We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“matahari 2 paradise on earth”
Review of Matahari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Matahari Lodge
Ranked #33 of 344 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2014

i have stayed in backpackers all over the world and managed a backpackers in new zealand for 8 years. i found matahari 2 to be an extremely efficientt and well run backpackers. Rooms were clean and so were the common areas. The rooftop terrace was the star attraction of the place. the staff were very helpful and friendly and the manager Jerry went out of his to make his guests feel at home. i was very impressed with this backpackers and shall be returning in the near future. Jack singh

Room Tip: i stayed in the dorm room so wouldnt know much about the individual rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacko950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Matahari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 289 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Really good location. Directly near the Pasar Seni Train station.
Good walking distance to Bukit Bintang (20 minutes walking)!
It's located in china Town so easy to get some great Food or do some shopping on the night market.

I slept in the dorm Room like a stone because they didn't got windows ;) but that's alright!

Breakfast (coffee, tea, toast with butter, jam or peanut butter) is not filling but a good starter!

Staff is soo friendly!
And there is an area with couches where you can hang out, relax, and meet with other people!

Definatly will go there again!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank NeelaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you are on a budget travel, look no further. In my opinion, you won't get a better place at such price. This place is located at a 2 min walking distance from the Pasar Seni station. Reaching Pasar Seni from KL Sentral by LRT will cost you only RM 1. Buses get you to KL Sentral from the Airport charging a fare of RM 8-10. China town, Petaling Street, Central Market, Little India etc. are in close proximity. Moreover, goKL Free Service buses are available from the Pasar Seni station to Bukit Bintang (Shopping Delight) and back. So reaching Bukit Bintang and coming back may not cost you anything :-). The stop for the hop on-hop off buses can be accessed by a 2 min walk.

Great staff, friendly, co-operative and informative as well.

Peanut Butter/Jam Toast is also available in the mornings from 8 to 12.
Wifi is good enough to address your emailing needs.

am definitely coming to this place the next time I am in KL. Cheers !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaurabhSata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

It's super easy to get there from the airport. Just catch a bus to KL Sentral for 8MYR and then it's just 1 stop on the metro for 1MYR. I stayed for 2 nights in 6 bed dorm. The dorm doesn't have windows so you have no idea what time it is outside. There's no wifi in the dorm either so you have to go to the reception area. Those are the only downsides of this place. The staff is super friendly and ready to patiently answer tourist related questions. It seemed to me like they were constantly cleaning the shared bathrooms so they were really clean. There's free tea and coffee in the reception area. I really appreciated that cause I got caught in KL on a rainy day and didn't feel like going out. There are lockers in the dorm so it's nice and safe to leave your stuff. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggs m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our 13 hour layover in KL. Great location! Right beside the Central Market and China Town! Clean nice rooms and clean shared bathrooms. Our room didn't have a window but it wasn't a big deal since we were only there for 1 night. Very helpful staff! Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Oksana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and could not have been more happy.

The wifi (in the common rooms) is the fastest I've had in SE Asia to date (5 months backpacking total through Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, and Malaysia). The wifi is a bit slower in the individual rooms, but still works well enough to send emails, do research, check FB, etc.

The aircon works great and keeps all the individual rooms and common rooms comfortable. The common rooms are a relaxed place with couches, lots of backpackers to mingle with.

Coffee and tea are free all day and though the breakfast is basic - toast + peanut butter, jam, and butter - when you are on a budget that is all you need to get you started, so I could not complain.

The location is fantastic - just a 3 minute walk to Chinatown, the major shopping street, and lots of the top "sights" in KL. You are also just a 2 minute walk from the LRT, which can take you (for 1-2 Ringgit) anywhere in the city you need to go.

The owner, Ashley, is one of the nicest owners of guesthouse/hostel I've met in months, very willing to talk to help you out with anything and - she is young and has traveled herself. She is also very responsive when it comes to emailing to set up your reservation or anything else.

Definitely one of the best places I've stayed in the last couple months, would stay here again, and would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: We requested a room away from the street, so I would recommend that, if possible.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buhjet-backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Centrally located in Chinatown, walking distance to the historic part of KL (e.g.Independence square, National Mosque, Train Station, Central Market, Petaling St), one stop from KL Sentral and free shuttle bus to the Bukit Bintang area (for high end shopping and walk to the Petronas Tower).
From Pasar Seni subway station, walk on your left towards Central Market blue building and opposite Geo hotel is Matahari Lodge entrance (next to Fern Lofts).
Mostly single rooms (no window), shared clean bathrooms. 3 floors and an elevator. Wifi signal strong @reception area (and 2 PCs free of charge available).
Breakfast is simple (toast, butter, jam, peanut butter) coffee/tea free all day and free water refill.
Useful information available and friendly staff.
For this price, it's a good deal. Recommended. Stayed twice in Sept and Nov 2013.

Room Tip: 2nd floor the AC is strong in the hall so for those who love very low temperature
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAHITI-VAEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#3 of 344 in Kuala Lumpur
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Step Inn Guest House
Step Inn Guest House
#11 of 344 in Kuala Lumpur
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marquee Guest Houzz
Marquee Guest Houzz
#10 of 344 in Kuala Lumpur
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Agosto Inn
Agosto Inn
#20 of 344 in Kuala Lumpur
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Submarine Guest House
Submarine Guest House
#22 of 344 in Kuala Lumpur
115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Irsia Bed & Breakfast
Irsia Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 344 in Kuala Lumpur
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Lodge

Address: 58-1 Jalan Hang Kasturi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 344 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $11 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new budget hotel opening 15th March 2008. Comfort right in the heart of the city. Conveniently located around the corner from Chinatown shopping street, walking distance to major attractions eg Central Market (just across the road), Hindu and Buddhist temples, Little India, bus and train stations, 24hr McDonalds and convenient stores all within 20 mins walk. Clean and comfortable rooms, safe and secure, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Matahari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing