double basic fan room at the rate of 33 Rinngit a night was the best option in Kuala Lumpur where it is not easy to find a cheap decent room. We searched high and low and this was the best price in the area - other options are standard air con starting at 60 a night

Wheelers may not be pretty but it is clean enough and the bathrooms are consistently maintained throughout the day.

An un-inviting entrance may deter many travelers but once on the second floor you find a quirky, kitch, and inexpensive guesthouse with giant aquariums housing odd but interesting looking creatures. It provides very basic fan rooms with shared bathrooms that are a great value for the price. A double room is the same price as a single bed in the popular hostel across the road. It has free wifi and a good free buffet dinner on Friday nights. The rooftop has the potential to be sociable. Due to the convenient location and the price, I stayed her two times during my time in SE Asia.

I would recommend Wheelers for backpacker singles, couples, and friends on shoestring budgets that are comfortable in a very basic fan room and aren't looking for flashpacker style accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAbackpackerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    20
    26
    22
See reviews for
2
29
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The place was dirty, the rooms were awfully hot, and the owner had a really weird monkey as a pet. Also, they say there's free barbeque at the rooftop, but that's only on friday, and the other days you can't even go to the rooftop to chill. Run away from this guesthouse!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Cheapest place you'll find in KL but very dirty! Shared toilets/showers are awful and toilets never flush. Room is pretty manky but for £8 for a double room with aircon in KL you cant complain.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

This was my first guesthouse what I visited in Malaysia. So now I know that for same money I can except more commfort and cleanlines that how it is in Wheelers. But location is very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Not incredibly bad. Has a nice decor and the boss is a nice guy. The rooms unfortunately not clean. Our sheets had stains on them and there were cockroaches everywhere. The rooftop terrace is very nice tho.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I couldn't talk much about this guesthouse, it's really match for you because the price is indeed low, room was just like that with fan and bed, they have very old fashion elevator, shared bathroom was terrible, on the last day there is no water at all. The man who person in charge in front desk, can't talk english and unfriendly. Dont expect too much, except the location and price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amelup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stathelle, Telemark, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

It's not the highest class of hostels I've seen, but hey, the room I asked for had an AC, and my room was seemingly clean and OK. As for the hotwater mentioned in other reviews, it was only one working properly. And the booth this was in, didn't have a functioning lock. We lived here for a short week, as some of our friends stayed in Le Village a few hundred meters away. We'd been to Melacca a few days since first coming to KL, and I refused to go back to LeVillage. What a goddamn dump. Wheelers felt like an oasis compared to that. Cheap, even with the AC room, 45RM or so. Central in China Town. Reggae Bar across the street. Quite nice there!
Never ordered food, as Subway is kinda close. Dude with the long, kinda light hair was real nice. The chinese dude hardly ever spoke. I saw one tiny cockroach during the whole stay,

Room Tip: AC. all I can say. AC room 304.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pudu 88 @ China Town
Hotel Pudu 88 @ China Town
#51 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marquee Guest Houzz
Marquee Guest Houzz
#11 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmmers Guest House
Palmmers Guest House
#125 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#3 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natalie Guesthouse
Natalie Guesthouse
#67 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#139 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelers Guest House

Property: Wheelers Guest House
Address: 131-133 Jalan Tun H.S. Lee, 2nd Floor, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new Management, Wheelers Guest House is one of the famous budget hotels amongst backpackers in KL City. With new affordable rates, better atmosphere and free services, you'll get more bang for your buck. Wheelers is not like other typical budget hostels, We actually care about our guests and try to make their stay as pleasant as possible, with knowledgeable friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere So whats changed since Feb 2015? Free Toast & Jam Breakfast from 7 - 11am. 24 / 7 Reception 24 / 7 Free tea & Coffee (mainly so our receptionist doesn't fall asleep) Free High Speed Wifi on both floors, and on the roof Rooftop area (cant really call it a terrace yet... But its being slowly improved) Free Baggage storage Free transfers to Penang & Melaka (we have hostels there as well, and its subject to availability) No Hidden Costs So next time you are in KL, come by and check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Wheelers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheelers Guest House Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing