We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“downhill ride”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Ranked #125 of 353 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed March 18, 2014

when I first visited Kuala Lumpur, this was a splendid little hotel - I have been several times since - I will not be going back. It feels as though it has not been redecorated in the last 12 years since I first visited and the "white" sheets are distintly faded. Such a shame as it used to be a gem!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhrlyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 459 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Alpha Genesis for a night. It was in a great location - a few minutes walk to Sungei Wang, BB Plaza and Pavilion. It's great for bar hopping too as it's on Jalan Changkat/Alor. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms are small but clean, with a television.The hot water situation could be improved and made hotter though!!! Although the price was a bit steep (RM200 a night), I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ilymorgane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmondalpha, Public Relations Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Appreciate your review, hopefully see you in near future when return to Kuala Lumpur. Thanks and have a nice day..!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I did some solo travelling to Kuala Lumpur and decided to stay somewhere close to all the actions - Bukit Bintang. Decided to give this 3 star hotel a go as it is very very close to the main drag. The hotel is a bit far to walk to from the Bukit Bintang monoral station if you have a checked-in luggage. If you don't then it is easy 5 min walk. Taxi at KL is cheap but they never use the meter and tend to rip you off. Always negotiate for 1/2 the price of what they ask for. Catching a taxi from KL Sentral to this hotel should not cost more than 20 ringitt.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The checkin process was smooth and easy. The hotel is definitely 3 star and the online photos look better than the real thing. It is very dated and small. The room I got allocated is a queen bed non-smoking room facing the back street. You have to close the curtains as your neighbours will get to see you otherwise. It isn't clean and the bathroom is a bit like the 70s. The bed linen is very thin and of low quality.

I didn't eat at the hotel and cannot comment on the food.

Overall it is a cheap hotel for a short stay and providing you don't plan to stay inside the hotel it is not a bad option. I only used the place to sleep and shower.

Will I come back again? Probably not as there are many options and better value hotels around the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank au_syd_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmondalpha, Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments, give us a chance for improve. The Jalan Bukit Bintang is upgrading and their is construction on MRT, we believe after completion the pedestrian walk to our hotel will be must better and easier. See You...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Pros: The location is great. It is beside Jalan Alor and is very near the Bukit Bintang monorail station. Few blocks away from the shopping district. There are also bars nearby if you want to have some drink at night. The room rate is reasonable.

Cons: The room is a little outdated. Not soundproof. You can hear the noise from the adjacent room.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LadyDianaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmondalpha, Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear value guest, thanks for your feedback we had bring up your comment to maintenance officer. We are welcome you coma back to Kuala Lumpur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

very clean hotel is located at the foot of a market and 2 minutes from the metro station Masjid Jamek in which passes both metro station! great to go to the four corners of the city. Qualified personal and breakfast is okay The problem is that the room is a bit small but very functional with a large bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Overall, my stay at Alpha Hotel was just okay.

Staff did not leave a good impression - didn't know provide much advice or suggestions or any sort of help.

We were provided with a very thin dirty looking blanket.

Staff were also unresponsive, called front desk a few times for certain a requests and they were not followed through.

Manager renovations and water leakages all over the hotel during our stay.

Other than that, you get what you pay for. Does the job in terms of bed and air con and if you are on a right budget.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wendy_1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a semi tour organized by a travel agent. To summarize in brief:
1) Ok
Location: Just behind Alor Street and nearby junction of Changkat Bukit Bintang with plenty of choices for food.

2) Terrible:
- Reception staff rude and have couldn't care less attitude. No eye contact when conversing and this is not isolated to a particular staff.
- One of the rooms was filled with smoking stench and we were assured it was a non smoking room.
- Another room was a triple room but with no blanket for the 3rd guest. Even after requesting, staff still refuse to provide.
- Breakfast buffet was worth skipping. So called fried rice was cold and rice was still in lump like left over rice not cooked properly.
- View wise, the so called upgraded room on the 9th floor had a disgusting sight showing a higher flat next to a lower building with the latter's ceiling strewn with litter obviously thrown out by the tenants in the higher building.
- Even on the 9th floor, we could still hear the noise on the roadside.
- Limited channels on tv with terrible reception.
- Free wifi but need to key in password each time you are in the building.

Would I stay in this hotel again.... No, cause there are plenty more accommodation nearby... At least with those... what you is what you get... There is nothing boutique about this hotel...

P.s two star rating was just for location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunchoffreesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmondalpha, Guest Relations Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing this review. I would like to apologize for the problem experienced by you and also to ensure the level of our service to remain strictly in the ranges required by our hotel management itself.

Would very appreciate please to provide me further information regard your stayed such as date of staying and the room you were stayed or check-in name. You can reach me by email- resv@alphagenesishotel.com , looking forward to hear from you again.

Again, thank you for staying with us and for letting us know about the problem experienced.


Cordially,

CHAN, CHA
Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#122 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mesui Hotel
The Mesui Hotel
#116 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#102 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#59 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nova
Hotel Nova
#207 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Genesis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Genesis Hotel

Address: 45 Tingkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 353 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $30 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Genesis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Genesis Hotel, your preferred destination is strategically located in Bukit Bintang at the heart of KL's Golden Triangle and just minutes walk to many shopping malls and specialty venues. • Pavilion Kuala Lumpur • Lot 10 (Isetan Department Store) • Fahrenheit 88 • Sungai Wang Plaza • Bukit Bintang Plaza (Metrojaya Department Store) • Low Yat Plaza (IT Mall) • Starhill Gallery • Berjaya Times Square • Imbi Plaza (IT Mall). • Jalan Alor food street with famous local foods, fruits and souvenirs day and night. • Changkat Bukit Bintang enclave packed with vibrant nightlife, lined with international restaurant and bars. This vicinity is a must for locals and tourists to visit and savor different flavors of day and evening activities. • KLCC and the landmark twin towers is interconnected with the Pavilion shopping mall by air conditioned walkaway! and only a 25 minutes stroll from our Hotel, or a short taxi ride away. • KL city free shuttle bus just 10min away from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Alpha Genesis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Genesis Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Alpha Genesis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing