We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, perfect location, helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Ranked #129 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely room, perfect location, helpful staff!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as KL our final stop after travelling Asia for past 3 months, and had already booked big hotel for the remaining last 4 days. Hotel looks ok from the outside, brilliant location (right near lots of malls, restaurants, KL tower and Petronas towers), check in was smooth even though it was 11.30am so were early. Room was clean and lovely (better than expected). Big bed, nice bathroom, views of KL tower, big tv with English channels, good quiet air con and kettle/coffee facilities! The concierge always smiling and opening doors for you, and great at hailing down taxis willing to use the meter (they ridiculously overcharge if no meter is running or they refuse to use it - we learnt our lesson many times - some just try their best to exploit tourists, so ALWAYS use meter taxis, guarantee you it's much much cheaper).
Overall nice stay and much better than expected after reading some reviews. From past reviews regarding rooms smelling of smoke, we were asked which we would prefer, which was non smoking, and you can see on the lift that they have 2 floors purely for non smoking. Neither the room, floor or lift smelt of smoke so just request or this if non smokers.
Only downside - be even more perfect if they had some kind of pool to cool off in!

Room Tip: Request non smoking if don't want a smoke smelling room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank es4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmondalpha, Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Appreciate your review, hopefully see you in near future when return to Kuala Lumpur. Thanks and have a nice day..!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    155
    160
    45
    32
See reviews for
67
100
60
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Alpha Genesis several times in the past few years. The location is excellent, the place is rather quiet despite the nightlife close by. This time around, though, several issues were unpleasant. During the ten days of my stay housekeeping never bothered to clean the sink. Then there was this guy who treated every day the vacant rooms with a lacquer thinner. It stank abd going by the the headache causing smell the stuff must have been highly toxic. On check out i forgot my tooth brush and a cup i had git as a present for a friend. None of the staff really bothered to search for the items. Come back tomorrow. Housekeeping us already gone. Housekeeping throw the stuff already away. Thats what the told me. Jeff, one of the front desk guys found my quest for my things obviously so hilarious, that he hardly could stop laughing abd grinning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandergesell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Been there days ago for our trip to kl , this hotel is clean , affordable with basic amenities suitable for visitors who visit bukit bintang and surroundings . With interesting location ( malls , street food , all nightlife happening ) the hotel still able to offer good room price . For those who would spent less in the ROOM , more on shopping this hotel is for you......bfast is just ok with limited choices due to lack of restaurant space but still eatable . Staff was helpfull .

Room Tip: During check in make sure ask for view facing twin tower klcc and radius hotel . Trust me..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VynerW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desmondalpha, Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Appreciate your review, we surely will take into consideration improve the quality of breakfast. Hope to see you in near future when return to Kuala Lumpur. Thanks and have a nice day..!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Overall it's average, the hotel, the room, the service. I stayed here just for one night after spending the other night at Genting Highlands, and thank God the toilet is clean. The only best part about it is the location. You can reach some malls, night food stalls, and chinese food restaurants by walking distance. For next time, i will prefer to try other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice hotel in a good quiet location in the middle of the Bukit Bintang nightlife area. The only negative is the room walls are too thin- was woken early in the morning by some sort of knocking on the wall from next door- I was almost thinking of investigating to see if some maintenance work was being done, until I heard the clear sounds of conversation of the guests in the next room. Other than that, staff are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights. The first night I paid for 100RM but The second night they ask me to pay for 180RM. which is double price for the same room. I am very tired from late night flight so I have to decide to continue my stay.

1- Old room- all furnitures is old
2- Dirty room - their shinny nylon sheet is very dirty when you sleep you can feel dusty in your breath which make you cough all night while your body is inchy at the same time.
3- Good A/C but too cold.
4- Limited channels, only 10-15 channels in my room.
5- No breakfast - I pay for 180RM for standard room at genesis but excluded breakfast. At Radius international hotel which located beside this hotel charge me for superior room only 150RM included breakfast which many free hotel facilities and services.
6- staff never smile
7- Nice Tiny KLCC view from our room

I would like to recommend to look for other

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had a good view with my room..Its cozy and clean. Just walking distance to the Shopping Area, Food and Restos. Staffs are hospitable. Breakfast buffet is good. Internet connection is available.
Convenient stores are just around the area. Location is very good.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MissySkipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#80 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#97 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mesui Hotel
The Mesui Hotel
#101 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#52 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#56 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Genesis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Genesis Hotel

Property: Alpha Genesis Hotel
Address: 45 Tingkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Genesis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Genesis Hotel, your preferred destination is strategically located in Bukit Bintang at the heart of KL's Golden Triangle and just minutes walk to many shopping malls and specialty venues. • Pavilion Kuala Lumpur • Lot 10 (Isetan Department Store) • Fahrenheit 88 • Sungai Wang Plaza • Bukit Bintang Plaza (Metrojaya Department Store) • Low Yat Plaza (IT Mall) • Starhill Gallery • Berjaya Times Square • Imbi Plaza (IT Mall). • Jalan Alor food street with famous local foods, fruits and souvenirs day and night. • Changkat Bukit Bintang enclave packed with vibrant nightlife, lined with international restaurant and bars. This vicinity is a must for locals and tourists to visit and savor different flavors of day and evening activities. • KLCC and the landmark twin towers is interconnected with the Pavilion shopping mall by air conditioned walkaway! and only a 25 minutes stroll from our Hotel, or a short taxi ride away. • KL city free shuttle bus just 10min away from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Genesis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Genesis Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Alpha Genesis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing