We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel with friendly staff in a central china town location”
Review of Matahari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Matahari Lodge
Ranked #39 of 349 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in a double room with window at Matahari Lodge and we had a very enjoyable stay. Our room was basic yet decorated tastefully and spacious, however I am aware that some of the other rooms are a little cramped (just make sure you request a double room at the front of the building!).

All rooms have shared bathrooms which are kept very clean and have hot water. The reception is on the 3rd floor along with a mini kitchen where a free basic breakfast of toast and jam/peanut butter is served, and free tea and coffee is available all day. There are also three computers and a lounge area with a television.

The rooms all have plenty of air-con which help to keep you cool in the hot climate. The staff here are also very friendly and willing to go out of their way to help guests with any questions they may have.

The hostel is in a central location in china town and only a 5 minute walk from the pasar seni MRT. This is the place to stay if you are looking for cheap eats nearby as there are plenty of street stalls on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcooper87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 289 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Kuala Lumpur is a great city and Matahari Lodge provided us with a good base to explore the city.

It is ideally located - right next to a metro stop called Pasar Seni which is very easy to reach from the airport or bus station. There's also a free bus service which takes you all around the centre and there are plenty of places to eat nearby.

We had read that the rooms are a bit small, however we found that ours was fine. Unfortunately our room didn't have a window which we weren't warned about. From the layout I think it's unlikely any of the rooms have windows. Although there was no AC our room was perfectly cool with a fan - and the lack of sunlight also helped!

There is a good communal area which we sat in most evenings. There are two computers which are free to use.

The free breakfast was peanut butter on toast. It was simple, but absolutely fine for us.

There are a lot of other guesthouses in the area and I imagine they'll all be similar.

In summary, this place suited us perfectly. The lack of a window was annoying but otherwise I can't really fault this place. Not dazzling, but decent.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnInspectorCalls_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Large, clean, if spartan rooms, with a bit of colorful decor thrown in. The bathrooms were for the most part functional and clean, above usual expectations. Pretty good peanut butter for breakfast. Even better location. The wifi was a bit spotty in the rooms, and still slow otherwise, but good enough for basic email and looking up where to go next. The price for laundry was an absolute joke though. The rooms are cooled "centrally," albeit a bit foolishly, as the hallway is at a permafrost and that air is pumped in by fan. If you're looking for a place just to relax and unwind without too much bother, this isn't a bad choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbesocrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice large, clean dorm rooms located over 3 floors just west of Chinatown near to Pasar Seni. Very secure, key code to get in, locks on dorm room doors and secure boxes incl. in room price. Great balcony for chilling with fellow travellers. Breakfast included. Okay showers. Good reliable Internet and 3 computers to use in the reception area.

A great spot to stay for a few days to explore the city.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent here three nights and this hotel is just right, in the centre next to Chinatown and central market and all the landmarks so you can just walk. Near the bus station and also the metro to get easily everywhere.
the bed is very comfortable and the have the best pillows I found so far. wifi works very well and they have also two computers for you to use for free. the staff is lovely and really helpful. I will recommend to everybody

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anto_Seb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've been to KL many times and stayed in many guesthouses but this is my new #1, staff are so kind and social taking a group of us out to some bars that were great, I had a private room which was very clean and comfortable at night and during the day with a hangover, internet works really well and they offer toast, tea coffee in the mornings for all guests free, just a block away from china town markets and western food chains, highly recommend

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaanTaiBackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Staff were really friendly here, nice balcony to chill out on and meet the other guests. Rooms were well price (I splashed out on a private room, which was nice, but had no windows, but think this is the case in most KL hostels).

Baggage storage was very useful, and internet was very quick and accessible.

If I went back to KL, i'd stay in Bukit Bintang, but if you have your heart set on Chinatown, this is a pretty good choice.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank Spencer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#2 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Step Inn Guest House
Step Inn Guest House
#11 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Irsia Bed & Breakfast
Irsia Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marquee Guest Houzz
Marquee Guest Houzz
#12 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agosto Inn
Agosto Inn
#22 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Birdnest Collective Cafe & Guesthouse
Birdnest Collective Cafe & Guest...
#14 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Lodge

Address: 58-1 Jalan Hang Kasturi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 349 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $11 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new budget hotel opening 15th March 2008. Comfort right in the heart of the city. Conveniently located around the corner from Chinatown shopping street, walking distance to major attractions eg Central Market (just across the road), Hindu and Buddhist temples, Little India, bus and train stations, 24hr McDonalds and convenient stores all within 20 mins walk. Clean and comfortable rooms, safe and secure, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Matahari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing