We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpha Genesis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Ranked #121 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

They checked me in an hour late as the room was not ready - no compensation or whatsoever was given. Location is terrible despite claiming it's located right at the heart of Bukit Bintang. The room is old with bad furnishing. Terrible.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hyqel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    153
    156
    44
    31
See reviews for
64
99
59
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were given the room that we requested. The bed was comfortable. However, the room was not that spacious. The TV is old and only few tv channels available. It was very noisy at night time as there were clubs, lounges and bars down the street. Need to walk quite a distance to BB main area. The breakfast was disappointing as not much choice is given.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Everline90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite, Cavite City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights. There's a wheel chair available for the Senior that you can borrow it anywhere you go in Kuala, A/C in good condition. Free Internet connection. The free breakfast is just an average rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizh163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The first impression is that the front entrance does not give a welcoming sight which is unfortunate.
The rooms was adequate and clean but the wash basin had no plug, which turned out to be a general failing on our trip to Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is good for shopping and local food and drink in Jalan Alor area.
The worst feature by far was the view from the room which was nothing short of sickeningly as it looked out on the refuse that had been tipped out by the tenants of the large block of flats opposite and which also sported illegal tenant occupancy of the fire-break floor. Surely the local authorities can do something about this. Until it does, we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Do not look out over the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panchgani
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

It was my 1 time visit to KL and i was happy to see a hotel which suited our needs . We cheked in on the 11th March 2112 and were there for 2N/3D .The good thing about the hotel was the staff as they were very helpful and mainly could understand and speak english .
A good hotel with good location good food on the streets (but ou should what you have ordered). The rooms were nice but a bit conjested the rooms could have been bigger .
Over all me and my husband had a good stay and would recomend it to our friends and family . Looking forward to visit KL angain have a good stay at HOTEL ALPHA GENESIS .

Thankyou for for making our stay wonderfull .

Just 1 suggesstion kindly have some hindi music or movie channel in the hotel rooms .

Thanks one again look forward to visit your hotel many mmore times .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Avani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary, Debrecen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Good location, good room, but it is not worth the money. The breakfast is terrible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geni_Hungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Manila
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Its my first time stay overnight in KL Malaysia.

Pretty happy as I chose the correct hotel that suites my needs when I am travelling...

Nice location- very near shopping malls, night life and hawkers! Great job!

The hotel staff are friendly and can speak English. The hotel itself is fine...

Looking forward to go back to KL this year!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louieboytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#79 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#87 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mesui Hotel
The Mesui Hotel
#103 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#52 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#60 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Genesis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Genesis Hotel

Property: Alpha Genesis Hotel
Address: 45 Tingkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Genesis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Genesis Hotel, your preferred destination is strategically located in Bukit Bintang at the heart of KL's Golden Triangle and just minutes walk to many shopping malls and specialty venues. • Pavilion Kuala Lumpur • Lot 10 (Isetan Department Store) • Fahrenheit 88 • Sungai Wang Plaza • Bukit Bintang Plaza (Metrojaya Department Store) • Low Yat Plaza (IT Mall) • Starhill Gallery • Berjaya Times Square • Imbi Plaza (IT Mall). • Jalan Alor food street with famous local foods, fruits and souvenirs day and night. • Changkat Bukit Bintang enclave packed with vibrant nightlife, lined with international restaurant and bars. This vicinity is a must for locals and tourists to visit and savor different flavors of day and evening activities. • KLCC and the landmark twin towers is interconnected with the Pavilion shopping mall by air conditioned walkaway! and only a 25 minutes stroll from our Hotel, or a short taxi ride away. • KL city free shuttle bus just 10min away from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpha Genesis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Genesis Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Alpha Genesis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing