We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bijan

Bijan
Ranked #29 of 4,043 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bijan opened its doors in September 2003 to offer a unique dining experience to discerning palates. The Bijan experience is modern in presentation yet wholesome in flavour. Traditional Malay cuisine is taken out of hawker stalls and buffet lines, and served against a lush backdrop. Modern in its surroundings with distinctive Asian accents, Bijan is warm, yet chic; intimate yet spacious.At Bijan restaurant, we are innovating ways of enjoying Malay food, introducing accompanying wine to enhance flavours and ways of preparing local delicacies in a fine balance of old and new. Our dishes are a mix of recipes handed down over the generations and innovations of the real thing, to produce forgotten favourites and delicious new flavours and textures.Located a mere stone throw’s away from KLCC and Bukit Bintang, Bijan is the ultimate destination for fine Malay cuisine. It is an oasis where you can unwind with a cool glass of wine while the food remains deliciously and unmistakably Malay. Enjoy pre-dinner drinks on the terrace while sampling our delicate canapés.Bijan restaurant won Best Malay Restaurant in 2004, just a year after we opened. We can also be found in Malaysia Tatler’s Top 100 Restaurants, The Lonely Planet Guide to Malaysia, The Miele Guide to just name a few.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Really enjoyed our meal here. The food was consistently very good with the penang curry being the highlight.

What I liked best was the ambience. The restaurant was spacious, with a nice fitout but retained a very relaxed feel. Service was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Espresso74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOODFOODTRIO, Manager at Bijan, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your dining experience with us and hope to have you back again on your next visit to KL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    345
    110
    41
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'll keep it short, the food was great, as well as the service! However the staff could've been more friendly!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franklin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOODFOODTRIO, Manager at Bijan, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your dining experience with us and will certainly look into your feedback for improvements. We hope to see you back at Bijan again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dont bother the service is awful and food average”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived after several attempts at trying to book a reservation which had not been replied to - that should have told us everything! The place was only a quarter full and we waited ten minutes before we were given a menu or asked for a drink. When the food did arrive it was like feeding by catapult - the starter may just have well been served together with main, The waitress did not know how to open a bottle of wine and it took three of them to serve us water. The food was not hot and we went on to have far superior Malaysain food in many other restaurants. On the positive side the restaurant is well decorated and has a nice ambiance - a real shame it is let down by the staff and food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxamillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOODFOODTRIO, Manager at Bijan, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your review. We apologise for your less than satisfactory dining experience with us. We will certainly look into your feedback for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious - very delicious”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

got a good seat in the spacy restaurant,even without any prior Reservation. Very nice, semi-elegant ambience and very spacy. Food is simply delicious: Obviously I would recommend the Satay, 18MR, Half dozen skewered chicken & beef fillets, marinated in spiced honey & grilled over
charcoal fire as an Appetizer and then the Daging Panggang, 48MR,
Slices of chargrilled marinated sirloin, served with a spicy tamarind dip & sambal
belacan ! Surprisingly one of the best Beef ever - my compliments. Some female waiters are not fluent in English - but help was immediately available. Clean - incl. the restrooms. Definitely would return whenever back in KL.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vima2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOODFOODTRIO, Manager at Bijan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your lovely review. We are indeed happy you had a good dining experience with us and look forward to having you back on your next visit to KL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice food - good location”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Easy walking distance from the main bar/restaurant area in KL - Changkat Bukit Bintang. Good food, with a good selection of malaysian dishes though similar available in cheaper cafe/causal dining restaurants. Lots of staff and service ok. food served quickly - maybe a little too quickly - no sense of food being cooked to order (as they are mostly curries etc they aren't cooked to order in fairness!). Good food for charing with a group.
Wouldn't rush back but wouldn't object to going again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOODFOODTRIO, Manager at Bijan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your dining experience wit us and look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bijan also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Bijan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing