We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not so clean and low quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Ranked #130 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location but not so clean and low quality hotel”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I did some solo travelling to Kuala Lumpur and decided to stay somewhere close to all the actions - Bukit Bintang. Decided to give this 3 star hotel a go as it is very very close to the main drag. The hotel is a bit far to walk to from the Bukit Bintang monoral station if you have a checked-in luggage. If you don't then it is easy 5 min walk. Taxi at KL is cheap but they never use the meter and tend to rip you off. Always negotiate for 1/2 the price of what they ask for. Catching a taxi from KL Sentral to this hotel should not cost more than 20 ringitt.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The checkin process was smooth and easy. The hotel is definitely 3 star and the online photos look better than the real thing. It is very dated and small. The room I got allocated is a queen bed non-smoking room facing the back street. You have to close the curtains as your neighbours will get to see you otherwise. It isn't clean and the bathroom is a bit like the 70s. The bed linen is very thin and of low quality.

I didn't eat at the hotel and cannot comment on the food.

Overall it is a cheap hotel for a short stay and providing you don't plan to stay inside the hotel it is not a bad option. I only used the place to sleep and shower.

Will I come back again? Probably not as there are many options and better value hotels around the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank au_syd_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmondalpha, Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments, give us a chance for improve. The Jalan Bukit Bintang is upgrading and their is construction on MRT, we believe after completion the pedestrian walk to our hotel will be must better and easier. See You...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    155
    160
    45
    32
See reviews for
67
100
60
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Pros: The location is great. It is beside Jalan Alor and is very near the Bukit Bintang monorail station. Few blocks away from the shopping district. There are also bars nearby if you want to have some drink at night. The room rate is reasonable.

Cons: The room is a little outdated. Not soundproof. You can hear the noise from the adjacent room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LadyDianaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmondalpha, Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear value guest, thanks for your feedback we had bring up your comment to maintenance officer. We are welcome you coma back to Kuala Lumpur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

very clean hotel is located at the foot of a market and 2 minutes from the metro station Masjid Jamek in which passes both metro station! great to go to the four corners of the city. Qualified personal and breakfast is okay The problem is that the room is a bit small but very functional with a large bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Overall, my stay at Alpha Hotel was just okay.

Staff did not leave a good impression - didn't know provide much advice or suggestions or any sort of help.

We were provided with a very thin dirty looking blanket.

Staff were also unresponsive, called front desk a few times for certain a requests and they were not followed through.

Manager renovations and water leakages all over the hotel during our stay.

Other than that, you get what you pay for. Does the job in terms of bed and air con and if you are on a right budget.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy_1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Bunchoffreesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a semi tour organized by a travel agent. To summarize in brief:
1) Ok
Location: Just behind Alor Street and nearby junction of Changkat Bukit Bintang with plenty of choices for food.

2) Terrible:
- Reception staff rude and have couldn't care less attitude. No eye contact when conversing and this is not isolated to a particular staff.
- One of the rooms was filled with smoking stench and we were assured it was a non smoking room.
- Another room was a triple room but with no blanket for the 3rd guest. Even after requesting, staff still refuse to provide.
- Breakfast buffet was worth skipping. So called fried rice was cold and rice was still in lump like left over rice not cooked properly.
- View wise, the so called upgraded room on the 9th floor had a disgusting sight showing a higher flat next to a lower building with the latter's ceiling strewn with litter obviously thrown out by the tenants in the higher building.
- Even on the 9th floor, we could still hear the noise on the roadside.
- Limited channels on tv with terrible reception.
- Free wifi but need to key in password each time you are in the building.

Would I stay in this hotel again.... No, cause there are plenty more accommodation nearby... At least with those... what you is what you get... There is nothing boutique about this hotel...

P.s two star rating was just for location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunchoffreesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmondalpha, Guest Relations Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing this review. I would like to apologize for the problem experienced by you and also to ensure the level of our service to remain strictly in the ranges required by our hotel management itself.

Would very appreciate please to provide me further information regard your stayed such as date of staying and the room you were stayed or check-in name. You can reach me by email- resv@alphagenesishotel.com , looking forward to hear from you again.

Again, thank you for staying with us and for letting us know about the problem experienced.


Cordially,

CHAN, CHA
Senior Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Alpha Genesis Hotel is a three star hotel situated in the corners of Bukit Bintang. It is a 5-10 minutes walk (depending on your walking speed) from Bukit Bintang Monorail.

My friends and I arrived on the 20th of September 2013... We checked in quite smoothly; although one of our rooms was not ready, we requested for another room.. Staff at the reception was quite accommodating. Room interior was okay.. My partner and I had the standard room... Room was generally clean. except for the refreshments area (cups and saucers were dusty). Bed was very comfy... Air conditioning was working well.. to summarise, everything was okay..

The hotel is also located nearby a lot of eateries..

If you are looking for an affordable and simple hotel stay in Kuala Lumpur, this just might be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheed88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmondalpha, Guest Relations Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Wheed88,

Thank you taking the time to write this review and I am glad you loved your stay. I hope you and your friend had a wonderful vacation in Kuala Lumpur! Please keep us in mind for your next visits.


Sincerely, CHAN, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Avoid don't judge a book by its cover pictures are deceving.
Dirty, old decore, old tv, bad service. Thick layer of dust at no extra cost!!
Food area, dirty.
One night was one to many!!!!!
Booked out and found another motel.
Payed a little more for 5 star luxury at the Istana, clean, great food and exelent service.

Room Tip: Dont book this motel avoid!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmondalpha, Guest Relations Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear FozzieAD,

Thank you so much for writing this review and for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. I would like to apologize for the problem experienced by you, we is hearing and will resolve the problem.

We hope you come back to stay with us again on a future visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Sincerely, CHAN, CHA Senior Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#83 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#97 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#56 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
The Mesui Hotel
The Mesui Hotel
#100 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#53 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Genesis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Genesis Hotel

Property: Alpha Genesis Hotel
Address: 45 Tingkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Genesis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Genesis Hotel, your preferred destination is strategically located in Bukit Bintang at the heart of KL's Golden Triangle and just minutes walk to many shopping malls and specialty venues. • Pavilion Kuala Lumpur • Lot 10 (Isetan Department Store) • Fahrenheit 88 • Sungai Wang Plaza • Bukit Bintang Plaza (Metrojaya Department Store) • Low Yat Plaza (IT Mall) • Starhill Gallery • Berjaya Times Square • Imbi Plaza (IT Mall). • Jalan Alor food street with famous local foods, fruits and souvenirs day and night. • Changkat Bukit Bintang enclave packed with vibrant nightlife, lined with international restaurant and bars. This vicinity is a must for locals and tourists to visit and savor different flavors of day and evening activities. • KLCC and the landmark twin towers is interconnected with the Pavilion shopping mall by air conditioned walkaway! and only a 25 minutes stroll from our Hotel, or a short taxi ride away. • KL city free shuttle bus just 10min away from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Genesis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Genesis Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Alpha Genesis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing